We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean and friendly”
Review of Hotel Dorica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dorica
Ranked #346 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Rome hotels are expensive. I paid 140 euros per night for this hotel in early September, which was relatively cheap. I was very happy with the stay.

The location is very convenient. There is a bus right cross the street from the hotel that goes to quite a lot of places I wanted to visit. The subway is just a few short blocks away and Termini is also well within walking distance.

The hotel is on Piazza del Viminale, right across from the department of internal affairs. The view from my window was very nice. Judging from the exterior of the building, all the hotel’s rooms face the same direction. The immediate surrounding area is quiet but not creepy. There are a lot of places to eat around the hotel.

My room was relatively spacious for a European hotel. Furnishing was basic. A free breakfast was included in my room charge. The food was also basic, but plenty and with variety.

I believe the hotel is operated by a family. Front desk was friendly and they have a lot of information. Don’t hesitate to ask for recommendations of restaurants, tour routes, etc. They don’t push anything. The breakfast room attendants were very diligent and so was housekeeping.

I had a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amny65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Customer, thank you for your kind review. We always try to give all our best, for enjoy your stay at the Hotel, with professional manner.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dorica
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

The reception was very warm, the room was given before the normal schedule, as soon it was ready, all explanations given in our mother language (french) but also in english, italian....
room was spacious, confortable, clean, nicely decorated, bath room = a shower, toilet and lavabo, the services were ok, breakfast at the italian style (chocolate, capucino, caffe con latte, tea, bread, croissants, fruit juice, jam, cheese..) with a very warm service form the hotel personal. Well placed i the city not far from termini station (5 min walk) all public transport available. the hotel also proposed a appropriate transportation from Airport to hotel and vice a versa at a correct rate. I recommend for a short stay and for visiting Roma.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Customer, thank you for your kind review. We always try to give all our best, for enjoy your stay at the Hotel, with professional manner.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Excellent location, we walked all over Rome from this Hotel. 5-10 mins walk from Termini station.
Nice spacious rooms, cleaned daily. Good clean bathroom. Very impressed with this hotel. Has many floors, but has lift. Opposite government building on a pretty square. Very close to metro station.
There's a cafe next to hotel 'cafe viminale'- reasonably priced and great pasta. Carrefour superstore round the corner.
Felt very safe in this area even at night.

Breakfast- only thing we enjoyed were the hot fresh croissants, otherwise just toast and spreads and juice.

Marco from reception very helpful. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square, we were in room 28- very nice.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank advicefromus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Customer, thank you for your kind review. We always try to give all our best, for enjoy your stay at the Hotel, with professional manner.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Just 5 minutes walk from St. Maria Magiore, 10 minutes from Colloseum and 5 minutes to Metro station Repubblica – Teatro dell'Opera. Rooms are super clean, quiet, very simple furnished (you will expect little bit more for 3 hotels if you have got some experience from other cities) with free WiFi and comfortable beds. Breakfasts were sufficient, same every day, coffe, tea, juice, some cheese, yogurt and some sweets (no vegetable or eggs). Staff is very polite, friendly and helpful, everybody on reception speaking english. When you consider price, you will hardly find better place to stay if you are comming visit Rome as a tourist, who wanna explore and not spend time in wellness centrum ;) I'm pretty sure that we will booked this hotel for our next trip to Rome again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Customer, thank you for your kind review. We always try to give all our best, for enjoy your stay at the Hotel, with professional manner.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel, and we stayed 5 nights. It offers a convenient location at a reasonable price. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms are fairly basic, clean, and comfortable. I had forgotten how light the breakfast is (no eggs or meat). After walking from 9am - 9pm most days, we could have used some protien at breakfast...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MisterTimUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Customer, thank you for your kind review. We always try to give all our best, for enjoy your stay at the Hotel, with professional manner.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Hotel Dorica is very centrally located and you can walk anywhere from here. The breakfast is great and there is a lot of variety to choose from. The room was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torontotraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Customer, thank you for your kind review. We always try to give all our best, for enjoy your stay at the Hotel, with professional manner.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Hotel was very clean and staff was very helpful. Air conditioning works very well.
Situation was good, few hunred meters from Termini and 100 m to street Nazionale where are buss stops and metro station.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jouko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Customer, thank you for your kind review. We always try to give all our best, for enjoy your stay at the Hotel, with professional manner.

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#216 of 1,267 in Rome
1,231 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#207 of 1,267 in Rome
965 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#398 of 1,267 in Rome
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#225 of 1,267 in Rome
543 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#249 of 1,267 in Rome
1,505 reviews
Monti
Viminale View Hotel
Viminale View Hotel
#290 of 1,267 in Rome
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorica

Address: Piazza Viminale 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#212 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £68 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorica Hotel is situated in the historical center of Rome opposite the Home Office (Ministry of Internal Affair) in a stupendous commercial area rich in works of art, monuments and museums, near the Termini Station-train and the Opera Theatre. The staff of the hotel are all members of the same family and run the hotel so that each guest will be offered a serene and tranquil environment. Special agreements heve been made for parking in a garage nearby. The rooms, completely renovated, are equipped wiyh every comfort: TV SAT, safe, direct- dial telephone, hair driers and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dorica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorica Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing