We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location,and spotless”
Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Virgilio
Ranked #289 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“perfect location,and spotless”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had a short break with my son,staff were lovely,room small but all that we needed,and great loction for sights and train/bus station-couldnt connect to wi-fi though;!Wasnt a problem,I didnt go away for that

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    376
    178
    37
    36
See reviews for
173
370
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in February with my husband and in-laws. Very central, short walk to the colloseum etc, very close to bus stops and metro (this has to be seen to be believed in rush hour). Hotel is spotlessly clean, beds are comfy, breakfast is adequate. Is exactly as advertised. Hotel bar wasnt open when we were there but an excellent bar on via national is only 5 mins walk away. Would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank juliemoynihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cei Connah
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Fortunately i didn’t pay for my room here and used some of my Avios as a 'reward'. I certainly would of been disappointed if i had paid, the rooms were tiny and we were given a room on the bottom floor literally on a street level with two single beds.

I've never been to prison but i imagine they and Virgilios use the same be supplier, my partner suggested we'd better off lying our mattresses on the floor they were that bad.

That being said its in a brilliant location and the breakfast was surprisingly good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnAPlaneTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The location is great. Rooms are not bad. Though, for the value, it's not remarkable at all. You could get the same quality for less money in Rome (a friend of mine did - Hotel Nizza nearby).
Wi-fi connectivity was just awful (some kind of stupid code needed to be fulfilled every time I tried to connect). However, to be just, I have to say that it's a problem in all the city. I guess IT is not the strong side of the italians.
Service was only great on the first day on my stay. Then the cheerful and helpful administrator was replaced by the one who was not that helpful and not at all cheerful. It seemed like I bothered him with my questions.

Yes, there were noisy nights, though that really didn't bother me. It wasn't that bad.
Still, the experience was average and I would definitely not be back in this hotel on my next stay in Rome.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akulnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in April 2013 and enjoyed our stay here. Comfy clean rooms, excellent location with walking distance to all major attractions. Breakfast was nice and staff were friendly. Only annoying thing was they did not have the room we booked so we were upgraded for 1 night, which is good but having to pack all our stuff up to be moved the next day was a bit of a pain. But would definitely stay here again!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location and only a 15 min casual walk from both the Colosseum and Trevi Fountain, its about 15 mins from the main terminal which is great for using the metro system.

The hotel itself was clean and fairly big.The Staff were friendly and helpful, for the price it was great.

After all we only needed somewhere to sleep, the rest of the time we were out exploring Rome

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D4v1d33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is that it is very close to the city center....though I would recommend other neighborhoods to stay like Piazza Navona, Piazza di Spania, Campo de' Fiori and that area.
This hotel is so nosy....you can hear everything...the water running in the pipes, the other people sneezing in the room next to you, when someone is waling on the corridor...
The cleaning lady starts to vacuum around 7 a.m. so she wakes you up!!!
We stayed for 6 nights there and we could not reast. The pillows and the bed were horrible. It seemed like you were sleeping on rocks.
The breakfast was so bad that we only eat 3 mornings at the hotel...everyday the same food and no variety....egs, omlette, salami, one type of cheese, milk, cereals, yougurt and kinda that was it....no vegetables, no cheese...
The staff was very nice. The rooms were clean, the cleaning lady changed the towels everyday... but the rooms are so small....you don't have place for the luggage, the hairdrier was broke, the view was in a backyard of a block...
Compared to other 3 star hotel this one was cheaper when we booked, but if we would have known the conditions we would have chosen another one.

Room Tip: there are not such a thing like good rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise_Crisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#223 of 1,256 in Rome
529 reviews
Trevi
Hiberia Hotel
Hiberia Hotel
#210 of 1,256 in Rome
1,030 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#211 of 1,256 in Rome
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#347 of 1,256 in Rome
978 reviews
Monti
Hotel Galatea
Hotel Galatea
#534 of 1,256 in Rome
512 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#114 of 1,256 in Rome
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Property: Hotel Virgilio
Address: Via Palermo 30, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Virgilio 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing