We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & great location.”
Review of Residenza Frattina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Frattina
Ranked #175 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here for four days in september. When we arrived a member of staff took our cases up to our room. The receptionnist was very helpful , gave us a map of Rome and directions where we wanted to go. The hotel is in a very central location and is very beautiful. We had a very large room with a circular bed and a stained glass window.
We have been to Rome 5 times and never had so many little extras in our room, bath robes and slippers , a fridge with complimentary drinks amd tea & coffee making facilities. The lounge/ dining room is small but we never had a problem finding a table for breakfast which was also good. Would definitely reccommend this hotel for location and value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your positive feedback of your stay!
We are so happy to know that you had a beautiful experience at Residenza Frattina. We always try to do our best to "cuddle" our guests with our facilities and hospitality. If you loved the room with the circle bed, next time ask for our Junior Suite facing the characteristic Via Frattina!
Hoping to welcom you for another time in Rome,

Best Regards,
Customer Care Department
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

When we arrived the receptionist insisted on getting a member of staff to help with the luggage; that was very welcome. We were very pleased with the beautiful room and especially the excellent air con and complimentary drinks in the fridge provided in the room. These were very welcome after a hot day touring the city. Lovely teas and coffees on offer and toast and jam on a tray in the room. The bathroom was very pleasant with a wonderful shower and bath. We were told there may be a problem with hot water after 15 mins or so...but we never had an issue with hot water.
We were aware of the three flights of stairs to our room, but keeps you fit after all the pizza.
We did find it rather odd that the entrance did need a security pass, but the yard was shared by many and we weren't completely sure of the security of our area in the hotel....but had no problems.
The location was very good...disigner shops, spanish steps and fountains all close by. We walked everywhere. There are lots of shops and places to eat in the area The last night of our stay was the Olympics closing ceremony. We were able to hear the people in the rooms around us; wasn't sure if it was next to us ...singing and the telelvision was on rather loud...sound proofing ..but we couldn't detect where it was coming from.
Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was delicious with fresh juice and a lovely selection of quality foods. The waitress at the weekend didn't offer us the selection of coffees available...so we were unaware... but the waitress on shift on the Monday offered us a fantastic range of hot drinks...nothing was too much trouble for her and she was rushed off her feet as it was very busy.
I would recommend the hotel for the friendliness and location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simplesNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Guests,
thank you for writing about your positive feedback of your stay with us!
We are very sorry to know that you were annoyed for the noise of your neighbours. You didn't say anything about your trouble. Of course we could change the room or we could try to resolve that issue! Regarding the pass for the entrance, it's just for security reasons that we only give to our guests a security magnetic card. It's just to avoid the entrance of unknowledge people.
We are so happy to hearing from you so much appreciations about breakfast and especially for our hospitality. We always do our best to make our guests feel good.
We hope to have you as our guests in the future!

Best Regards,
Flavia Spigola
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This place was beautiful, very old fashioned. Rooms are small , including the bathrooms, however its a small compromise considering you are not in the room all that much and so close to so many attractions. Staff were very helpful. The lady that serves breakfast did not speak a word of English however we managed. Breakfast did not include a great variety , however did have the basics. Our room faced the street but was not an issue I enjoyed looking out in the evenings. No elevators and lucky we were on the 3rd floor. Would definitley stay again.

Room Tip: Request a low level room if you have lots of luggage .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Guests,
thank you for writing about your nice experience with us!
The hotel is located in the city centre in a very old building, on the 2nd and 3rd floor. This is why we don't have an elevator. Anyway, the staff is at complete disposal of all our guests to help them with the luggages.
Your feedback is very important for all of us to improve our services and give you for the next time a perfect stay!
Hoping to have you as our guests in the future.

Best Regards,
Flavia Spigola
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We were all disappointed when we saw our first room.We were initially placed in an odd shaped room which slept our 2 teenagers in a corridor type room on beds similar to camp beds. The bathroom had a smelly shower curtain which tended to stick to your legs whilst showering not nice. We asked to be placed in a room together and got a much nicer room which had a decent bathroom and much nicer decor. Our shower flooded after only a couple of minutes our request for it to be fixed were ignored.
The breakfast room is beautifully decorated but very small only 4 tables. The rest of the diners sit around large sofas and a low table. Not too comfortable. Get to breakfast early to be assured a table and also a selection of food,otherwise you'll have slim pickings .
There is no elevator which doesn't really matter as your assissted by staff with your luggage
We felt that this was a highly priced hotel for the facilities and standard offered. They promise a lot but he experience dosen't live up to the photos on the web. We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FSEMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for writing about your experience with us.
We are very sorry to know that you weren't satisfied about your stay.
As you mentioned, the morning you told us you didn't like the room we immediately changed it. Let me tell you though that the first room that we assigned for you was our apartment so a bigger and more expencive room than a regular quadruple.
Of course it can happen that the courtain of the shower gets sticked to the legs when it's wet but we daily clean the rooms and bathrooms and we are sure about our standards about cleaning.
We are glad you liked the second room and we would like to say that as soon as you told us about the problem with the shower we managed that situation that morning by calling a hydraulic that cleared the draining so we are sorry to hear that the problem was not solved, as a matter of fact it was (and I would like to say that we didn't hear any more complain from you after that morning).
Even though you wrote you wouldn't stay with us in the future, we would like to tell you that it would be a pleasure to have you as our guests again and be able to let you change your mind about our services.
Best regards,
Valentina Carracoi,
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Superb Location. Small B&B. good breakfasts. very clean. Small rooms but adequate. helpful staff.
Surrounded by good restuarants and shops.
Tips - avoid Rome in Aug. too hot and crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank jii001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residenza Frattina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Gust, Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with us!
We are happy to know that you had a very good impression of our hotel.
We hope to welcome you again in Rome,
Best regards
Yodit Teka
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I think this place was good because we walked from train station to this hotel with a bunch of luggage, no problem, very close (2 blocks). The only downside is that there were no elevators and our room was up 3 floors. (I should of gotten help with my luggage)! The rooms were quaint but small. Our room was facing street where shops were. Since we didn't go to bed at 10 pm or anything, the noise level was fine. (Except we had small kids next to us that kept slamming the door and moving furniture around...that was annoying). I did tell Valentina, who was extremely nice and she called the room right away. We were right in between the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain which was nice. Would I stay here again? Not sure. (But I do like trying different hotels).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor! Your opinion is really important, as it help us in improving our quality standards.
Our hotel is located into the centre of Rome at the second and third floor of an ancient building dated back to 1700, this is the reason why there’s not an elevator, but our staff is at guests’ disposal for helping with suitcases. We are very glad that you appreciated our staff services. Thank you for what you said about Valentina! We always try to do our best in order to make the guests stay really comfortable.
Even if you like trying different hotel, we hope to welcome you again :)
Best regards

Chiara Bianco
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The hotel/B&B was very nice. Location was outstanding and the staff was extremely friendly. We spent 5 nights between June 29 and July 4 with 2 teenagers and the room was ample, not large, but roomy enough. There were a few minor issues. First, the stairs are a lot to deal with when you have 4 suitcases like we did. Second, we were there during a very hot period and the air conditioner took the edge off, but could not keep up. Third, the internet was not great, a bit slow; however, it was included in the room rate so we cannot complain too much. The breakfast was awesome and the snacks in the afternoon were very nice. Overall, a wonderful deal for the price, location and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BF1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

First of all thank you very much for your nice review! I'm glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Residenza Frattina.
You review is very important for all the staff because it helps to improve our services and care day by day.
thank you again for all.
Best regards
Yodite Teka
Residenza Frattina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
867 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#299 of 1,271 in Rome
285 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#62 of 1,271 in Rome
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Splendor Suite Rome
Splendor Suite Rome
#44 of 3,734 in Rome
394 reviews
Colonna
Chic & Town Luxury Rooms
Chic & Town Luxury Rooms
#43 of 3,734 in Rome
459 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Vanity Hotel
Vanity Hotel
#168 of 3,734 in Rome
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Frattina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Frattina

Address: Via Frattina 104, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £73 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residenza Frattina 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Frattina, a charming town house in the center of Rome, offers a cozy and charming atmosphere for guests. Elegant room décor with a storied history to create a delightful home-grown experience. Residenza Frattina is an ideal jumping point to entire Rome; located close to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and world famous boutiques on Via Condotti and Via del Corso are all easily accessible from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residenza Frattina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Frattina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing