We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel California, Rome”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #307 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just returned from wonderful 3 night trip to Rome. Stayed at Hotel California and were very pleased with our choice. Excellent location 3 minute walk from Termini Station and 15 minute walk from the Colosseum. Excellent transport links to all areas of Rome. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful, one even bringing me a cup of tea to our room when I asked where I could get a cup of tea!
Bed and bath linen very good quality with towels replaced daily. Everything (apart from tea and coffee making facilities in the room) to make our stay comfortable was provided in our room. Breakfast was perfectly adequate with excellent latte from the machine made to one's own liking! I would definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend visit to Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hotel locates right next to the train station, very convenient. Front desk is very helpful in English. Room is pretty new and clean. Only thing that we did not like is the bathroom which is made of dark blue glass. It may be romantic for lovely couples but not really for the family with kids or share with friends, it can almost see through, haha! Otherwise the room and hotel is very good for stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wuh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Had a very pleasant stay at Hotel California, very central location, nice, quiet place in Rome. It was close to Roma Termini Train Station, thus how we found it so easily, priced ok and clean. Stayed two nights, didn’t eat at the hotel, there are several restaurants in the area. From the hotel we were able to walk to several attractions Colosseo, Fontana di Trevi, Pantheon, Piazza di Spagna, Piazza Navona, Piazza Venezia, Piazza del Quirinale, Vaticano, basically all the major attractions were within walking distance. Service at the hotel was also fast, efficient, staff was very pleasant, not too nice its uncomfortable, just nice. A complementary map was also given on our arrival so we were able to navigate the city from attraction to attraction. I would recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Location was the only thing nice about this hotel. The staff were okay; sometimes helpful, other times had nothing to offer to assist with what we needed. The breakfast was pretty good and internet would only work in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keylasmom136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stayed two nights with my wife and son at Hotel California and we loved staying here. It is very convenient to reach Termini station as we used train, metro and bus to go around the city and there are some nice restaurants nearby. The staffs are quite helpful during our stay. We were surprised finding the room modern for an old building and the amenities quite new. Always like the bathroom type in Italy or southern Europe and the shower worked perfectly. There was a safety box in the room but did not wirk when we were there and unfortunately no hot water in the room for us to make our own coffee or tea in the room. But the staff was helpful to provide hot water for us.

The breakfast was quite standard but enough variety and we found the other families staying there at the same time as us found it nice.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mediko A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel was very good. It's location was excellent, we had a classic room whit a wonderful view. The staff werw very helpfull. Very close to railways station. Convenient location. All the major tourist attractions werw within walking distance. It was very close to Termini train station.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We - a group of 5 people - stayed one night in Hotel California. The hotel is perfectly situated if you go by train or Leonard express from the Airport, just appr 80 mtrs away from Rome Termini, in a corner that doesn't have much traffic. The entrance looks great, the staff was friendly but the rooms held a low standard and didn't seem to have been updated in a very long time. 3-4 different wallpapers in 2 small rooms, the presumed white curtains were grey and hung loose - this gave an untidy and dirty impression and resembled more of a flophouse. The funny thing is, that the first floor also held the entrance to Sweet Home hotel, in which we had a look upon departure, and the Sweet Home hotel looked so nice. Go there instead is my advice, and the budget is better there aswell!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanne_Fredholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#175 of 1,269 in Rome
416 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Serena
Hotel Serena
#395 of 1,269 in Rome
816 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#288 of 1,269 in Rome
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#238 of 1,269 in Rome
884 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#196 of 1,269 in Rome
1,066 reviews
Esquilino
Marcantonio Hotel
Marcantonio Hotel
#338 of 1,269 in Rome
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 39, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#254 Family Hotel in Rome
#261 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £49 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing