We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay at Dorica” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dorica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dorica
Ranked #326 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Marau, RS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at Dorica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have stayed at Dorica in Feb/14 and it was a great experience. The hotel have a great breakfast and the best cappuccino I have ever tasted. The staff was very helpful. The room and hotel localization are the highlights.

I would back again... Save your money!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matheus_pomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear customer,

We are really happy when the Hotel, the staff, the services, comfort and location are highlighted, we feel honored and the only thing to say is thank you very much to our costumer, and come to visit as to the other Tripadvisor users .
You're right, our Cappuccino is the best :)))

Arrivederci

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    327
    66
    26
    20
See reviews for
202
375
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The plus is that this hotel is in a pretty good area you can walk(if your ready for that challenge) and see most of Rome from here. The down side is the price. The hotel is way too expensive for the type of facility they have. The room is small even for Italy and the shower is located separate from your bathroom. The beds are also old and feel like those old roll away beds. This was a last option for me because everything else was booked.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear customer,

We are really surprised of your judgment. Because our beds are of excellent quality, and you had booked a standard room. We understand that the price may seem high for two guys who travel with backpacks, and you had to book with us as a "ultima ratio". But does not excuse your behavior: The fact of not wanting to show your passports, which is an international practice. Another problem was that you make a reservation for a double room, instead of a twin as you thought, but your late arrival in the evening is not made possible any other changing for this day.
We invite the Tripadvisor users to visit our Official Website to appreciate our location, our rooms and all the services we offer.-

Sincerely

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Dorica for a few days early May, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are comfortable, but not fancy. Beds were good and there was a wall safe to lock things up for safe keeping. The location was great. It was a short walk to the Coliseum, and to most of the sights we wanted to see. We really enjoyed excellent service from the front desk and in the breakfast . We enjoyed the breakfast offerings and the attentive service. We also had considerable assistance with locating great restaurants and other attractions. The staff were so helpful. Proximity to the train station was excellent. It was easy to walk, even with bulky luggage.
Prior to arrival we had an email with an offer of a shuttle from the airport. We accepted and found it was reasonable, and a great service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuelphTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear customer,

thanks for your comments, first of all I want to say to all the Tripadvisor users, that our dear customer is not part our family. He writes so well from us that looks like he's our relative, but is not :)

From the rest, it's all true, the proximity to the main train stations / bus / metro in Rome "Roma Termini", and many places of historical importance. We recommend everybody to visit our official Web site to take a look of our services and, map and lots of other useful information.

Best wishes to our dear customer, after being here with us, you also became part of our family

Sincerely

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Would highly recommend this hotel which is very conveniently located in central Rome. The staff was outstanding, very friendly and helpful. Comfortable beds and great cappuchino! If you are a bit sensitive to sounds so it is recommended to bring earplugs when traffic occurs outside the hotel. We recommend upcoming Rome travelers to choose Dorica if you want a cozy hotel with good location and pleasant staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaSpajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear customer,

We're right near many points of historical, cultural and religious interest, such as the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, just a 5-minute walk away, or the Palace of Expositions on the Via Nazionale one of the main shopping streets of Rome.

Thank you for your words about our staff, we work in a professional environment but also familiar, and we are very happy that you spent a pleasant stay with us, I hope you come back soon.-

Arrivederci presto!

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Didn't start well to be honest. The hotel wasn't that visible from the street & we had to wait 5 minutes for the receptionist to stop stressing over the computer but after that things improved. Indeed the fun loving staff turned out to be a real highlight. Room was nice,perhaps a bit small, but very good power shower in the bathroom (where else?). Air con was quiet & not much road noise.
I disagree with those who don't like the location- very convenient for the main station & opera house, close to the main shops (pop out to the Carrefour Express just round the corner for water, choc &
biscuits) and not far from the metro fir the Vatican.

Yup, its a definite recommendation!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tastydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear customer,

Your comments are beautiful, and very special :). You have absolutely right, we are very quirky, and we do many quirky things, for example, in our bathrooms there is also a shower :)))
Thank you for your words about the passion of our staff in its work, the centrality of our house, and in general for the trust that you have given us.

We hope that you come back to visit us as soon as possible,

Arrivederci!

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed 5 nights last June on a two week trip across Italy. I chose this hotel because of the recommendations on TA and we were a bit disappointed by the location. The distance from some of the major sights/piazzas such as the Vatican and Piazza Navano was just a bit too far. Rome is a really large city so no one hotel location is going to be ideal. Yes, it was close to the Termani but we would have preferred a bit more of a neighborhood feel with outside cafés and shops nearby. This is definitely a quiet area though because it is mostly office buildings around the hotel so not a lot of nighttime noise. We found our rooms clean and although the bathrooms were smallish, they were clean and provided all that was needed. The breakfast was ok, we opted to go out one morning and walk to a coffee shop by the Panthenon, which was a lot of fun. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Overall we enjoyed the hotel, just not the location.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank willyandalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear customer,
thanks for your comments, we are very glad that you enjoyed the service, breakfast and cleaning, also our staff, we work hard to get this level of quality in our work.

We really surprises that the location was not of your liking. Because our hotel is located in a very central point of the city of Rome, from where you can reach on foot the many monuments such as the Colosseum, or visit the Moses of Michelangelo and many other places. We invite the rest of the users of tripadvisor to look at our strategic location on our official site (also close to the main train stations, bus and metro in Rome.)

The memories sometimes change with time, you have been with us a year ago, I'm sure that if you come back you will also find the location fantastic :)

Sincerely


Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camano Island, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel, along with 3 other couples. The rooms were somewhat small, but clean and modern. The staff was super. We could have walked to everything, but for the rain one morning. Breakfast was great. Plenty of restaurant choices in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear customer,

it is true our hotel has an excellent location to eat well and to visit the town, just 10 minute walk of the main train/bus and metro station in Rome -we invite everyone to see the map of our official website-. Concerning our staff, we all work in a friendly and familiar spirit, that's why we are grateful when our guests feel part of this family.

For all this reasons we want to thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica and for any one of your comments because we always work to improve listening the voice of our customers.

Arrivederci presto!!!

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#203 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#209 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#239 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#199 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#118 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#213 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorica

Property: Hotel Dorica
Address: Piazza del Viminale 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#212 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorica Hotel is situated in the historical center of Rome opposite the Home Office (Ministry of Internal Affair) in a stupendous commercial area rich in works of art, monuments and museums, near the Termini Station-train and the Opera Theatre. The staff of the hotel are all members of the same family and run the hotel so that each guest will be offered a serene and tranquil environment. Special agreements heve been made for parking in a garage nearby. The rooms, completely renovated, are equipped wiyh every comfort: TV SAT, safe, direct- dial telephone, hair driers and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dorica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorica Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing