We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, disgusting hotel, poor management” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trinita Dei Monti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trinita Dei Monti
Ranked #1,124 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location, disgusting hotel, poor management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

This was my third trip to Rome, and my first and last stay at this dump. The only good thing I can say is that its location was good...right near the Spanish Steps. After that, it's all downhill. The wallpaper was pealing off the walls in the hallways and rooms. The hall rugs looked as if they had never been cleaned, and the hallways were filled with cigarette smoke which came from the stair landing where the employees were enjoying their cigarettes. The first room we were given was dismal and overlooked a huge light well. We asked for our room to be changed, and they gave us a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the street. The bathroom was small...you could sit on the "john" and brush your teeth at the same time. The shower was small and covered in mold. (I've traveled to third world countries that had less mold in their bathrooms.) I told the man at the desk the next day and they said they would take care of it. The next day our room smelled like bleach, however, the mold remained. I took a towel, rubbed some of the mold off the wall and brought it to the front desk. I told them they had to scrub the wall to get rid of it. How difficult was this to figure out? The next day the cleaning person made a feeble attempt at scrubbing, but no measurable improvement could be seen. My empirical impression is that management does not have a handle on how its hotel is being run, and there is no oversight by the present employees to ensure that the hotel is being run properly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glogig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    46
    49
    38
    74
See reviews for
59
61
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

This is a 1/2 star hotel at best. Our room smelled of mold and was not livable. We had to goto another hotel but of course Trinita would give us no refund or cared that we left. Stay away....stay very far away. Location is good by not worth developing a disease caused by the mold. I would not recommend this hotel to my enemies.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahrshtace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

This place is dreary and ultimately dis-honest given the actual state of this "hotel" vs. the website pictures. I would classify it as sub-par pensione. One room had questionable odor, other room had serious mold on ceiling, bathroom had no soap. One room (quiet!) opened to airshaft with abandoned toilets and other trash littering the base. Staff couldn't have been nicer; but we still had to pay for a night even though we did not stay.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

Stay away from this hotel. Despite booking a twin room we were forced to accept a double room because there was nothing else on offer that night. A grubby plastic key opened a room without a number on the door. The room had an overpowering smell of damp which you needed to accustom yourself to every time you re-entered. The wallpaper was peeling and a wardrobe was moved in an attempt to hide this fact. It was an altogether dreadful room for which we had to pay an extortionate £180 per night for the privilege.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

We booked this hotel www.hoteltrinitadeimontihotel.com through the Greek Travel Agency Manessis www.manessistravel.gr. from Oct.2-5, 2009.
We were told that this is a "better" category 3 hotel in Rome in a cenral location. The centrality was the only true fact about the hotel. The air-conditioner did not work and the room overlooked a court filled with trash and a couple of old used toilet bowls. They moved us to another room, room 206, on the second floor, with a narrow bath tub. The tub floor was curved so that both my wife and I fell twice, fortunately with no accident. The air-conditioning did not work there either, but the weather got cooler so we did not need it. However the street noise was unbearable so we had to sleep with the windows completely shut. The plug in the bathroom was non-functional, the TV controller had a battery missing and the telephone worked erratically. We had booked a room with twin beds, but they gave us a double bed and a cot instead. And the pictures on their website are totally misleading. The view is not that of the Spanish steps but of a narrow noisy street, Via Sistina. In other words, it ruined our vacation.
To add insult to injury, Manessis charged us more than 200 euro per night for this hotel, when comparable hotels - as we found out later - listed for about 120 euro per night.
In conclusion Avoid Manessis and this hotel, and, if you can, make your own online reservations. This Greek travel agency was very disappointing and provided ver little help. They could not even provide a rudimentary map of Rome, but gave us instead an almost unreadable xerox copy of their map.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank investor314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monti98, Proprietario at Trinita Dei Monti, responded to this review, 14 April 2010
Google Translation
Siamo molto spiacenti quando sentiamo di dei clienti che hanno ricevuto informazioni "errate" riguardo la nostra struttura da agenzie o da terzi.Possiamo solo dire che siamo un hotel tre stelle al centro di Roma e non abbiamo mai preteso l'affermazione di godere di una vista su P.zza di Spagna (da nessuna parte da noi è mai stata fatta un'affermazione del genere) come molti sanno( c'è solo un hotel che gode di una vista sulla scalinata di p.zza di Spagna - ed è un hotel di 5stelle lusso. Ci dispiace tantissimo dell'informazione non esatta e ingannevole data al cliente ma noi purtroppo non abbiamo nessun potere su informazioni errate e non corrispondenti dalle agenzie ai nostri clienti.
Per quanto riguarda lo stato delle nostre camere e il cortile sul quale si affacciano le stesse, stiamo facendo dei lavori di ristrutturazione e abbellimento, che stiamo terminando questi ultimi giorni, in più stiamo facendo un controllo generale delle nostre camere e il funzionamento di tutte le nostre amenities .Per quanto riguarda malfunzionameti della nostra aria condizionat,tv e telefono finora non abbiamo mai avuto "lamentele" riguardanti queste ultime.
Il nostro albergo , Hotel Trinità Dei Monti ha 24 camere la metà delle quali si affacciano su una delle più belle e renominate via del centro storico di Roma, e solamente in certi orari si può sentire un leggero rumore del resto del tutto normale essendo una via su cui possono transitare le macchine con accesso al centro storico. D'altra parte la nostra posizione strategica e superba ci permette di essere uno degli hotel più preferiti del centro storico di Roma .
Come sempre ringraziamo nuovamente per ogni recensione posta dai nostri clienti, apprezzatissima da noi poichè questa ci fa crescere e cercare sempre di migliore, essendo questo uno dei nostri obiettivi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

When we left after the second night, the "technician" still had not fixed their connection and they were still insisting we use a bank machine to bring "cash"! Naturally we declined to accept a policy absent from their internet site, and documented our experience to guard against improper debiting of our credit card.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palinure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

room ok 3 sharing 3 beds requested and recieved. room was cold but very quiet so slept like babies!! desk staff very helpful with planning our day, also gave us good advice on where to eat. dinning room staff also very friendly. location was excellent, near the metro and also central enough to walk everywhere!! would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myraom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Elite Hotel
#426 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#70 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#240 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Esposizione Hotel
Esposizione Hotel
#735 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Colonna
King Hotel
King Hotel
#718 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#307 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinita Dei Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinita Dei Monti

Property: Trinita Dei Monti
Address: Via Sistina 91, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,124 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trinita Dei Monti 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Trinita Dei Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinita Dei Monti Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing