We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Hotel Dorica”
Review of Hotel Dorica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dorica
Ranked #352 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Yerevan, Armenia
1 review
“Wonderful stay at Hotel Dorica”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed a week at Hotel Dorica. I chose it for its location, availability of free Wi-Fi connection and price – and my expectations were met. But there was another plus the hotel has, which came as a nice surprise – the very warm treatment and help you get by the reception staff, who make every effort for the guests to feel home in Rome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina19G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear customer,

it is true our hotel has an excellent location to visit the town, just 10 minute walk of the main train/bus and metro station in Rome -we invite everyone to see the map of our official website-. Concerning our staff, we all work in a friendly and familiar spirit, that's why we are grateful when our guests feel part of this family.
For all this reasons we want to thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica,
We hope to see you soon again,

Arrivederci,

Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    331
    67
    26
    20
See reviews for
207
376
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We spent 3 days in Dorica in September. Staff was very helpful to us and kind to our 7months baby. Though the breakast is not very delicious, I think it's not a problem to eat somewhere else near the hotel. Rooms are not very spacious but clean. We had a view on fountain. If in rome, we will be glad to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizaveta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Customer

Thanks for the comment and for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays.

Many of our clients have special requests when making breakfast, it is right because it is people from all over the world, but in Italy a normal breakfast is a good cappuccino and a croissant good :) anyway we serve even more: cheese, bread, fruit, honey, marmalade, butter and different juices, we try where is possible to content our customers with a good service.

The rooms of the hotels have standard size that adheres to our hotel category, the other Tripadvisor users can view the photos by visiting our official website.

For the rest, our Hotel has a strategic location that allows our customers to easily walk to many monuments and historical value, and two of the main streets of Rome: Via Nazionale, with its shops and metro, and Via Cavour which leads to a part of the train station "Termini" and the other from the Coliseum. All our staff is always available to help and inform our clients and so we are pleased to have contributed to make your stay more pleasant in the Eternal City.

Thank you for your comment, greetings to his family and to your "piccolo bambino" ;)

And best wishes for a Happy New Year. -

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Hotel was close to Termini station, many attractions all within walking distance. Catch the Roma shuttle from airport to termini station for 4 euros. Hotel is within walking distance even with luggage. We walked to Trevi Fountain in less than 15 mins. Hotel is clean, very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was great and one of the best cuppacino in Rome. Loads of nearby restaurants with fabulous food. Fast wifi. I stayed for 3 nights. Will definitely stay here again. Thanks Emanuella.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing immigration building although you're not allowed to take photos. It's go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear customer,

thank you very much for the time you has dedicated to us in writing these words, we are very happy that you liked it so much our staff and the hotel in general, because this is our primary goal.

Our central location, our proximity to major historical monuments, make our home a place to know, specially for all those who have Rome as your next destination.

For all this and much more I recommend other Tripadvisor users visit our official website.

Hoping you will offer us the possibility to welcome you again soon, we wish you a serene Christmas and a wonderful New Year! :)

Regards e arrivederci


Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Dorica 5 days in the middle of November. Warm and friendly reception, good service, clean rooms. But the most important - it's situated very close to all historical places, to Republic metro station and just 7 minutes by foot from Termini railway station, where the train from the airport arrives. Right in front of the hotel there's the Ministry of Internal Affaires, so you can be for sure safe and sound here! If you need something - just ask Florian or Diego at reception. And don't forget to try their famous cappuccino or latte in the bar! Best choice of place-price-quality!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDemchenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear customer,

Our central location, our proximity to major historical monuments and the most important Roman churches (like Santa Maria Maggiore, Santa Maria degli Angeli, etc), our quiet area, our view of the Palazzo Viminale, and obviously our cappuccino :), make our home a place to know as you said.

Thank you very much for the time you has dedicated to us in writing these words. We are really very happy that you liked it so much our staff, our rooms and the hotel in general, because this is our primary goal.

Sincerely

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed in Hotel Dorica for 5 days mid-October. The hotel is simply charming. It is not a 5-stars establishment, but you do get everything for the value of your money. I liked the friendliness and the helpfulness of the staff; they are not just employees, but rather parts of your extended circle of friends. Their services include the possibility of booking tours from the hotel's reception desk for Rome, the Vatican, Tivoli, Firenze, Napoli and Capri, and other locations. The hotel is centrally located in Rome on Piazza Viminale, upon which it has a charming view. This is adjacent to Via Nazionale, home to elegant boutiques. Most touristic sites are within a circle of 15-20 minutes walking distance radius, and so is StazioneTermini, Rome's main railway station. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. WiFi is available for free, which is quite an asset for a tourist on a first visit to Rome. Breakfast is generous and fuels you up for a day full of excursions. For my next trip to Rome, I know where I am going to book.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadi_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear customer,

we are really happy that your stay was so nice, because this is our primary goal. You said it all, I can only encourage other Tripadvisor users to visit our website and visit us to discover the wonders of this city.

Thanks again for the time that you have spent, and we await for you as soon is possible.

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorong, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I stay 4 nights in this hotel. The complimentary breakfast are standard with no Ham, Salami. But the Front Office Staff (Emanuella, Florian & Diego) are very attentive, knowledgable and very friendly. Complimentary to the housekeeping, they have done a very good job. The Bedroom and bathroom are clean, new towels every day.
Location is about +/- 500 meters from Termini Central Station, but close to lot of Restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipthio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Philipthio,

Grazie :) for your time and your words, because for the location and rooms the other Tripadvisor users can see all the pictures in our web site, but our friendship and dedication for our costumers is not possible to see it there, so, thank you very much and we hope to see you again in our House.

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmdel, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Here is why:

- location - it's in a walking distance to the MOST of the places from "must see in Rome" list including Termini station if need a train; a couple of buses stop right across the hotel or 5 mins walk to 2 metro stations
- very clean, simple but elegant room, mattress was rather firm;
- very quiet street at night or just close modern window during the day;
- FREE wi-fi is strong AND stable;
- breakfast is more than sufficient: juices, yogurts, large variety of baked good and, of course, coffee. Not your "dripper" watery staff but full blast espresso or whatever you request;
- front desk chaps are VERY friendly and helpful. Thank you guys!!!

The added bonus, for me at least, is the view from the window. A lot of hotels located in the old buildings offer nothing but ... the view of the walls/windows across.
Hotel Dorica overlooks a good size piazza with a fountain. I was delighted to fall asleep listening to the murmuring water.

Prices do vary significantly based on the season and, as I am guessing, availability of the hotels in the area.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the piazza below I think are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vesnaileto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Vesnaileto,

all roads lead to Rome, but from Termini Station just two streets lead to Hotel Dorica :) and just in 10 minutes walking you have arrived, and you can't go wrong!!!

Thank you very very much for your comments, just let me add some words to the other Tripadvisor users:

-Location: Take a look out from our window, see the pictures in our Official web site.

-Cleaning service: we know very well that this is essential for a traveler, in order to make feel the traveler like home, which is our main goal.

-Quiet place: front of us you'll find the Minister of Interior, beautiful palace with an majestic fountain: decorated with reliefs: three mountains (the emblem of the district of the same name), and the wolf of Rome, on the back, a turreted crown, symbol of Italy. But the most important thing about the fountain is what our costumer said "I was delighted to fall asleep listening to the murmuring water" :)

Tante tante grazie e arrivederci!

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#221 of 1,257 in Rome
1,207 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#204 of 1,257 in Rome
944 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#237 of 1,257 in Rome
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#378 of 1,257 in Rome
730 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#101 of 1,257 in Rome
808 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#240 of 1,257 in Rome
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorica

Property: Hotel Dorica
Address: Piazza del Viminale 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#212 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorica Hotel is situated in the historical center of Rome opposite the Home Office (Ministry of Internal Affair) in a stupendous commercial area rich in works of art, monuments and museums, near the Termini Station-train and the Opera Theatre. The staff of the hotel are all members of the same family and run the hotel so that each guest will be offered a serene and tranquil environment. Special agreements heve been made for parking in a garage nearby. The rooms, completely renovated, are equipped wiyh every comfort: TV SAT, safe, direct- dial telephone, hair driers and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dorica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorica Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing