We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny hotel-Big welcome”
Review of Selene Style Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Selene Style Hotel
Ranked #121 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Nice sized room, large marble-like bathroom, free wifi with spotty coverage in room. All this in a building with several different hotels. The Selene was on the third floor (small elevator available), but had to walk up some steps with luggage at entrance. The room was spotless, but the shower wall did not contain the water. Breakfast was in a room on the same floor, but was excellent.
The location was close to the railroad terminal, with many restaurants nearby. A 10 to 20 minute walk to the a Forum and Colosseum. I would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank fetching2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear fetching2013,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your stay at the Hotel Selene Roma.

I am glad that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us and i also would like to thank you for recommending our hotel.

I'd like to specify that we are in a beautiful, older style Italian "Palazzo" and we are actually occupying the 2nd, the 3rd and the 4th floor of our 4 floors building: this is a very common thing in Italy when travelling from centre to more south.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Gabriele Milano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Termini station where you would arrive if you take the leonardo express train from FCO. The hotel staff were very helpful and welcoming and we even had a free room upgrade which was a great start to our holiday. Breakfast was fresh with everything you would expect from a continental breakfast and free wifi. Ask at reception for any directions/suggestions. There is a bus station next to termini where the 40 or 64 will take you to the vatican for €1.50. The tube is the same cost and quickly goes to the spanish steps, trevi fountain and colosseum. Taxi's are rediculously expensive in comparison! Food is expensive everywhere but you can find sandwiches for around €3 and menu of the day for cheaper evening meals and refil water bottles with bigger bottles from a supermarket for about 33 cents. Great hotel and location that we would definitely return to :-)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank holidaylover25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear holidaylover25,

Thank you for taking the time to share your marvellous review following your recent visit.

It is wonderful to read that you found the Hotel Selene Roma to be ‘a gem’.

We are extremely proud of our staff and it is encouraging to receive such delightful feedback. I am thrilled that the team made you feel welcomed from the very beginning: we continuously strive to go beyond our guest’s expectations of service and it is always motivating to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am glad that the staff assisted with a room upgrade too. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to our team.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed the free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and our breakfast buffet in the morning.

Thank you for your positive recommendations: i am sure that other guests and Tripadvisor's users will find these extremely helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Gabriele Milano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed for 8 nights with my family in two rooms. Great location, good sized rooms, excellent breakfast and very good support from the friendly staff. Highly recommended and we would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gannets8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Gannets8,

Many thanks for taking the opportunity to share your review of your recent stay at the Hotel Selene Roma.

I am pleased to note that you found the staff to be helpful and informative and that you enjoyed our location which really works so well with 2 major subway stops literally behind the corner.

I am especially glad that you also found both the rooms to be comfortable considering your long stay with us.

Thank you very much again for your time.

Kind regards

Gabriele Milano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Second time we have stayed here. Rooms have recently been upgraded and look brilliant.

Great location, approx. 15 mins from trevi fountain etc...very safe neighbourhood too.

Breakfast is also really good considering I'd included in the price!

If we return we will use again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lewis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Lewis K,

thank you very much for posting a positive review after your second stay at us.

I am so pleased that the results of our renovation have made a positive impression on you and your family: we do strive to consistently deliver only the highest levels of guest service and to receive such praises from a returning guest is great to read.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Gabriele Milano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very nice hotel, clean and spacious room (4 beds familiy room). As a food lover, the breakfast could have been better (e.g more organic food, wholegrain healthy section as well as fresh home made cakes). I've never impressed by places serving cakes with only the laste of E-numbers :( or orange juice which is half and half water and juice - But except from the breakfast, staff was nice and hotel safe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Lena,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad to hear you were overall satisfied during your stay with us and in particular with our friendly staff and our location. Regarding breakfast, i am surprised to read your comment since we usually receive many praises; your feedback has been noted and brought up to the related department for their attention and further improvement.

Thank you again for the excellent rating.

Kind regards

Gabriele Milano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel Selene is in an excellent location close to the Termini Station, restaurants and a very good ice cream store. I came with my kids and we got a really nice modern bedroom. The staff were very attentive and helpful - giving advice on where to go and how to get there. I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Selene Roma and would also recommend it.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank stephenmaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are more than thrilled that we were able to cater to your needs while providing you top notch customer service. We strive to make every stay with us as personable and memorable in every way and we're glad you had an excellent stay.

I especially want to thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends/family.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards

Gabriele Milano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We arrived in Rome later in the day, and they had our room ready for us. We were given a map and they helped us identify all the places we wanted to go, the best bus/train lines to reach them by. It is very close to multiple bus lines, and both subway lines. The neighborhood felt a little shady at night, so it was nice that we did not have to walk far.

There was a free breakfast but we did not have any as we were in a rush in the morning, but it looked decent.

They also stored our bags for us after we checked out before we caught a train to the airport which was nice to know we did not have to carry them around with us.

This was a pretty decent hotel, friendly staff, and comfortable bed.

Room Tip: If you make the reservation from their website, they may give you a discount or free minibar privile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASchreib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_Milano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Selene Style Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear ASchreib,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are exhilarated that the location of the hotel was suitable for your stay and made it easy for you to explore and enjoy everything Rome has to offer

Moreover, it is an absolute pleasure to hear that our staff was helpful to you and provided impeccable customer service.

We hope welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards

Gabriele Milano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#93 of 1,272 in Rome
861 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#74 of 1,272 in Rome
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#108 of 1,272 in Rome
1,530 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#45 of 1,272 in Rome
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selene Style Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selene Style Hotel

Address: Via del Viminale 8/10, 00184 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Selene Roma)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Rome
#103 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#134 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £70 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Selene Style Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Selene is the perfect hotel for both leisure and business. It is located in the heart of Rome, at the crossroads of culture, history and shopping, in a privileged position very close to the following tourist sites: Piazza della Repubblica, Termini station, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Roman Forum, the Spanish Steps, Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore , Diocletian Bath, Teatro dell'Opera, dell'Esposizioni Palace, Basilica of Santa Maria degli Angeli, St. Peter in Chains, the Palazzo Venezia. Vatican City and St. Peter's Basilica can be reached in 10 minutes by using from Piazza della Repubblica the line A of Rome's Subway. Most of our 40 rooms overlook Via del Viminale or Via Principe Amedeo, two very quiet streets with little traffic. Hotel Selene Roma has recently renovated its 40 rooms: the decor of Hotel Selene Roma is simple yet elegant and classic and instantly creates a relaxing atmosphere. Book on the hotel's official website in order to get advantage of the best deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Selene Style Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selene Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing