We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First-time in Rome” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Zara
Ranked #1,041 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First-time in Rome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very basic but ideally situated to see all the sites. Can be a little noisy but it is a busy city so no surprise. Breakfast was Italian style lots of sweet pastries and cake but cereals and plain rolls and one choice of cheese! Plenty of coffees and teas to choose from also choice of juices so your set up with a meal to fuel you for all that walking as there's archaeology everywhere you look. The staff were very helpful advice on which buses and metro routes to use.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gillndash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    91
    124
    74
    84
See reviews for
61
159
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We (my partner and I) stayed here for 7 nights at the beginning of march 2014. We were quite apprehensive as we had seen some unfavorable reviews before we went. However, the staff were all friendly, helpful and polite. The room was a good size, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The shower/bathroom definitely could have done with some TLC, but it worked and did the job. (Getting fed up with people wanting to pay for 2 star but expecting 5 star service and complaining when the two don't marry up). The hotel is really well placed and we were able to walk to all the main sights (but the main tourist bus routes all have stops very close by); pantheon, St Peters etc and it is really handy for Termini station.
The breakfast is plentiful and there is a good choice of pastry's only two types of cereal but I didn't mind as I don't eat cereal, and the coffee is very good. The room we had was at the front of the hotel and was one of the quieter rooms we have had in Europe! No problems sleeping. We liked the fact that there was always someone on the desk and the security appeared good. The door to the hotel was locked when the person on the desk had to nip to the toilet and they had no cover, we didn't mind waiting a couple of minutes if it meant people couldn't casually stroll in off the street.
For the price very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We choose this hotel solely for the position....walking distance to all attractions except maybe the Vatican. Our room was adequate but the bathroom was ridiculously small, the shower curtain had to be wrapped up out of the way just to use the sink, in fact while showering too! It was a wet room and didn't drain well plus there was nothing to dry the floor so you traipsed water everywhere, not great! Breakfast was what you would expect, croissants, cakes, bread and cheese, couple of cereals, coffee machine and juice. They had small packets of biscuits that were good to take for a mid morning snack! All in all good for price and excellent for location.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

After reading all the bad reviews of this hotel l feared the worse, but the only negative I noticed was that the rooms do look a bit "tired" and a small refurb would transform this hotel. On the positive side the staff were very friendly and helpful,the Room was clean warm and comfortable,breakfast was more than adequate,free WiFi in the TV room,at the rate they charge I think it is great value,and the location is brilliant

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TONY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I was worried about the hotel reviews I had read but I would say that it was warm, clean and quiet in the room we had. furnishings and decorations a little old and worn but this did not detract from our stay. The price and location were excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. do not expect luxury but this hotel was well worth the price and we were not disappointed with our stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor at back of hotel and was very quiet but we had to walk up the last fli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canoas, RS
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Very Good hotel, with nice rooms, a good coffee.
We rested there for just one night but it was enough to recognize that this hotel should be recommended
Maybe if we return together to Roma we'll stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCA_SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Very good location in the centre. Close to nearby places of interest, museums, Termini train/bus station. Friendly staff speaking decent english. Good nearby places for food and drinks. My room was smaller than I expected. It was a bit humid and my bathroom was a reconstructed terrace :) Complimentary toiletries were only a small soap bar and a one-time shampoo.The elevator goes to 3rd floor only and I had to take the stairs with my suitcase to get to my room on the 4th floor. Breakfast was only croissants, muesli, bread and jam. No WiFi.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the 4th floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desislav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Augustea
Hotel Augustea
#648 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Monti
Hotel St. Moritz
Hotel St. Moritz
#682 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Monti
Hotel Galatea
Hotel Galatea
#462 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Patria
Hotel Patria
#603 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Monti
Esposizione Hotel
Esposizione Hotel
#724 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Elide
Hotel Elide
#559 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zara

Property: Hotel Zara
Address: Via delle Quattro Fontane 37, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,041 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Zara 1*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of Rome city on the National Street (Via Nazionale) there is a place where the ancient culture and modernity mingles together, Hotel Zara, family owned, completely renovated antique palace which is noted for its nearness to the Termini station, Coloseum, Metro (subway) A&B, Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, Via Veneto, Piazza Venezia, President's Palace (Quirinale). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Zara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zara Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing