We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Donatello
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$305
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$937
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$477
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
182
271
172
66
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
271
172
66
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscroissantsmanzoni metrocoffee and juiceminute walklovely balconytram stopsmall balconybudget hotelcontinental breakfastquaint hotelgave us a mapjacuzzi batharound the corneron footthe breakfast areastayed at this hotel for nightscity break
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

With no amenities other than the incredibly kind man at the front desk. Carlos, I believe. The room had two twin beds pushed together with barely enough space to walk around, and not made up so that you could sleep on both. It was like going back to 3rd grade. The dining area was under construction. Wouldn't do it again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBaileyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I booked a trip to this hotel through Humberside Airport Travel as a wedding present to my husband. We stayed 30th June to 3rd July and to say we were looking forward to it was an understatement. We had 7 months wait to get there and the reviews/website showed it to be a little diamond of a place; wtong!
On arrival after a very early start, got out key to the 'double room' booked to open the door to a shoebox with twin beds. My husband went back to reception to say there must be a mistake as our hotel voucher clearly stated a double room. They said no, we had booked a twin., hotel was full and nothing they could do. We went out all day and night for as long as possible to not be in this place longer than necessary.
Breakfast was coffee; mediocre by Italian standards, one croissant each, a stale bread roll each, jams and dilute orange. Tip; take a left out the hotel to top of the street and right. Little cafe on roadside with coffee, pastries and toasties. Lovely. Take your own hairdryer too. The one in the room blown cold air, took me an hour to dry my hair.
Rome itself is stunning and enjoyed the trip but will not return here nor recommend anyone else to.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights - 30/6 -3/7/14. Couldn't fault the service from all the staff who were extremely friendly and helpful. A very warm welcome on arrival - breakfast was served in the Court Yard which was very pleasant but has some ongoing building work which really didn't bother us. The room was very clean and tidy and the bathroom had a jacuzzi which I found really relaxing after our days out sightseeing. All in all I'd give the hotel 10/10 but I have simple tastes.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front with a balcony - traffic was a bit noisy (the Italians love using their horns) but with the balcony shutters and the double glazed door closed, we were able to sleep soundly.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

booked this hotel for 4 nights for myself and my partner's honeymoon and 50th birthday as we always said we would revisit Rome when we married.I read some reviews and became a bit worried by some of them. i can only say that they must have stayed in a totally different hotel! the room was very nice and clean,we had a small balcony with flowers to sit out on.fridge and safe in our room,and the staff were friendly and helpful without being obtrusive.
Continental breakfast was served 6.30-9.30 each morning,either inside the restaurant or outside in the garden (some renovations were being done to one part put did not effect the garden seating area at all): croissants,bread buns(and in reply to the people who said buns were stale-it was italian bread,it was supposed to be like that!!!)honey and various jams,fresh coffee,juice and water (tea bags if you prefer tea)
The location,we felt, was excellent,15/20 minutes stroll to the colosseum,also to st.clemente church,which was well worth a visit,passing many coffee shops along the way, selling wonderful coffee,cakes and sandwiches,A fantasic restaurant called Il padellaccio ristorante(which i shall also be reviewing)which we visited twice-mainly due to an amazing salmon and rocket pizza, about 5 minutes away from hotel.
Trams and buses to the left of the hotel only a minute or so away,and to the right,a short walk to manzoni metro station. the hotel was close enough to walk or take public transport to anywhere where you needed to go,but just far enough for food,drinks,souvenirs etc to be much cheaper than around tourist attractions (eg a 1 euro fridge magnet cost between 2 or 3 around colosseum,an espresso 0,80 compared to 2 or 3 euro) a small supermarket is situated across the road to the right where we purchased water,some food and nice bottles of alcohol and sweets etc to bring home as gifts at a fraction of the cost ( 70cl beautiful bottles of strawberry flavoured vodka just under 5 euro)
Some people reviewed the area as being run down and covered with graffiti,unfortunately,the graffiti was all over Rome,including around the colosseum,so the area itself was no worse than any other. The interenet issue some people commented on,i believe is more down to each person's phone,my phone was very hit and miss getting wifi,yet my now husband,had no bother at all,yes there is a 5 euro charge,but it only has to be purchased once per room-not per person.
When my husband and i visit Rome again,this will definitely be our chosen hotel,the location,clean rooms,friendly staff,access to transport,walking distance to attractions and very cheap prices make it an ideal hotel.

Room Tip: back of the hotel would probably be quieter as they didnt face the road.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank juliemarie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I enjoyed this hotel with my son (11) to visit Rome for three days. We choose it because of Price/Quality ratio and b ecause of the location.
The hotel surpirsed us in a pleasant way. The personnel was friendl and the room was very nice. I think this has been redone lately because the bathroom facilities looked quite new.
More than enough space. Good bathroom with toilet, bidet, sink and shower.
There was a balcony at our disposal too, which was nice.
The neighbourhood is not so good and walking distance from the central station directly is not recommended.
On our way back we walked to a nearby metro station and took two stops there.

Breakfast is very basic.
Hotel is clean.

I would recommend this hotel for the price I paid (65€ a night) but I would much more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nieuwenhuyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews