We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation - May 2014”
Review of Selene Style Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Selene Style Hotel
Ranked #124 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family Vacation - May 2014”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We are a family of four who stayed at the Selene Roma for five nights in May 2014. We had a quad room which was very comfortable. The hotel is well located, sights within walking distance. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel is very clean.

Would definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiannoneFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear GiannoneFamily

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We are very pleased to see you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as finding our staff friendly and helpful, the Family Room comfortable and that you had noticed the cleanliness of our hotel.

I will make sure your comments are passed on to our team.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Gabriele Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    581
    131
    18
    7
See reviews for
344
594
36
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I chose this hotel based on the good reviews, and we're glad we did. We stayed here for 4 nights last week, and it was a very pleasant stay. Most of my comments are similar to other reviewers but I'll describe our experience anyway.

We walked from the Termini station using the good directions the hotel had given; it took about 10 minutes and was not too difficult even with luggage. Getting up the few steps to the elevator was much easier than what we had to deal with in our Venice and Florence hotels, which had many more stairs and no elevator to the lobby. The elevator is small and only fits 2 people with luggage or 4 people without, but we never had to wait long for it (unlike the small elevators in many New York City hotels).

We were able to walk to many sights, and for more distant sights (or when we just didn't want a long way) we took the Metro from the nearby Reppublica station--it is easy to use if you have used any other city metro/subway system, and the trains run regularly and are clean. Despite all the warnings in tourist guides about the dangers of pickpockets and other thieves on the Metro, in the Termini area, and at tourist sights, we had no problem. It's like any big city--you have to be aware of your belongings and surroundings.

We were given an upgraded room for booking directly with the hotel online, and it was a very nice room on the 4th floor. It was large and nicely decorated with an almost Asian feeling--very calm. The bed was very firm, though not uncomfortable, but the pillows were fairly flat and we had trouble sleeping the first night. We requested extra pillows the next day and after that we were comfortable and slept well. An important part of the reason we slept well is that it was very quiet, even though the window faced the street. We did not hear any traffic noise at night and also did not hear noise from guests in other rooms except for an occasional muffled sound of talking in the halls or a door closing. However, our room was located far from the security door that guests must go through to get to the rooms, and people sometimes let that door slam instead of holding it so it closes quietly--so the people in the rooms close to security door might hear that. (I don't know that this is true--I am just assuming it could be a problem. If you are concerned about that, request a quiet room far from the security door.)
It was very hot in Rome while we were there, so we were happy to find that the air conditioning in our room worked very well--better than the hotels we stayed at in Venice and Florence. It turns off when you leave the room (because the card that serves as a door key also turns on the electricity in the room), but when we came back from sightseeing in the late afternoon or evening the room cooled off quickly.

The room had a large closet but only a couple of small drawers. There were several large plastic hangers (like the ones for men's jackets), but it would have been helpful to have some regular hangers and also more or larger drawers for clothes that can't be hung up. The room also had a mini-fridge with some complimentary drinks (water, soda, even a beer--they were complimentary due to the room upgrade, so I don't know if they would be complimentary for all guests) and teabags and coffee on the desk. There was also a safe deposit box in the closet.

The bathroom was modern and nice, with good water pressure in the shower. The only problem is that the shower is small, has a slippery floor, and has no rack for shampoo and conditioner (but it does have a built-in soap dispenser on the shower wall). I had to put my shampoo and conditioner bottles on the floor of the shower, which was awkward. There were no amenities (shampoo, etc.) other than a shower cap, so bring your own shampoo etc. (unless you don't mind using the soap dispenser for washing your hair).

The breakfast buffet has lots of choices but the quality varies. The pastries (croissants, etc.) were good, but the bread seemed stale one morning. The fruit seemed to be mostly canned but with some fresh fruit added. Other items included cereals, yogurt, sliced meats and cheeses, and cut-up tomatoes. There were also juices and hot drinks.

The staff is great. Everyone at reception was very friendly and helpful, and the housekeeping and breakfast staff also were nice.

The hotel has an arrangement with the Gartours company that offers several tours that include picking you up at the hotel. These tours were described in email that we received before we began our trip, and we signed up for the Vatican tour after asking the hotel staff several questions, but unfortunately we did not research reviews of Gartours and did not ask if they would take us back to the hotel after the tour--I assumed they would, and they did not. The quality of the tour was poor, and we were left to figure out (and pay for) our own way back. I don't blame the hotel for this, although I think they should make it clear in the tour descriptions that you have to get back on your own.

Overall we were happy with our stay and recommend this hotel to others. It is an especially good deal if you get the Rick Steves discount and the additional discount for paying cash.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freedshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Freedshop,

many thanks for taking the time to leave your detailed feedback following your recent stay at the Hotel Selene Roma.

I was really pleased that you enjoyed the room upgrade+ the additional discounts; as you have specified, i can confirm that only direct reservations made through our website, email or telephone, can take advantage of these opportunities.

On the other hand i am sorry to read that you did not like the tour that we recommend: we had many great feedbacks in the past hence i believe that during your tour you must have been assigned an amateur guide. It will be my care reporting it to the Gartour's agency. Moreover, since on the tour's description only the Free pick up service was mentioned, it seemed clear that the return to the hotel was not included. It is a mischance that you have only assumed it: you definitely had to ask about it to our reception staff and they would have clarified that for you.

"Feel Free To Ask" is our team's catchphrase.

Besides this episode i am very glad to understand that you have very much appreciated the overall service you received. I have passed on your kind words to our great team here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Gabriele Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Close to the main railway station was a bonus for us. Once we arrived we were greeted by the most professional of staff that were so helpful during our short visit. We were given helpful hints on how to see as much of Rome as one can on a short stay. Without this help and advice our stay would have been less productive from a sightseeing perspective. The hotel was under refurbishment during our stay but our room was excellent, clean, comfortable a quite large. We couldn’t fault anything, nor should we as our stay was truly enjoyable in all respects. Breakfast was a buffet and there was a good selection of food on offer. This is a great hotel in our opinion and one that we would return to and certainly have recommended to others that are travelling to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug-Jennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dea Doug-Jeannie,

We truly appreciate your choosing to stay with us and also your stunning review of our hotel.

As you have mentioned in your review, we are in a great location for exploring all that Rome has to offer and we are very proud of our friendly and professional staff.

Thank you very much for your lovely recommendations to other future guests; please do come and stay with us again should your future travel plans bring you to the Eternal City.

Best regards

Gabriele Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in June. All staff was very helpful (we had a LOT of questions) and friendly, our room and bathroom were clean, spacious and comfortable. Rome noises barely bothered us (not much can be done about the car horns in traffic). Breakfast was lovely - something for everyone. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amys_Hungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Amy,

thank you for taking the time to write such a great review, It is truly appreciated.

The entire staff do their best to ensure that each guest is looked after personally, so it’s good to know that you felt they contributed positively to your overall stay.

I have passed on your kind words to the front office team and I hope that you will be visiting us once again in the near future.

Kind regards

Gabriele Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Loved this boutique hotel. The newly renovated rooms were very large and comfortable. We liked the little extras in the room, kettle and packets of tea, small bar refrigerator and thick luxury towels. Staff were excellent. We liked being close to transportation and we used the Leonardo Express train both to and from the airport. Lots of restaurant and bistro options nearby. The breakfast, which was included was wonderful. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Fourth floor or higher as the breakfast room is on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Collen,

thank you very much for marvellous review.

I am very happy to read that you have had an enjoyable stay here with us and that both the service and the location were so to your satisfaction. I am especially glad that you have appreciated the complimentary amenities that we provide in our rooms: i can definitely say that not all 3 stars hotels provide such amenities, hence your definition "Boutique Hotel" suits us just fine.

Thank you very much once again, we look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Gabriele Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Selene's staff was very accommodating, the hotel clean and modernized, and even with a corner room, quiet at night. The location near enough to the train station was perfect for rolling baggage, as well as close to all city transportation---even though Rome is a walking city, if you really want to experience the full flavor. The reviewer who was negative about the breakfast must be very very hard to please indeed. I am a "breakfast person", and the selection, including hard and soft boiled eggs, bacon, toast, two juices, cheese, salami, ham, cereal, good coffee, and a variety of sweets is very hard to come by in Italian hotels at a similar price. I will definitely stay there again...as early as next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank MrTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear MrTip,

thank you for your wonderful review of the Hotel Selene Roma.

I am also very pleased to read that you appreciated the hotel's style and decoration: all our 40 rooms are now renovated and redesigned so it is always very gratifying to receive praises.

I am glad that you have enjoyed our offer for the breakfast buffet in the morning and i thank you for taking the hotel's side regarding another guest's complaint: it's a simple matter of opinions so i understand.

Thank you for the lovely recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again..."as early as next year".

Kind regards

Gabriele Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Selene for 4 nights. It's a great hotel, room was comfortable and very clean. Good selection of food at breakfast and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. I had concerns about the area around the Termini station before I stayed here based on what I had read but these were unfounded and it was a very safe area with lots of shops nearby and very close to the metro station. It's a great location and easily within walking distance of the Colosseum and many restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Lauren,

I am delighted to read such a great review.

It is such a joy to read that our team has been helpful and pleasant at every opportunity they had. I am especially pleased that you found our location convenient: you've figured it out from yourselves that we are located on the "bright side" of Termini Station, right next to the Opera House. I will certainly pass on to our wonderful housekeeping team your acknowledgement regarding our hotel's cleanliness.

The entire team and I all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Selene Roma.

Kind regards

Gabriele Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#97 of 1,258 in Rome
809 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#94 of 1,258 in Rome
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#59 of 1,258 in Rome
715 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#138 of 1,258 in Rome
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selene Style Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selene Style Hotel

Property: Selene Style Hotel
Address: Via del Viminale 8, 00184 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Selene Roma)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in Rome
#103 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#134 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Selene Style Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Selene is the perfect hotel for both leisure and business. It is located in the heart of Rome, at the crossroads of culture, history and shopping, in a privileged position very close to the following tourist sites: Piazza della Repubblica, Termini station, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Roman Forum, the Spanish Steps, Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore , Diocletian Bath, Teatro dell'Opera, dell'Esposizioni Palace, Basilica of Santa Maria degli Angeli, St. Peter in Chains, the Palazzo Venezia. Vatican City and St. Peter's Basilica can be reached in 10 minutes by using from Piazza della Repubblica the line A of Rome's Subway. Most of our 40 rooms overlook Via del Viminale or Via Principe Amedeo, two very quiet streets with little traffic. Hotel Selene Roma has recently renovated its 40 rooms: the decor of Hotel Selene Roma is simple yet elegant and classic and instantly creates a relaxing atmosphere. Book on the hotel's official website in order to get advantage of the best deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Selene Style Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selene Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing