We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Glori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Glori Hotel
Ranked #238 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2008

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It is an ideal place to base oneself in Rome. The neighbourhood is so quiet unlike many of the typical tourist hotels in the city centre.

The rooms are spotless and have all modern facilities including Sky TV.

The breakfast is excellent compared to what is often served on the continent.

All the staff were excellent and most had an excellent command of english.

Again I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Liked — The quiet peaceful neighbourhood, the decor and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — I liked everything!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ComeVisitIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    357
    87
    23
    25
See reviews for
104
325
45
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2008

We have just come back from a 4 night trip to Rome staying at the Villa Glori. We were there to celebrate my Mothers 70th Birthday. We booked through Easyjet and Hotelopia having first checked reviews on Trip Advisor. What a brilliant hotel! Spotlessly clean - really outstanding! Loads of mirrors and chrome fitting all gleaming and shiney. Comfortable beds with crisp sheets that were changed after 2 nights. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful and because of the hotels location on a pedestrian side street so quiet for a city hotel.

Access to the sites is via the no2 tram line around the corner on the main viale Flaminio. Never waited more than about 2 minutes. After 4 stops you can then link into the metro or just stroll across the Piazza del Popolo and onto the Via Del Corso for shops, Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain.

The buffet breakfast was very pleasant, fresh bread and warm croissant, tea, coffee, ham, salami, cheese, yoghurts etc. The room was a bit stuffy (It was feb and the air con was not switched on although the facility was there. In warmer weather the room might not be so hot) and did not look out on anything but was nicely presented.

The hotel does not have a restaurant or room service or that kind of thing but the rooms themselves, although not enormous, are definately of a 4 star standard. Air conditioned, flat screen TV, BBC world and CNN plus a movie viewing option that we didn't explore, mini bar (plenty of room for your own water/wine etc), safe (no charge), lovely soft towels and basic toiletries, laminate wooden floors (great for allergy sufferers I should think) all, as I have already mentioned, presented spotlessly.

We reviewed many hotels in the budget to medium price bracket on Trip Advisor before making our selection, lots were around the Termini (Main railway station) area and many of the reviews talk of tired fittings, stained carpets and surley staff. Although the Termini is more central it is a busy, crowded and noisy area. The Quiet suberb where to Villa Glori is situated seemed to us to be the perfect place to unwind and recover after each days busy siteseeing schedual. We also found the local restaurants to be great. Friendly and unpretentious, packed out with local Roman patrons. Trentino's a couple of stops further out on the tram in the Piazza Mancini was a particular hit. Having typed the name of the restaurant I am not sure thats the right name. I will edit later if it isn't!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank colesent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

Our first time in Rome and we booked through a site that reserved plane, hotel, train tickets, and transfers for a 9-day tour of Rome, Florence, and Venice. This hotel was located near the tram that takes you directly to the Piazza Popolo, and from there you can get anywhere in Rome, either on foot or by subway. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was neat, clean and adequate in size. In the summer it would have been wonderful to use the large patio with table and chairs outside the French doors of our room. The bed was very hard, and the pillows very flat. The breakfast was fine, but no hot choices such as eggs, etc.
We would have liked more places to eat in the immediate neighborhood for convenience. the two restaurants nearby were open/closed at their own convenience, and there were no markets open close by either. Overall we liked the hotel, but not sure if we would choose it again.

  • Liked — quiet neighborhood, friendly staff
  • Disliked — hard bed and flat pillow, cold coffe in breakfast room, no nearby markets
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adelaidetaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2007

Since this was our first time to Rome, we didn't understand how important location is. Villa Glori is a bit away from the center of Rome and its accompanying noise and traffic. It is small and lovely, and most of all, quiet! If you would like a respite from the crazy crowds and traffic, this could be it. Rooms are very clean and the staff very friendly. The only problem we had in this hotel and two others in Italy was in receiving poor directions! My advice would be to get a really good map and make sure you know where you are going and how you will get there.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Location double edged sword and it did require transportation to sights.
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dslizews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2007

We stayed four nights at the Villa Glori before carrying on to Sorrento. It was a lovely hotel, although our room (211) was very small, not much room at all to hang up clothes. But it was very clean and the breakfast was adequate, just continental. It was a bit of a way out of the centre of Rome. We walked everywhere, but at the end of the day we just got on the No. 2 tram at Popolo/Flaminio for 3 or 4 stops. The hotel reception staff were very nice, except one girl who was a bit miserable, and not very polite. We ate at a couple of typically Italian resturants, very close to the hotel, which were lovely, and probably much cheaper than in the centre. All in all, we loved our stay, and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Joan&Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2007

This hotel was a sigh of relief after a long trip. It was clean, well kept and the staff was VERY friendly. There was even an enclosed shower (the first on our trip!) which was great. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and they even had CNN (after 2 weeks it was nice to hear some English and see what was going on at home). This hotel is somewhat off the beaten path it was nice to get away from the hustle of the big city. It was very easy to walk to the tram (an above ground trolley - similar to the green line in Boston) and in 5 minutes you were into the main city. From there is was easy to walk or take the subway anywhere you wanted to go. I was definitely stay here again. On a side note - i do NOT recommend the bus tour they use (Green line). We took their Rome by Night tour and it was terrible. Half of it was before the sun even went down, the tour guide was terrible and the bus drive was so crazy I thought we were going to crash!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrittenour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2007

Stayed at Villa Glori on May for a few days.

Booked Villa Glori on the basis of tripadvisor rating and price and my expectation was exceeded.

It's a well run, clean little place which is in a suburb about 10 minutes out of Rome central when you grab the tram.

As it turns out, that is probably a good thing because you wind up going to the local deli, chemist etc and that gives you a little feel for how the Romans live their daily lives.

The only negative was that it took some finding in my rental car because it is a bit out of the way.

Would recommend in the mid range price point.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SteveWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
BEST WESTERN Hotel Astrid
BEST WESTERN Hotel Astrid
#258 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Degli Aranci
Hotel Degli Aranci
#286 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Flaminio
Residence Sacconi
Residence Sacconi
#937 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
#252 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
River Chateau Hotel
#327 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Parioli
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#136 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Glori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Glori Hotel

Property: Villa Glori Hotel
Address: Via Bernardo Celentano 11, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Flaminio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#140 Family Hotel in Rome
#314 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Glori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Villa Glori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing