We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Donatello
Ranked #284 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here in may 2014 for a week. Staff were helpful and friendly and happy to help with any queries. Breakfast was served either in the basement room or out side. Both were lovely. Every morning we were served with coffee, crossants and fresh breadrolls. A good selection of jams and orange juice. No cooked option but we were happy with what eas offered. Some work is taking place in the outside area so some parts are sti
l to be finnished. The room was good, lovely shower and wifi 5 euros for our
stay. Air conditioning does not start till 7pm. There are a few rooms with
balconys and I think it would be worth having as there is no bar or anywhere to relax apart from yr room.
The area the hotel is in feels a little seedy but we felt reasonably safe. It took 20 minutes to walk to the coloseum and a further 20 to reach spanish steps and trevi fountain. The sights are amazing and lots of shops to go at. Taxis cost around 8 euros from the center to the hotel so we used them but we mostly walked. We got a train to reach villa borgese very easy and well signposted from the train station. We did not bothet with roma pass. It was 12 euros to gain enyry to palantine hill and the coloseum. We bought our ticket at palantine hill no q. The ticket lasts for 2 days so we did palantine hill and the next day the coloseum well wort it. You get to walk past the crowds queing at the coluseum. Tomb of the forgotten soilder was amazing too, this is free to walk around.A good holiday but its not at all restful.Eating out was reasonable a few restaurants near the hotel were good after a busy day.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apple123England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

David & Miriam, Sydney- Australia

As other reviews have stated this hotel is well located. We would often have a well priced beer or meal 50 metres away in the piazza. This is ringed by a 2000 year old aquaduct. The staff at Donatello are probably its best feature. They went out of their way to help us. Even arranged accommodation for us at our next stop.

Room Tip: Good location, excellent staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is very well located. You can take the tram from Termini (5 or 14) and it's only 4 stops away, then the hotel is exactly there! Otherwise, you can take the subway "Metro A" and reach the metro stop "Manzoni" (3 stop from Termini) and then walk a bit. Staff was very nice, the room was small but clean and nice. Breakfast nothing special but good enough. Sleep quality was decent with the window opened, good with the window closed. ONLY PROBLEM was the air conditioning, not working, and it was hot. In July/August that can be a huge problem, but probably they will fix it (hope so..)

Room Tip: Ask for A/C first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorenzo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just because a hotel has A/C doesn't mean they will actually turn it on. The Hotels in Europe are not like the USA. The advertise A/C, but don't actually turn it on until JULY! It was hot and so very loud with the windows open. The location is poor and the there is no where to eat close. Using the WiFi will cost you extra and it rarely works. We never got clean sheets or towels and we were stayed 4 nights. The breakfast is terrible; You get bread, coffee, and juice. Our room was tiny. We had to take turns getting dressed. Look around, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel is only 15 minutes walk from the Colosseum and the Forum with a tram stop just up the road. The Metro station is only 5 minutes away. A few restaurants nearby, make it a pretty good location. There are a few negatives though. We had a room at the front of the hotel which was affected by the noise of the traffic, particularly from the trams. We were a bit disappointed in the breakfast, coffee, some ready made dry toast, croissants and jam. There are no coffee making facilities in the room and the mini bar was empty. Not bad for the price though

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I just came back from Rome and stayed at Donatello Hotel. After staying at other small hotels during my trip such as Florence, Paris and London I was really disappointed about this one in particular. It was really dirty eventhough they "cleaned" daily. I regret not taking pictures of the bathroom for everyone to see. It is disgusting to take a shower there. Breakfast is minimal like one croissant one regular bread (both not fresh at all) coffee, milk and butter. The area is ugly and scary, but there is nothing the hotel can do about that. We asked about the AC, and they said they will repair it the next day and never happenned, it was really hot. The also charge for the WIFI.
The only thing we liked about the hotel was the customer service at the reception and the waitresses during breakfast time. I hope they read this and start doing some changes to get better reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beaucoup8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Read the reviews about the hotel before booking with jet2 package. Looked up the area on Google map /earth before leaving for the holiday and began to worry about the area. Got the Terravision coach from the airport to the railway station and began to walk to the hotel with my Google map instruction. Was disillusioned with the neighbourhood but found hotel with no problems. Room not ready on arrival (2pm) Had an annex room separated from the hotel which was comfortable and spacious but road noisy disturbing at night.The duvet had no cover on so asked staff for a cover,but they didn't seem to understand. also requested extra pillow that never arrived. Breakfast as all reviews have said very basic,even the juice was diluted. Handy area for transport but locals warned us to keep an eye on our bags. Easy to get to centre and attractions. Got Roma pass and Vatican card (had to pickup from st Paul's square) which was handy for skipping queue and transport..Hotel value for money but possibly not recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for upper room at back.we requested quite room which was for the noise from hotel but not traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaineLeedsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
#576 of 1,268 in Rome
403 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Galles
Hotel Galles
#763 of 1,268 in Rome
450 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#963 of 1,268 in Rome
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Caracciolo
Hotel Caracciolo
#631 of 1,268 in Rome
173 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Principe Di Piemonte
Hotel Principe Di Piemonte
#689 of 1,268 in Rome
232 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
#435 of 1,268 in Rome
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donatello

Address: Via di Porta Maggiore 83, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £49 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Donatello 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel Rome
Rome Donatello Hotel
Hotel Donatello Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing