We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price, definitely not 4 stars.”
Review of Villa Glori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Glori Hotel
Ranked #228 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, great price, definitely not 4 stars.”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a recent trip to rome.
I loved the location! So close to the piazza di popolo, which is basically a stroll away from the Spanish steps and trevi fountain, or two subway stops. And at the same time in a quiet area.
The hotel itself was alright. Everything about the rooms being tiny is true and we didn't even have one of the smaller ones. We spent one week here and I'm happy to say the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. I would recommend asking for a second set of pillows though. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment but the coffee was fine. I can honestly say however that this was by no stretch a 4star hotel. It would be very generous to give it 3.
But it was clean with helpful and friendly staff in a great location, short streetcar ride from the piazza and then a 1 minute
walk and also the price was phenomenal!
I would say if you don't plan on spending any time in the hotel itself and are just looking for a place to sleep in a nice safe area this would be a good choice. If you are looking for a Luxury stay or even just a hotel where you can enjoy some drinks at the bar or a good meal without having to go out again after a long day of running around please look
elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lbrami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    367
    94
    25
    25
See reviews for
115
343
49
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Check-in Problem:
We booked 3 months in advance for husbands birthday and requested this stay to be special. On arrival 7.30pm, we were tired and wanted to check-in. However there had been some problems at the hotel and we were asked if we wanted to be transferred to another hotel (further out) or wait for an hour whilst they sort out a room for us.

We decided to wait and went for a meal locally for an hour - After an hour, the room was still not ready, however the receptionist Nicholas did try his best to resolve the issue and issued us with a complimentary cup of tea, wi-fi codes and a discounted return airport transfer. When we checked in at 9pm; the room we got was EXTREMELY small!! But we were assured that we would get a new room the following day - which we did, but it wasn't that much bigger.

Unfortunately this started our weekend on a negative - especially when they had been notified of the special occasion 3 months in advance and acknowledged via email that they would do everything to make our day memorable. In terms of the hotel staff making my husbands birthday special - no real effort was made at all which was quite disappointing.

PRO's:
- cute decor and very clean
- nice neighbourhood
- near a tram stop that takes you straight into Piazza del Popolo in approx. 5mins (if you walked, it is about 15-20mins)
- Few local restaurants to choose from
- Free wi-fi
- Friendly staff (Francesca, Nicholas and Pascal)
- Emails were being responded to prior to arriving

CON's:
- Small rooms
- Not very centrally located (you have to plan your day around this)
- Neighbourhood is very quiet on a Sunday
- No food/restaurant on site at the hotel - only drinks available on site
- Breakfast room is quite small - so we often found ourselves waiting on a table
- Breakfast served until 10am, however when we got there at 9.30am, all the food had run out, again we found ourselves waiting about for them to replenish (only 1 waiter was working at breakfast time)
- Noise from neighbouring rooms, showers, furniture moving etc
- No excursions/trip advice offered

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms - preferably the ones with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week in August 2013 and we were pleasantly surprised. Driving from the airport we passed through some very sketchy looking neighborhoods in Rome and I kept hoping the hotel would not be located in one of the. luckily it was not. We arrived early and our room was not yet ready but we were accommodated in room107 which I can only describe as the smallest room in the world....it was tiny even by New York standards. However, the next morning we were assured that our luggage would be moved to a much more comfortable room while we were out sight seeing and they were true to their word. We enjoyed staying in this lovely, quiet neighborhood and found it to be quite safe, there were some night we got back at 11pm and felt very safe walking from the tram. There is a tram that is about a thirty seconds walk from the hotel, which we took daily and reached the in 8 mins to the gates of old city Rome where we visited the Spanish steps, Trevi fountains and other historical attractions. Staying at this hotel gave us the best of both world, we could dine with locals and get the feel of what it is like to live in a nice quiet Roman neighborhood and venture out to the loud busy city center to sight see. Finally the restaurant across the street was excellent, great food and service without the tourist price our bill averaged $35-47 we ate there at least 4 nights. Over all we would loved this little boutique hotel and would stay here again, the rooms are a bit on the small side but very clean, and nicely decorated, service was warm, and breakfast was sufficient.
.Stay here you will not regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nicely situated and charming. It is about 30min walking distance from the center. Most importantly, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They make you feel welcome and at home the moment you enter the hotel. Very recommendable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LSSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glori Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear "LSSP",
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay and to have chosen our "Villa Glori" for your stay in Rome!
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our breakfast, staff and cleanliness of the room.
Regarding the location, as you mentioned, I would like to underline that the Hotel is just 15 min walking distance from Piazza Del Popolo, the main centre of Rome , but is an oasis of peace after a long day in the crowded and bustling city Centre, with a good value for money.
Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and I hope to see you at the Villa Glori Htl again in the future.
I remain at complete disposal
With best regards,
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed here own my own, and overall I found it a very pleasant hotel. It is a little out of the centre but very easy to travel to using the number 2 tram as there is a stop just at the end of the road. All the staff were pleasant and helpful and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. In the evenings there are some local pizzerias across the road and a little supermarket for snacks. Although small rooms it did not matter as Rome is for sightseeing and so I was hardly in it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glori Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear "Mirbaby",
Thank you for your beautiful review of Villa Glori and happy to read that you had a wonderful holiday with us:)
I am delighted to read such a gleaming report of our Hotel, service, comfort and cleanliness.
I have passed on your kind words to all the team here at the hotel and I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our excellent service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.
With best regards and with renewed thanks.
Sincerely
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hotel is very well located (tram to Flaminia is very near), the staff is always eager to help. The room is small but very well decorated and adequate for those that do not expend a long time in it. Breakfast is not so good as it could be.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cris_magalhaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glori Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear "cris_magalhaes",
Thank you very much for positive feedback and for your nice review!
I'm very glad to know that you loved the" Villa Glori Htl" especially for our Staff, Decoration of our room. I was pleased that you liked the excellent service and I have passed on your kind words.
It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.
We hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.
With best regards,
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel was perfect for our trip to Rome. Just a short trip by tram to the Piazza del Popolo and then you are able to walk to all the main sights. Yes the Rooms are compact but they are more than adequate and ours was spotlessly clean. Fresh towels daily and it certainly appeared that we were given new pillow cases on a daily basis. The breakfast was plentiful and the scrambled egg was the best we had tasted in a hotel. All of the staff we came into contact with were very helpful and friendly. Special mention to Barbara, Nicholas and Alessio who kept us right with helpful hints and advice. The free internet was much appreciated and having a room on first floor was great as after all our walking it was a relief to just walk up a few stairs and we were there. Slept very well with no noise and bed was very comfortable. I did ask for a blanket as I like to be really cosy and this was very quickly brought to our room.
If coming to Rome again we would not hesitate to come back to the Villa Glori.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glori Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear "aliprior"
Thank you very much for your review in which you drew our attention about your experience during your recent stay.
I’m very glad to learn that you had a fantastic stay in our hotel and learn your appreciation about the staff.
I have shared your comment with my whole team (especially Alessio, Barbara and Nicholas) as you have mentioned their excellent service. We are very much grateful for your compliments!
It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.
Don't hesitate to contact me for your next trip in Rome or if you need assistance for friends and family!
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Villa Glori again in the future.
With best regards,
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#247 of 1,261 in Rome
671 reviews
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
#262 of 1,261 in Rome
890 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Degli Aranci
Hotel Degli Aranci
#287 of 1,261 in Rome
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flaminio
Residence Sacconi
Residence Sacconi
#816 of 1,261 in Rome
61 reviews
Hotel Clodio
#472 of 1,261 in Rome
404 reviews
River Chateau Hotel
#311 of 1,261 in Rome
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Glori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Glori Hotel

Property: Villa Glori Hotel
Address: Via Bernardo Celentano 11, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Flaminio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#129 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#140 Family Hotel in Rome
#314 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Glori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Glori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing