We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose Garden Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rose Garden Palace
Ranked #88 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

Parquet floors, windows that actually open, big, airy rooms, great service. The hotel's within walking distance of Piazza Barberini (lots of restaurants and shopping), or several buses stop a few steps from the entrance. There's a taxi stand at the end of the street, so transportation is never a problem. There's also a grocery store right around the corner (the kind real people shop in, not tourists).
They have a unique method for energy conservation: when you enter the room you must put your key card into the slot by the door or none of the lights will work (the bell hop will explain all this). So when you come into the room and see all the lights are on they really weren't - the maid service turns everything on before they leave and it goes out as soon as the door's closed. Thought that was a pretty neat way of handling guests who "forget" to turn their lights off.
The only negative comment I have has to do with toiletries. In a word: bring your own. They offer shampoo but no conditioner, bubble bath but no shower gel and the lotion just leaves a film on your skin without hydrating anything.
This is a wonderful hotel and if you can afford the price - stay there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elg820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    282
    51
    15
    8
See reviews for
197
423
34
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

Stayed here for 10 days (for business and leisure) in December in 2 different rooms. Both were quiet, comfortable, and well appointed. The staff was excellent, very attentive and friendly. I couldn't have asked for a better experience while in Rome.

It is a little expensive, but you're in Rome and dealing with the Euro conversion. So it's to be expected. The quietness and cleanliness of the hotel far outweigh the little extra you may pay.

Only ate the breakfasts for half the stay (work paid for it) and they were good.

Location is good, its in a quiet neighborhood, yet within walking distance to all the fine attractions and shopping in Rome.

Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderinArlingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

This hotel is very nice. It has a modern lobby and bar area. The rooms were very nice. More modern than other hotels I have stayed at in Rome and Italy. The air conditioning was working, even in November, which was great since it was unseasonably warm. The bathroom was a bit on the small side, but workable. However, there was limited counter space. The only small nagging issue that I had with the room was in the walk in closet, which also contained the safe, the light had a motion detector which, for some reason, only gave you a few seconds of light before it turned itself off.

The location of the hotel is great. It is two short blocks from Via Veneto and within walking distance of just about every site within Rome, other than the Vatican. It is also right across the street from the American Embassy, so security is very tight.

There is a local grocery store just outside of the hotel which is extremely inexpensive. Large bottles of water were just 0.60 cents. To reach the store, just make a left out of the front door of the hotel and make a left at the corner. It is about 20 feet up on the right side of the block. Also, another block up, on the left side, is a nice, inexpensive cafe which sells good sandwiches and hot food for lunch.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again on future visits to Rome.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannycarlucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

Beautiful location, close to shopping, food, U.S. Embassy and Hard Rock Cafe. Very good service, bring mosquito repellant.

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JimmyJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacile, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel while attending a conference at the U.S. Embassy. We received a special rate of 220 Euro pernight, but I would not recommend this hotel for that price. The room was clean and fairly nice, but pretty simple. The bathroom door didn't quite close properly. Other than that, the room was adequate. The breakfast was average for an Italian hotel. I also marked that it had no business center because the "business center" was one slow computer with no printer. The drinks at the hotel bar were very expensive (3 Euro for an espresso, 8 Euro for a beer). Some of the front desk staff were quite rude, particularly when I asked if they could book me tickets to the Vatican Museum. For a 4-star hotel and for the price, I expected better service. The bottom line is that it was an adequate hotel and very close to the Embassy, but not worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sulfiteboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

Stayed here with my wife and young son. Very clean and well decorated. We stayed in a triple room, which was of a very good size (for a European hotel). Lower floors at the front of the hotel might suffer from traffic noise, but we are on a higher floor and it was not a problem. The hotel was not cheap, price wise, but in what is a very expensive city, it is probably good value for money.

The staff were not the most friendly (excepting the door man, who was very helpful), but not in an off putting way.

The area around the hotel seemed very safe to us.

The food at dinner was very good, although due to lack of atmosphere we only ate at the hotel on one evening. Breakfast however was very average - something between a continental and an american buffet breakfast. It ended up being neither one not the other. Still, as breakfast was included in the room rate, we didn't mind too much.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harlequin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

The Rose Garden Palace is modern, clean, with an excellent front desk staff always willing to help. Breakfast in the "rose" garden is such a nice way to start the day. The location is fabulous in a gorgeous neighborhood across the street from the American Embassy and walking distance to the Spanish Steps and the subway. My only criticism is that to get to the shower you have to step over a very high tub and I can't understand how they don't see this as an accident waiting to happen. I was concerned for my mother and aunt traveling with me, but I also found it difficult to manage. Other than that it's a great full service hotel, small enough to give excellent personal service, but large enough to offer all of the amenities you would want at a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbierich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#219 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#41 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,851 reviews
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#34 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Palace

Property: Rose Garden Palace
Address: Via Boncompagni 19, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#68 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#89 Family Hotel in Rome
#92 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Garden Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rose Garden Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing