We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home in Rome Italy”
Review of Rose Garden Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rose Garden Palace
Ranked #78 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My home away from home in Rome Italy”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Wonderful hotel. Cannot say enough about it. Great location, great rooms that are quiet and well furnished and the staff!!!!! Well, they cannot do enough for us when we go there. This remains one of my favorite hotels in Rome and the one we have been useing now for years. I have no plans on changing that any time soon!
Compliments to Carmen, Barbara, Marco, Max, the bar and restaurant staff, the housekeeping staff and the general manager! All very nice folks and as I have read in other reviews, the staff makes the hotel experience!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chetan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    295
    53
    16
    8
See reviews for
211
446
36
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights, we were greeted by a bottle of champagne in out room . Loved it, would love to go back again. From the minuite we stepped inside we recieved great service. All the staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English putting me to shame with my terrible attempts at Italian.
We stayed in room 503 which has great views, our room and the Hotel was always very clean. Breakfast was very pleasant with an option to sit outside, the staff happy to get anything that wasn't on show at the buffet. We asked at reception for places they recomended for dinner, always happy to help when asked. Infact we asked reception a lot of questions about various places and always with great English they helped us.
We found the Hotel location fantastic, we got a taxi to the Vatican museum and another day to The Colosseum, not that either couldn't be walked and indeed we walked back from both. It was only 7 euro to either and it suited us with the heat and early pre-booked tours to get taxi's. About a 30 min easy walk to either of these with much to take in on the way. The Spanish steps are literally just down the road, about 5-6min walk with many lovely restaurants and cafes(Caffe Leonardo), another 5 minuites on again to the Trevi Fountain. We found so much in fact all of what we had time to see within walking distance.
The Hotel has a small whirlpool pool in the basement, so nice to get in and unwind after a long hot day sightseeing, really sweet for couples (not a family pool), i could see many dangers for kids in it, ledges etc. It is set out like a Roman Bath with a big ledge half way down all round the pool, the whirlpool jets are quite strong for kids i would think. Great to sit in and chat and chill out though, we loved it and never saw anyone else in it, like having our own private pool!
I can't find anything at all to complain about with this Hotel and have travelled a lot, can't wait to go back one day. Fantastic holiday, fantastic Hotel, fantastic staff.

Room Tip: High floor, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 58HelenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We were looking forward to this stay prior to moving on to Sorrento and it was our 3rd 4star hotel on this trip. Located across form the American embassy, and only a 15 minute walk from the Spanish steps, the staff was pleasant as to be expected but if your english only speaking, a challange. Not much more then get you in the hotel and get you out. A 20% off coupon for their restraunt helped curve the cost of eatting in that evening. Prices were a bit more steep then expected (about 22 euro per plate average) and a bottle of water at 7 euro. Restraunt staff was excellent!!! Only thing that kept the 4s flowing
No conceirge to speak of and limited advice from desk on where to get best deals, dinner outside hotel or when to visit somewhere local.
The room: 304 facing main street.
Our room was about average, bed was nothing much to speak of and while they adverstise SKY satelite TV, if it worked we got FOX News or BBC International. But whos in rome to watch TV.... The bath was the best part of the room. Tiled floor to ceiling, it just said "come relax". Loved the tub! Plenty of bath bubbles for the long soak after a tour.
WiFi - Free and laptop pulled it up anywhere in the room. Picked up electrical adapter free from desk for 3 prong plug.
Bed turned down in evening - A nice touch we didnt ask for but was not real comfortable NOT knowing they would be by. Use the safe at all times as always when on trips as we had clothing out, not expecting anyone to come in but our valuables were locked up.
Mini-Bar Again - The dreaded mini-bar was charged to our room for a beer and vodka. Happened on the night that our bed was turned down so we are putting 2 + 2 together. We kept our do not disturb up after that. Front desk was NOT very undestanding and wanted us to pay for it regardless. We stood our ground and the cost was removed.
Pool - was nice, suana was never operational during stay. Fitness room was above average with nice showers and changing room.
Morning breakfast - Very nice! Well worth the time to relax before going out. Only complaint was the extremly runny eggs.
Overall a nice stay, being sold to us as a 4star plus, I would say I was disappointed after where we have stayed in 4 star hotels. Would not choose this one again as there were several up the street with nicer appeance for about same cost as this.

Room Tip: Enjoy the bubble bath TUB. WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoryMCs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Very quite, clean street, lot of American tourists...
Very comfortable and convenient to Borghese house.
Great breakfast and service, nice staff . We thoroughly enjoyed it...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albatros63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I am Kelley, from the United States. My daughter just got married on August 6, 2011 at the Rose Garden Palace, in Rome, Italy. The Rose Garden is located directly across from the U.S. Embassy. Words cannot describe the beauty of the area. I can't believe that planning a wedding in another country could have been so seemless. Marina, the event coordinator is a true professional. We communicated for months, via email & telephone. I never waited for a response from her. Everything she does is done with such detail. Every photo she sent of what to expect were exact. She coordinated flowers, music & symblic ceremony. We had guests with dietary needs that the chef graciously prepared without any problem. We had 40 guests who were blown away with the staff, food and ambiance. I highly recommend the Rose Garden for your destination wedding.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lot et Garonne
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We chose this hotel because we wanted to spend a day wandering around Villa Borghese which is close by. I have no complaints with the hotel. It was clean, well furnished, everything worked, restaurant was good but an expensive menu. Room was large, quiet and a good standard except for the sealant around the bath which could have done with replacing, as it was dirty and peeling. For me it was nothing out of the ordinary. The staff were polite and efficient but lacked any warmth or interest and for me, it is always the people that make a hotel special. It was an hotel for passing through, I can't blame them for the number of visitors Rome received. It wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Rose Garden is a nice hotel but the staff at the front desk is snobby..which is funny given how expensive the hotel is you think you would have over the top service. It is right off the Via Venetto so unless you like shop, eat in fancy place or are visiting the american embassy you might want to look closer the city. You cannot just go out and walk attachtions at night.
It has a pool in the basement but be careful if you have kids. When the jets are on the the suction that it causes will stick you to the bottom. I cannot stress how very dangerous this could be if a child or adult was to get stuck or have hair stuck. My 235 lb weight lifting husband had a hard time pulling one hand away when we tested it.

I must admit that was a bit taken back by the black dots I found on the beds. It was enough not to unpack in my house but outside on deck when we returned home.

Do your self a favor and don't eat dinner at hotel. Our meal was expensive and took almost 3.5 hours to serve. We started to watch our watches when we asked for things as simple as bread (22 minutes). We were the only ones eating.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucy20176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#169 of 1,261 in Rome
303 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#26 of 1,261 in Rome
797 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#94 of 1,261 in Rome
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Palace

Property: Rose Garden Palace
Address: Via Boncompagni 19, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#68 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#89 Family Hotel in Rome
#92 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Garden Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rose Garden Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing