We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position in Rome”
Review of Hotel Dorica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dorica
Ranked #346 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Transiting through Rome twice on our recent adventure, we stayed here for three nights. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts were delicious. It's walking distance from Termini station, the historical centre and the opera.
Rooms are spacious and bathrooms appear clean and modern.
Wifi was free but stronger signal near reception than the room. There was a lift because its on the first and second floor above ground.
It's recommended for a reasonable choice in a safe area of the Eternal city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_ruthSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Costumer,

Thank your very much for your comment, we are happy that you're staying was pleasurable.-

And yes, we are in a very center area, from here you can walk almost every where.-
I hope to see you again in the future,

Alla prossima volta nella città Eterna,

Sincerely

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dorica
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We were given a very warm welcome from Diego (I'm very sorry if I got your name wrong). He was very friendly who kindly explained to us all we needed to know about our stay and the must-see tourist attractions by providing us a detailed map.

Breakfast was included in the course of our stay and that was nice because we saved some euros! The hotel staff were friendly who never failed to greet us every time we saw them.

Our room was good enough for four nights. Just keep an eye out for the sockets as one of our European plugs didn't fit. You need not worry about air conditioning, they have cool traditional ceiling fans!

Location was good, about 12-15 mins walk to the Colosseum. Close to Termini 5-7 mins. We did a lot of walking but good enough to burn all the carbs from eating too much pasta and pizza!

There is free WiFi but it only worked in the lobby and dining room, not in the rooms.

Check out was at 11:00 but they let us store our luggage until we were ready to leave for our flight in the evening. They also let us use a special toilet/changing room for us to freshen up before our flight.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear customers,

Thank you so much for your beautiful words. What can I say? You said everything :).

Just wish aggiuntere three things:
1 - My name is right. -
2 - I can guarantee that the customer is not a relative of any of us, otherwise the rest of the users of TripAdvisor think that we do write to our family :)
3 - A grade thanks from the heart, and we hope you come back soon with us in this beautiful city.-

Arrivederci presto!!!

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have stayed at Dorica in Feb/14 and it was a great experience. The hotel have a great breakfast and the best cappuccino I have ever tasted. The staff was very helpful. The room and hotel localization are the highlights.

I would back again... Save your money!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matheus_pomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear customer,

We are really happy when the Hotel, the staff, the services, comfort and location are highlighted, we feel honored and the only thing to say is thank you very much to our costumer, and come to visit as to the other Tripadvisor users .
You're right, our Cappuccino is the best :)))

Arrivederci

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The plus is that this hotel is in a pretty good area you can walk(if your ready for that challenge) and see most of Rome from here. The down side is the price. The hotel is way too expensive for the type of facility they have. The room is small even for Italy and the shower is located separate from your bathroom. The beds are also old and feel like those old roll away beds. This was a last option for me because everything else was booked.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear customer,

We are really surprised of your judgment. Because our beds are of excellent quality, and you had booked a standard room. We understand that the price may seem high for two guys who travel with backpacks, and you had to book with us as a "ultima ratio". But does not excuse your behavior: The fact of not wanting to show your passports, which is an international practice. Another problem was that you make a reservation for a double room, instead of a twin as you thought, but your late arrival in the evening is not made possible any other changing for this day.
We invite the Tripadvisor users to visit our Official Website to appreciate our location, our rooms and all the services we offer.-

Sincerely

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Dorica for a few days early May, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are comfortable, but not fancy. Beds were good and there was a wall safe to lock things up for safe keeping. The location was great. It was a short walk to the Coliseum, and to most of the sights we wanted to see. We really enjoyed excellent service from the front desk and in the breakfast . We enjoyed the breakfast offerings and the attentive service. We also had considerable assistance with locating great restaurants and other attractions. The staff were so helpful. Proximity to the train station was excellent. It was easy to walk, even with bulky luggage.
Prior to arrival we had an email with an offer of a shuttle from the airport. We accepted and found it was reasonable, and a great service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuelphTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear customer,

thanks for your comments, first of all I want to say to all the Tripadvisor users, that our dear customer is not part our family. He writes so well from us that looks like he's our relative, but is not :)

From the rest, it's all true, the proximity to the main train stations / bus / metro in Rome "Roma Termini", and many places of historical importance. We recommend everybody to visit our official Web site to take a look of our services and, map and lots of other useful information.

Best wishes to our dear customer, after being here with us, you also became part of our family

Sincerely

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Would highly recommend this hotel which is very conveniently located in central Rome. The staff was outstanding, very friendly and helpful. Comfortable beds and great cappuchino! If you are a bit sensitive to sounds so it is recommended to bring earplugs when traffic occurs outside the hotel. We recommend upcoming Rome travelers to choose Dorica if you want a cozy hotel with good location and pleasant staff!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaSpajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear customer,

We're right near many points of historical, cultural and religious interest, such as the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, just a 5-minute walk away, or the Palace of Expositions on the Via Nazionale one of the main shopping streets of Rome.

Thank you for your words about our staff, we work in a professional environment but also familiar, and we are very happy that you spent a pleasant stay with us, I hope you come back soon.-

Arrivederci presto!

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Didn't start well to be honest. The hotel wasn't that visible from the street & we had to wait 5 minutes for the receptionist to stop stressing over the computer but after that things improved. Indeed the fun loving staff turned out to be a real highlight. Room was nice,perhaps a bit small, but very good power shower in the bathroom (where else?). Air con was quiet & not much road noise.
I disagree with those who don't like the location- very convenient for the main station & opera house, close to the main shops (pop out to the Carrefour Express just round the corner for water, choc &
biscuits) and not far from the metro fir the Vatican.

Yup, its a definite recommendation!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tastydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorica, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dorica, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear customer,

Your comments are beautiful, and very special :). You have absolutely right, we are very quirky, and we do many quirky things, for example, in our bathrooms there is also a shower :)))
Thank you for your words about the passion of our staff in its work, the centrality of our house, and in general for the trust that you have given us.

We hope that you come back to visit us as soon as possible,

Arrivederci!

Diego - Reception Manager - Hotel Dorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#216 of 1,267 in Rome
1,231 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#207 of 1,267 in Rome
965 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#398 of 1,267 in Rome
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#225 of 1,267 in Rome
543 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#249 of 1,267 in Rome
1,505 reviews
Monti
Viminale View Hotel
Viminale View Hotel
#290 of 1,267 in Rome
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorica

Address: Piazza Viminale 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#212 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £69 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorica Hotel is situated in the historical center of Rome opposite the Home Office (Ministry of Internal Affair) in a stupendous commercial area rich in works of art, monuments and museums, near the Termini Station-train and the Opera Theatre. The staff of the hotel are all members of the same family and run the hotel so that each guest will be offered a serene and tranquil environment. Special agreements heve been made for parking in a garage nearby. The rooms, completely renovated, are equipped wiyh every comfort: TV SAT, safe, direct- dial telephone, hair driers and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dorica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorica Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing