We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Option out of Rome Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Roma West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Roma West
Ranked #372 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
NZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Option out of Rome Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice Mercure, modern and comfortable.
Bar and restaurant area was very welcoming and the staff there were excellent.
There was a happy hour each evening, the cost of beers and wine at these times were the cheapest we found in Rome.
Dinner at the hotel was excellent and the breakfast was great with lots of choices.
Secure underground parking was free!
The trip to Rome via the bus and metro was easy and can be caught virtually directly outside the hotel, the cost of the day traveller ticket was €6
There is a courtesy bus to the metro station if required

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wadestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    441
    234
    102
    65
See reviews for
241
306
74
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This could be one of the hardest reviews I have written because the hotel has a mixture of very positive elements as well as negatives. The hotel will frustrate active business travelers and/or anyone who has a morning workout regimen. Let me explain why.

The hotel is located not far from Fiumicino Airport (FCO) in the outskirts of Rome. It is located in a commercialized condominium/apartment community. There are few places of quality to walk to or shop from this hotel; mostly coffee shops and slot machine game rooms. During my four day stay, there were many tour buses parked out front. At times, the lobby was packed with touring groups so his is popular with tour guides.

The hotel attracted me and my group for a number of reasons. One being a good price and second what seemed to be good accommodations. We also liked the advertised perks like a gym, pool, a spa, and free wifi. The room package I purchased included a buffet breakfast.

The room was spacious and the bathroom modern and clean. The beds were more standard European style, so the mattress was a little thinner than US standards. The room had an electric tea pot, hair dryer, and places in the closet to hang ties, and clothes. The room accommodations were a nice surprise.

The buffet was very complete and had a nice mixture of International foods. The breakfast was mostly self-service with waiters to assist. The hotel also has a restaurant open in the evening. I ate there once and the food was just average. There were 3 tables seated on a Wednesday night so no locals are coming to eat here; bad sign.

The hotel bar was often unattended so if you wanted a drink, day or night, you had to call to get someone's attention.

So, why did I feel this hotel failed? They did not deliver on the perks that are described to my satisfaction and I will let you decide if my criticism is fair.

The Wifi, although is free, is one of the worst I have found worldwide. I travel 200+ days a year and this by far is the most frustrating system. It's a Swisscom system that requires the hotel to give you pieces of paper with passwords. These free accounts can be easily maxed out if you are doing business work, downloading videos, or images. The connection times out if you stop working for a while and come back.

I had to end up paying for WiFi at 40 Euros or 7 days (or 12 Euros per day) because the free WiFi speeds were slow, I kept getting logged out, and the stability was poor on the free system. The paid system worked fine; no surprise.

I like to work out in the morning so imagine my displeasure when I arrived at the front desk, dressed in my gym clothes at 7:00 am, to find that the gym doesn't open until 10:00 am. I know that Italians like to work out at night but this is an International hotel. To complicate matters, there is really no safe place to run near the hotel because the sidewalks are uneven and traffic is congested in the morning.

I booked a spa service and went to the gym/spa area later in the day and found the gym to be a joke. It had two treadmills and one bike and one universal. Two mats, one ball, and nothing else like free weights, towels, etc. This is a big hotel and their investment in a gym is embarrassing.

The spa area and gym are connected to the pool so the air is hot, humid, and chlorinated. When I was running on the treadmill for one hour the air was barely tolerable with the heat and chlorine. The whole setup would be best described as a basement pool area that got expanded into a gym and spa.

The spa staff were nice but the quality of service was poor. I ordered a sports massage and got a light, basic thai massage.

To get into Rome, you have a few choices. You can take a bus that takes over an hour to arrive, and by the way, it is a crowded bus. Did that once, and never again. The next time I took a cab but when the hotel called a cab service it arrived with the meter starting at 9 Euros! I felt ripped off from the start of that experience, which was just to take me to the nearest Metro station, which cost me 23 Euros.

One the way back, I picked up a cab at the same Metro station and the meter started at 3 Euros. So is the hotel up-charging fees and getting a kickback? 9 Euros is a high price to start a hotel cab ride.

So, if you are a tour group looking for a quick stopping point for an overnight stay, this could be fine. If you are attracted to this hotel for the room price and buffet, then this hotel is fine.

However, if you are attracted to this hotel for the gym, spa, pool, free wifi, or its location to the center of Rome, you will find much better solutions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I bought on groupon the entrance for the spa for 2 people ... Great! Nice spa, not so big but nice... Cool pool and jacuzzi and also the sauna was really cool! Unfortunately the Turkish bath wasn't working. We also had a relaxing massage and the girl who massaged me was really good, nice and friendly!! Totally satisfied :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grenoble
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Friendly people and good breakfast. Pool looks good and the lobby and bar look ok.
Room and the hotel in general are great, but I can not say that hotel is modern.
Good choice for 1 night in Roma west.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lok38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
12.9 mi away
Novotel Roma Est
Novotel Roma Est
#402 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Aris Garden
Hotel Aris Garden
#1,054 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.7 mi away
All Time Relais & Sport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roma Tor Vergata
4.9 mi away
Ardeatina Park Hotel
Ardeatina Park Hotel
#377 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel I Triangoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Roma West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Roma West

Property: Mercure Roma West
Address: Viale Degli Eroi di Cefalonia 301, 00128 Rome, Italy (Formerly Nicolaus Hotels Roma West)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#34 Spa Hotel in Rome
#202 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Roma West 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please visit the new spa Heated indoor pool with Jacuzzi corner, gym equipment TECNOGYM, sauna turkish bath, relaxation areas, treatment rooms, changing rooms and docce. No access to children under 6 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Roma West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eur Roma West Hotel Rome
Sheraton Roma West Hotel
Four Points Rome
Rome Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing