We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/21
Expedia.com
US$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/21
Agoda.com
US$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/21
Hotels.comUS$70
PricelineUS$67
eDreamsUS$72
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (842)
Filter reviews
842 results
Traveller rating
206
311
201
74
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
206
311
201
74
50
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 842 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2019 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend decided to go to Rome for our first visit to Italy. We arrived at ciampino airport and managed to find a taxi willing to do a €30 euro journey to this hotel (be very careful taxi drivers outside the airport love ripping people off)! We arrived at the hotel (about a 25 minute taxi journey) and checked in, paid the city tax (€4 per person per night), and managed to luckily get a balcony room (which is what we originally wanted)! Our room was average. It was quite small with two single beds, a very very small bathroom, and a balcony. The air-conditioning in the room was decent but was loud, however after tightening the screws on the vent this rattling noise disappeared. Beds were relatively comfy to. A bigger room and bathroom would’ve been a lot nicer. Our booking included a free breakfast every morning which we expected to be a lot bigger than it actually was. Our plan was to have a big breakfast so that we didn’t have to worry about lunch, but this plan sort of went out the window. It was probably the main disappointment as it was only: a bread roll, a croissant, some fruit and cereal were optional to have, and some packs of small ready made toast (sounds a fair amount but it really wasn’t that much). Neither of us like tea or coffee so we had juice from the juice machine which at times tasted more like squash than juice. We did find 2 main huge positives about this hotel. First one was its location. As you walk out the front door you are about a 15 min walk away from the colosseum which is beautiful to view in the day, sunset, and evening lit up. A supermarket is around the corner with ridiculously cheap prices for things such as alcohol and mainly beer. Some restaurants are round the corner to, we went to 2 here which were both nice. 2 train stations are nearby as well, both being about an 8 minute walk away. Grabbing a train here is simple, €1.50 for a ticket giving you 100 minutes to use and travel anywhere on the line (there is literally one train line with the train going either back or forth from where you’re getting on). This can quickly take you to places like the trevi fountain, Spanish steps , and the Vatican City. The last thing about the location is that there is a drinking fountain right near the entrance, make the most of these in Rome as they provide you with free cold water (restaurants don’t tend to provide free tap water, only Bottled water). A second huge positive about this place was the service. All the staff here were super friendly extremely helpful. We were provided with a map and a huge explanation of where everything is, where we should visit, how to train around, the best places to eat for us etc etc. The hotel also called and arranged a taxi for us to get back to the ciampino airport, this time a definite set fee of €30 euros. We loved the staff here and we were extremely grateful for all their help.
This is a decent hotel. It is quite outdated, improvements could be made to the rooms and the breakfast size/variety. However nothing could fault the service and the location which was brilliant. We loved our holiday and Rome , it is a beautiful place. Because we were out exploring all the time, the negatives didn’t effect us too much. But if you plan to spend a lot of time at your hotel , maybe looking at other places would be more ideal. :)

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Spencer-1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2019

Three star and low price, but needs improvement. Not close to bus sightseeing shuttles so have to walk 1-2 kms, walls need cleaning due to scuff mark’s, toilet flush poor water flow, small cupboards need fixing so couldn’t use and mattress too firm. The service by the breakfast attendants was good but bread rolls weren’t fresh or warmed. Room very small but as a solo traveler that was fine.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank KarenM1672015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 June 2019 via mobile

Tall claims on the Internet about the hotel.
No tea/ coffee in the room but electric kettle - of no use at all.no water not even glasses and cups in the room. Breakfast was a mockery with stale and rotten apples, and pre toasted packed bread .
No toiletries.
Rude hotel manager , who , when informed about the rotten stale apples simply retorted- “ don’t eat”
Declined even to provide a packed breakfast on the day of departure. Had to leave without breakfast despite having paid for it.
Be prepared to pay city tax, at the hotel even though you may have paid in advance at the time of booking.
As per my tour guide the city tax in Rome was 2 euro per person per day but I was charged 4 , with no printed receipt.
Took away from my experience of this wonderful city of amazingly cheerful and helpful people.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Seemaexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2019 via mobile

Staff are very friendly. The hotel is close to resturants and termini although we walked everywhere. The colloseum was 40mins away, Travelli fountain and Spanish steps 50min walk away and Rome war cemetery an hours walk. Lots of sights to see along the way and little cafes/bars to stop at too. On checkin we were given a map of the area which we found very helpful. Breakfast was continental which doesn't sound much but it lasted us until 1pm. Our room was facing the front,small but adequate. It had a balcony to sit out but was very noisy, they say New York doesn't sleep well neither does Rome! The bathroom very small but again adequate. There wasn't a kettle in the room so we had to wait for our hot drink at breakfast. There was a fridge and a safe within the room. The decore is how I pictured it to be, classic drapes,window shutters etc. There's shops close by to buy water or alcoholic drinks, snacks etc. Our favourite resturants while in Rome was the pizzaria 320, pizza was delicious! The other was The padellaccio 2. The food here was outstanding! The waiters are friendly, they are knowledgable on the food served and gave good recommendations its reasonably priced too. There is no food allowed in the rooms so fill up before heading back to your room and the front desk is manned 24hrs, no getting away trying to sneak food in Everytime you leave the hotel you have to hand in your key. Our room was cleaned,beds made and fresh towels every day. All in all its what we wanted and expected. It is most definately a 3* hotel and you get what you pay for.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank adele c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2019

If you are short on time and just want to see the sights in Rome then get a hotel closer to the Termini as all trains and buses run from there. If, on the other hand, if you want to include a real taste of Rome and Italian lifestyle then Hotel Donatello is the hotel to stay. There is a small grocery almost across the street with Deli's and restaurants right around the corner. The #50 or the #105 bus will get you to the Termini and your ticket will transfer anywhere from there (locally). Bus/tram tickets are available at the local Tobacco shop for 1.5 Euro each..

A couple blocks north of the hotel you can find the Trattoria Pinseria 320 - Excellent food and service at reasonable prices.

All of these conveniences AND the people running Hotel Donatello are wonderful.

Room tip: Rooms facing AWAY from the front of the hotel. Some offer balcony's while overlooking the courtyard.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Cosmopolitan455097
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews