We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tour of the holiday x”
Review of Dolce Vita Rome

Dolce Vita Rome
Ranked #205 of 796 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Here at Dolcevitarome we specialise in small group and private tours. We have been operating in Rome for over 8 years, our small team of city experts and guides have a passion for the city and are here to take the stress out of travel. All our tours skip the long queues, giving you a chance to relax and enjoy Rome.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best tour of the holiday x”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Would highly recommend Alex's mysteries of Rome tour his knowledge and passion for history make the tour exciting and interesting whilst being great value for money! Will be going back to do his tours again! Thanks for a great trip Alex from the charming English girls (19/03/14)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anniex21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    1
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ALEX WE LOVE YOU”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Alex was brilliant, I wish we could of carried him around with us for our whole trip, just so he could tell us about all the wine bars, restaurant's and secrets of Rome!

Although it was amazing finding out about the Palatine, I am still a bit confused as to why we didn't explore the Forum :( as we were told we were going to!

But he was so enthusiastic and worth every penny.
Max did our tour of the colosseum and that too was amazing!

we went out again and did the mysteries tour with Alex on Monday morning which was awesome!

Although we were recommended a tour with Rome Around and got a tour guide called Roberto ( i think) .. and he wasn't great sadly, we didn't even get to see the art work in the Vatican, and he would literally only tell us whatever had the most room next to it for us all to stand at the time!

thanks alex!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank chloelouisesimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very enjoyable!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I would highly recommend mainly based on the tour guide. We bought the service without prior intentions just outside Colosseum. Someone from their company approached us and offered few last places in the tour to start in a minute. The two part tour consisted of Colosseum with one guide and Roman Forum with another. The latter one guided by Alex was the highlight. With the enthusiasm and knowledge he shared I started to see things that were not there anymore. He was very entertaining and it's always easier to listen to an english native speaker. If it would have not been our last day in Rome I would have booked another tour with Alex!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keijo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Vatican Tour”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Our party of 3 (including our 9-year old child) recently booked a Vatican Tour with a Dolce Vita, based on reviews we had read on trip advisor about Alex.

We booked and arrived at the designated time and place and were nominated Fabiola as our guide.

Fabiola was a brilliant guide. She was engaging and answered all our questions without hesitation. Even though our group grew from 4 at the outset to 17 at the end, the headsets made it easy to hear the commentary at all times.

I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamWLNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Best tour guide in Rome period!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We looked up Alex on advice from my brother and we were overly impressed by his knowledge, rapport with everyone and his passion on showing/explaining the hidden facts about rome. After speaking to him further we found that he's not just any tourist guide but a professional historian working for Nat Geo and consulting on HBO shows like 'Spartacus' and 'Rome'. We felt extremely privileged to be given these tours by Alex as he's a genuinely a really nice guy and really passionate about what he's doing.

On a whim my wife and I from Australia did the Palatino tour and the evening mystery tour where we shown where Michelangelo was originally buried and all the history and facts behind this. We saw marvellous Sculpture and the amazing stories behind them.

We're glad to of met Alex and he exceeded our expectations. Without him our Rome visit would of been quite dull to be honest.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolce Vita Rome also viewed

 

Been to Dolce Vita Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing