We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Select Garden
Ranked #562 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights during March 2014. The hotel had been recently been refurbished and our room 338 although small was excellent. The bed was huge, two singles joined together, and the quality of the fittings and finish in the shower room was fantastic equal to any 4star hotel. There was a flat screen TV, fast free WiFi and a fridge mini-bar. There was also air-con in the room but we didn't need to use it. The window overlooked the garden and lemon tree. The buffet breakfast was served in the basement which had also recently been redecorated. In the summer we understand that breakfast is served in the courtyard garden which is unusual for the centre of Rome. The buffet breakfast was very good with bread, rolls, ham, cheese, salami, croissants, selection of cake, jams, chocolate spread, cereals, selection of yoghurts, prunes and tinned fruit salad with coffee, tea, hot chocolate and fruit juice to drink. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Milena who served the breakfast, she gave us tour hints, directions and bus numbers - a great help! She also offered to make "real Italian cappuccino coffee" rather that the stuff from the machine! It was delicious!! The hotel is well placed being only 5 minutes walk from Termini station, the bus station, lines A & B on the Metro and where the airport coaches drop off. It's not very salubrious around the actual station, it never is in any city, but the hotel is in a quiet road we were never disturbed by noise. All in all a fantastic budget hotel. We feel that earlier negative reviews must have been before the refurbishment. Although there is not a safe in the room, the reception staff are more than happy to put your valuables in an envelope and put it in the hotel safe. Be realistic and remember if you choose a 3* hotel do not expect 5* facilities!!!! It's our third trip to Rome, it's a beautiful city........ But do beware of pickpockets! Keep your purses, phones and wallets safe!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    148
    59
    16
    11
See reviews for
64
132
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Convenient location to Termini station. Breakfasts were okay. The lady was very nice serving breakfast.

The room was so small and no window. Do not stay in the room on 1st floor. It's small, noisy and no air. The bathroom was very small and old.

Service was very good for breakfast.

Reception service was okay, there was an old man at the reception desk.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on 1st floor. Make sure get a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Totoro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Situated a few minutes from Termini, rail, metro and bus station. Warm welcome , clean room. It was a small room which is probably typical of hotels in this area. I slept well, my wife thought the bed was uncomfortable . Breakfast is continental with bread meats cheese, cereals pastries cakes. The lady in the breakfast room brings you cappucinos with real pleasure. Ladies , bring your own hairdrier, my wife reckons the hotel one is "pathetic". Bus x40 is the one that gets you to the Vatican

Room Tip: 228 has a balcony and overlooks the garden/ courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tohaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel was a five minute walk from Termini station and couldn't have been placed better. We received nothing but excellent, friendly service,the breakfasts were always delicious and the room was cleaned every day. The room was on the small side but as we only planned to sleep there it was perfect. The bathroom was really good with a large shower, heated floor, heated towel rail and a hairdryer provided as well. If I was coming back to Rome I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ker1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights with our two year old son. The hotel is clean enough, the staff is friendly and the location is good if you want to be close to Termini. If we go back to Rome we would probably stay a bit closer to the historical center though. We lived on the top floor in a minimal, but OK, room. The hotel doesn't have any lift so be prepared to climb a lot of stairs. Our room was quiet and we slept well even on New Years Eve. If you don't like cakes and croissants in the morning the breakfast isn't very good. Our last morning (January 1) a nice woman offered us a lovely cup of capuccino instead of their regular coffee from machine. In the area there are a few good restaurants.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank IdaLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Four of us stayed in two rooms with three beds. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from main rail station. It is easy to walk to many key locations, there are good restaurants nearby and the Metro is close. When we arrived we thought we were too early as our friends were shown to a door by the reception that looked like a locker room. It was their room. Ours was the other side of reception. We were on the front and it was noisy. Our friends (in a smaller room - same cost) complained they could hear the reception noise as there was a large hole in the ceiling of their room. In fairness over the next three days we settled in to clean accommodation. We had a bath and shower. The hotel seemed accurately rated. I was concerned to see one guest with mobility issues trying to negotiate the stairs, of which there are many. Breakfast was continental and a very pleasant lady helped out with delivering coffees. Best is its location and staff. Would go again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel was a great find really centrally located, short walk to the Termini train station and close to the Metro and bus station. Rooms were quite small but very clean and had everything we required, staff were helpful and very friendly, breakfast (included in the price) was a usual continental breakfast but all fresh. Our room was situated at the back of the hotel next to a small garden patio where you could sit and relax in the sun, we weren't bothered by any excess noise or other residents. Would definitely stay here again, if your looking for somewhere clean, quiet, well located and reasonably priced we'd definitely recommend :-)

Room Tip: We chose a garden room but didn't look at the ones upstairs so couldn't comment on those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lins574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Astoria Garden
Astoria Garden
#378 of 1,257 in Rome
664 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Domus Praetoria
Hotel Domus Praetoria
#407 of 1,257 in Rome
759 reviews
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#374 of 1,257 in Rome
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Galileo
Hotel Galileo
#326 of 1,257 in Rome
499 reviews
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#213 of 1,257 in Rome
827 reviews
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#337 of 1,257 in Rome
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Select Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Select Garden

Property: Hotel Select Garden
Address: Via Vittorio Bachelet 6, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #562 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Select Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Select Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing