We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel”
Review of Selene Style Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Selene Style Hotel
Ranked #123 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night before my flight out of Rome. This hotel is a 5 minute walk from the train station and has lots of restaurants nearby. Usually I splurge when I am in Rome and stay near the Pantheon and pay 3 times the price. Amenities and such are comparable to the "nicer" hotels in the city center, but this hotel is very comparable, you just pay less because it's closer to the train station.

Overall, great value hotel and out of 5 hotels I've stayed at in Italy the last two weeks, this one had the easiest and most reliable Wifi!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiffany000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear tiffany000

thank you very much for posting a positive comment about the Hotel Selene Roma on Tripadvisor.

I am very glad that Hotel Selene Roma has worked out fine for your needs; it's great to be positively compared with some other hotels in Rome which you have visited in the past.

You have certainly noticed that we are located on the "bright side"of Termini Station's surroundings, next to the Opera House and just off via Nazionale, a major shopping street; hence i strongly hope that we have become your definitive choice when you are coming to Rome: as you have wrote, why someone should pay 3 times the price when you can have the same or even better service?

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Best regards


Gabriele Milano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel was a real gem of a find. It is located a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station and Metro and is perfectly located for all the tourist locations such as the Colosseum, Palatine Hill (10 - 15 min walk), Trevi Fountains, Pantheon, Spanish Steps (20 min walk, if that). The rooms are simple, pristine, nicely decorated and so quiet. The staff are absolutely wonderful. Each one greeted us with a huge smile and were so willing to help or offer advice. Nothing felt an issue or problem for them and they even helped us book tickets for the Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel so we would not have to queue. Just a brilliant base for a long weekend in Rome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Michelle,

thank you very much indeed for sharing such an outstanding feedback with the Tripadvisor's community.

Everybody here really felt that you were very much enjoying your stay during that weekend and you proved us right by sharing your thoughts twice: the first time through a beautiful email which we have framed already and the second time here on our Tripadvisor's page.

It has been an enormous pleasure welcoming you Michelle, we look forward to welcoming you again and we all send to you our kindest regards.

Gabriele Milano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent a week in Rome recently and stayed at this excellent little hotel. The staff is so friendly and service-minded, the rooms are nice and very tidy and the location is perfect. 3 minutes from Stazione Termini which is Rome's communication hub. And lots of fine restaurants in the neighbourhood. (Don't miss Carbonara dal 1906 on Via Panisperna - 7 minutes by foot from the hotel.)

It was the first time we stayed at Hotel Selene and we will definately stay there the next time we go to Rome. A highly recommendable hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Per E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Per E,

thank you very much for the wonderful review posted.

There are two things that add substance to your review:

- You have registered as a new Tripadvisor's user in order to share your feedback with the community

- You have also top-rated us on another website that gathers our customers' reviews and opinions.

Your effort is admirable and very much appreciated.

All our staff thanks you very much for your outstanding considerations; i can definitely say that we all are "people persons" here.

Thank you again for your time E., we look forward to welcoming you again in the "Eternal City".

Best regards

Gabriele Milano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I came to Rome for a rugby match with a group of friends and this hotel is not near the olympic stadium.
It's not near the classic historic sites (Spanish steps, etc.) of Rome either-
It's near Via Nazionale and Termini Train Station, so it makes sense if you come by train.
The Hotel is located at the 3rd and 4th Floor of a building, the concierge is well located and the staff is friendly. The rooms are not very large and the furniture is basic, clean and equipped with the basic stauff. No flip-flops or toothpaste provided though. Some are supposed to be renovated but it didn't feel new. The bedside light was not working and the curtain was broken.
There is a water boiler and complimentary tea/coffee in the room.
Continental breakfast is OK, with anything you need taken care of.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Giovanni M,

thank you for taking the time to post your own, personal opinion regarding the Hotel Selene Roma.

I must apologize if our hotel did not meet your expectations; i will now analyze step by step your review and answer your considerations in the most detailed way:

"I came to Rome for a rugby match with a group of friends and this hotel is not near the olympic stadium"

I do not understand if it is a positive or negative remark. When you have reserved our hotel through Booking.com, i am sure that you must have looked at our location, hence, if you wanted to be near the Olympic Stadium, you should have a reserved an hotel near the Olympic Stadium where the only main attraction in that area is...the Olympic Stadium.

"It's not near the classic historic sites (Spanish steps, etc.) of Rome either-"

This consideration is actually answered from all other Tripadvisor's users who have reviewed our hotel before you: location has always been contemplated as one of our strengths and, honestly, Spanish Steps or Colosseum are about 15 minutes walk from our hotel (or 2 minutes by subway).

"The Hotel is located at the 3rd and 4th Floor of a building, the concierge is well located and the staff is friendly. The rooms are not very large and the furniture is basic, clean and equipped with the basic stauff. No flip-flops or toothpaste provided though. Some are supposed to be renovated but it didn't feel new. The bedside light was not working and the curtain was broken. There is a water boiler and complimentary tea/coffee in the room.".

I thank you very much for your opinion regarding our staff, one of our many strengths. To be honest, our hotel is actually located also on the 2nd floor of the building and this is a very common thing in Italy when travelling from centre to more south. Regarding the size of the room, i apologize if we did not manage to upgrade the Standard room that you have booked like we did to your friends who checked in (i've personally met them) much earlier than you on that Friday. The room you've stayed in is about 6 months old and a light bulb and a curtain can always be changed or repaired only if our front desk is informed about it. We could have changed your room or offering you all the drinks from the minibar in order to apologize; unfortunately at this point there is nothing that we can do. I am not also sure why the hotel should provide flip-flops to its guests: we are not close to the beach so i am pretty sure that probably you meant to write slippers; but, trust me, slippers or toothpaste are amenities that you won't find in any 3 stars hotel on the planet. In a 3 stars hotel's room, it is also almost impossible to find a minibar or tea-coffee facilities and a kettle, which were part of the "basic stuff" present in your room. I am glad that you have enjoyed our breakfast: a positive, gastronomic opinion from an italian guest is always well appreciated.

The heading of your review says: "Not sure why you should come here". The last 20 reviews and many others on our Tripadvisor's page are actually clearing up our future guests' doubts; i do not want to add anything else but i am officially inviting you to give us another chance in the future in order to make you change your opinion.
Please contact us directly for a new reservation: booking@hotelseleneroma.it

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Gabriele Milano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel Selene is such a great place to stay. Close to termini station and both A and B metro lines. A 15 min walk to Trevi fountain. Rooms were big and spacious and very clean.

Great pizzeria on every block !

If you visit Rome this is the place to stay!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChristyFurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear ChristyFurr,

thank you very much posting a review regarding your stay with us.

I am delighted to understand that you have really enjoyed our hotel and its extraordinary location; thank you again for sharing your thoughts with the community.

We look forward to welcoming again in the future.

Best regards

Gabriele Milano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Selene is a great location, less than 10 minutes from Termini (where all buses, trains, and subway lines depart). It is surrounded by restaurants of all types, both cheap and mediocre and expensive but excellent. The staff at the Selene is super helpful and all speak excellent English. (For example, they graciously found an electrical adapter for us to use with our iPad charger. The rooms are large and comfortable, many with three single beds. (Mattresses are on the firm side). Cleanliness is excellent. The (included) breakfast is pretty generic European, but there's plenty of it. (No hot dishes, though.) Our room had a shower and a bidet, but no tub. The floors are not carpeted, and not too much fun to walk on in the middle of the night. This was our second stay at the Selene, and we would certainly consider it again on a future trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalewhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Dale,

thank you very much for taking the time to post an excellent review regarding your stay at the Hotel Selene Roma.

I am glad to understand from your words that the days that you have spent with us were pleasant and the hotel itself worked out perfectly for your needs. I am only surprised to read that you could not find any hot dishes on our breakfast buffet: crispy bacon, soft boiled eggs and hard boiled eggs are actually there every morning for our guest... I apologize if you could not find any during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Gabriele Milano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

So well located and such a helpful staff! We loved it! The breakfast each morning got us on our way to a busy day of sightseeing and the beds at night were so comfortable. The proximity to Termini station was a plus!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shopperace61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Shopperac,

thank you very much for commenting your experience at the Hotel Selene Roma in the best possible way.

I am glad that our location worked out great for your needs but i specifically want to thank for the good words spent on our staff and for having highlighted the comfort of our new mattresses (the entire hotel is now renovated).

Thank you again and feel free to pay us a visit anytime that you will be in Rome.

Best regards

Gabriele Milano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#96 of 1,272 in Rome
857 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#70 of 1,272 in Rome
744 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#47 of 1,272 in Rome
487 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#101 of 1,272 in Rome
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selene Style Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selene Style Hotel

Address: Via del Viminale 8/10, 00184 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Selene Roma)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Rome
#103 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#134 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £59 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Selene Style Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Selene is the perfect hotel for both leisure and business. It is located in the heart of Rome, at the crossroads of culture, history and shopping, in a privileged position very close to the following tourist sites: Piazza della Repubblica, Termini station, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Roman Forum, the Spanish Steps, Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore , Diocletian Bath, Teatro dell'Opera, dell'Esposizioni Palace, Basilica of Santa Maria degli Angeli, St. Peter in Chains, the Palazzo Venezia. Vatican City and St. Peter's Basilica can be reached in 10 minutes by using from Piazza della Repubblica the line A of Rome's Subway. Most of our 40 rooms overlook Via del Viminale or Via Principe Amedeo, two very quiet streets with little traffic. Hotel Selene Roma has recently renovated its 40 rooms: the decor of Hotel Selene Roma is simple yet elegant and classic and instantly creates a relaxing atmosphere. Book on the hotel's official website in order to get advantage of the best deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Selene Style Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selene Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing