We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect loction”
Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Virgilio
Ranked #288 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Vilnius
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect loction”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I've stayed in this hotel 2013/02/10 for 3 nights with my mother. The hotel is in a very good location. 10 min by walk to Colosseum, 10 min to Trevi. Vatican is 30-40 min by walk. One minute and you're in Via Nacionale. This street offers many bars, restaurants, shops. Termini station is also 10 min walk.
It was a good value for money,bcause we paid 160 euro for three nights with breakfast. I think it is certainly not expensive!
Breakfast was ok. Hotel is not so big, so the food offered is adequate. They offer bacon ( which was very tasty!), omelet, eggs, chees,sausages, croissants, jams, marinated fruits, cake.
The room was quite small. But as the hotels in Rome are really quite small, we didnt expect a big room. We had a room facing the courtyard, so we didnt hear any noise.
The hotel managers were friendly and helpful . They spoke very good english, so we were happy, that it was easy to talk with them ( what cant be said about other italians, even in few restaurants we had to talk by signs:))).
Towels and beddings were changed every day.
What we didnt like, there were no sound isolation inside the hotel. We heared what neighboring people were doing. People, who were in the corridor, felt like they are in our room, because we could hear every word....
All in all, i would really come back to this hotel and woul recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in last floors. At least any view could be seen from them. We lived in the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelina_Kz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    376
    178
    37
    36
See reviews for
173
370
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my husband here for 4 days. Our first trip to Rome, and this was the ideal hotel for us.

We arrived slightly earlier than check in but the room was ready. The guy at the reception was very welcoming and gave us a local map and circled all the points of interest that we wanted to see.

The hotel was clean, we were in room 108 on the ground floor, room had everything you need and a well stocked mini bar.

There was a convenience store round the corner for little bits we forgot like hair products, and the odd bottle of beer/wine and snacks.

The bed wasnt the most comfortable could feel the springs but to be honest I'm used to a memory foam so may be me being picky!

Water was hot, the room and bathroom were thoroughly cleaned every morning.

Breakfast was lovely, nice choices and filled us up until lunch.

Location is excellent. Not far from the Colosseum, Trevi fountain and termini. We walked everywhere, about 20 /30 miles the whole weekend!

Advice is to take comfy shoes as there are cobbles everywhere, don't even think about heels, waste of suitcase space!

We ha a wonderful time, saw everything we wanted to including a Lazio football match!

Would come back again, but maybe just try another hotel with a nice bar in.

To be honest though it made us explore more to find bars with good music and prices! (Expect to pay 7 euros for a beer. Ouch!!!)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lambert8776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

To be honest, we were not too sure what to expect with this hotel given its mixed reviews, the main reason my partner and I booked it was because of it's supposed perfect location, however we were pleasantly suprised.
We arrived to check in at approx 10.30am (check-in not until 14:00) to see if we could store our bags but on arrival we were told our room was ready for us to check in, everything was explained in detail including city tax (payable in cash on departure 2Euros pppn) WiFi, Breakfast, etc.
We were shown to our spotlessly clean room and shown the Safe, air conditioning/heating, Minibar (reasonably priced).
We decided to go and grab some lunch and asked at reception if there was anywhere they recommended, we were given a card with information of a local restaurant with a promotion for free drinks on arrival.
Everyday our room was made up, fresh large towels, the shower was incredible, extremely powerful and lovely and hot! The bed was very comfortable just what we needed after a long day walking around the city!
Breakfast was varied, bacon, scrambled eggs and sausages, toast, cereal, pastries and coffee/tea, fruit juices.
The location, well the location was just perfect! We walked everywhere, all over the city centre, Termini station, Colesseum, Trevi Fountain, Palazza di Quirnale, Pantheon etc however we did get a taxi to the Vatican as we went early but it only cost 11 Euros.
Overall we had a fantastic 5 days in Rome and our hotel played a massive part. So thank you to all the hotel staff members that made our stay so enjoyable......we will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank enjoyedthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed for five nights, room 138, yes requires updating and smells a bit, but overall we found it good value. Excellent location, 5 min walk to metro, 10 min walk to main terminal. 2 min walk to irish bar on the main high st just behind the hotel. Plenty of places to eat located around the hotel.
Found all the staff to be very polite and helpful, looked forward to breakfast every morning, especially the bacon rolls and scrambled eggs washed down with twinnings english tea.
if you are on a budget I am sure that you could do much worse than this place, we would stay here again if we ever decided to come back to Rome.

Room Tip: RM 138 had a strong toilet smell, didn't get the opportunity to check the other rooms. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adepritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My husband & I traveled with our 2 youngest children(13 & 15 yr. olds). As a seasoned world traveler the most important things to me are; clean room, comfortable bed, quiet, convenience,and value. We went on a long Christmas & New Year's holiday trip, 5 full days in London, 6 full days in Paris,4 full days in Rome.I had booked directly with the hotel's website because every travel website had them as booked.Make sure you get a room on the 3rd floor or above, lower floors have not been renovated yet. Close to everything, I mean really close, the American meaning of close.The staff speaks very good English and is very nice & the internet is cheap. I think we pd. 5 euros for the whole time we were there to access it. The breakfast was decent, the kids had cereal & yogurt. My husband & I had eggs & toast with tea & coffee, no fresh fruit, we purchase fresh fruit and our bottle water for our days there at the little store less than a half of block away. When u walk outside the front door take a left & a left at the corner it is rt. there. If u walk to the end of that same street u r on a main st. with a little bit of everything, upscale shops, McDonald's, & some upscale restaurants. I suggest the open top tour buses where u can get off & on as u please at attractions. Buy the 2 day pass & do not pick the cheapest one, unreliable pick -up times can be up to an hour late. Take the red one. Have Fun.

Room Tip: pick room 3rd floor & above. corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewOrleansLady_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

The stay overall at the Hotel Virgilio was good enough. The room was decent, the air conditioning worked, and breakfast was quite tasty. But the internet access cost 5 euro for the 2 days we were there and one of the hosts was quite rude to us. The other host, however, was quite plesant and helpful. I wish we could have dealt with him more. I guess the true measure of a hotel stay is whether you would stay there again, and the answer for me is yes, I would stay at this hotel again. It is centrallay located in Rome and is with in walking distance of most of the major attractions in Rome (Or all, depending on how much you like to walk). It's good location and acceptable service and ammenties make this a place I would stay again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank seanmcahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and our experience was very good. Mr. Rapheal, who was at the reception during evenings, helped us find the best Italian restaurants close-by, which brought the perfect end to our tiring days. The room was pretty neat and comfortable. The hotel's location is excellent - 7mins walk to Termini stn. The staff was very kind and helpful and we would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anubha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#212 of 1,256 in Rome
529 reviews
Trevi
Hiberia Hotel
Hiberia Hotel
#208 of 1,256 in Rome
1,030 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#209 of 1,256 in Rome
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#347 of 1,256 in Rome
978 reviews
Monti
Hotel Galatea
Hotel Galatea
#520 of 1,256 in Rome
511 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#113 of 1,256 in Rome
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Property: Hotel Virgilio
Address: Via Palermo 30, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Virgilio 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing