We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room is good except the bathroom is kind of funny”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of California Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
California Hotel
Ranked #340 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room is good except the bathroom is kind of funny”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hotel locates right next to the train station, very convenient. Front desk is very helpful in English. Room is pretty new and clean. Only thing that we did not like is the bathroom which is made of dark blue glass. It may be romantic for lovely couples but not really for the family with kids or share with friends, it can almost see through, haha! Otherwise the room and hotel is very good for stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wuh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    354
    134
    43
    21
See reviews for
262
300
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taibon, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Had a very pleasant stay at Hotel California, very central location, nice, quiet place in Rome. It was close to Roma Termini Train Station, thus how we found it so easily, priced ok and clean. Stayed two nights, didn’t eat at the hotel, there are several restaurants in the area. From the hotel we were able to walk to several attractions Colosseo, Fontana di Trevi, Pantheon, Piazza di Spagna, Piazza Navona, Piazza Venezia, Piazza del Quirinale, Vaticano, basically all the major attractions were within walking distance. Service at the hotel was also fast, efficient, staff was very pleasant, not too nice its uncomfortable, just nice. A complementary map was also given on our arrival so we were able to navigate the city from attraction to attraction. I would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Location was the only thing nice about this hotel. The staff were okay; sometimes helpful, other times had nothing to offer to assist with what we needed. The breakfast was pretty good and internet would only work in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keylasmom136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stayed two nights with my wife and son at Hotel California and we loved staying here. It is very convenient to reach Termini station as we used train, metro and bus to go around the city and there are some nice restaurants nearby. The staffs are quite helpful during our stay. We were surprised finding the room modern for an old building and the amenities quite new. Always like the bathroom type in Italy or southern Europe and the shower worked perfectly. There was a safety box in the room but did not wirk when we were there and unfortunately no hot water in the room for us to make our own coffee or tea in the room. But the staff was helpful to provide hot water for us.

The breakfast was quite standard but enough variety and we found the other families staying there at the same time as us found it nice.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mediko A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel was very good. It's location was excellent, we had a classic room whit a wonderful view. The staff werw very helpfull. Very close to railways station. Convenient location. All the major tourist attractions werw within walking distance. It was very close to Termini train station.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Värmdö, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We - a group of 5 people - stayed one night in Hotel California. The hotel is perfectly situated if you go by train or Leonard express from the Airport, just appr 80 mtrs away from Rome Termini, in a corner that doesn't have much traffic. The entrance looks great, the staff was friendly but the rooms held a low standard and didn't seem to have been updated in a very long time. 3-4 different wallpapers in 2 small rooms, the presumed white curtains were grey and hung loose - this gave an untidy and dirty impression and resembled more of a flophouse. The funny thing is, that the first floor also held the entrance to Sweet Home hotel, in which we had a look upon departure, and the Sweet Home hotel looked so nice. Go there instead is my advice, and the budget is better there aswell!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanne_Fredholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

3*** hotel clos to Termini train station. We had a triple bed room on 5th floor. No traffic noise on our side of the building. Clean and large room. Good value for money. One staff was not very friendly. Breakfast in the basement, breakfast buffet quite poor and vending machine for tea and coffee, but Italy is anyway not famous for it's breakfast. We pnly stayed overnight so it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#217 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Esquilino
Serena Hotel
Serena Hotel
#377 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#273 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#286 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#208 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#267 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Hotel

Property: California Hotel
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 39, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#254 Family Hotel in Rome
#261 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — California Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your California Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing