We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible, Horrible, Shady, Dangerous Con Artists”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mariano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mariano Hotel
Ranked #553 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible, Horrible, Shady, Dangerous Con Artists”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Do NOT stay there. They will charge your credit card twice, they won't let you keep your room keys while you are away from your hotel. Their staff will go through your stuff. You will not be safe in the hotel at night!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHtraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    248
    176
    46
    42
See reviews for
102
285
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed in this hotel 8 times now and each time has been great. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and will help you with anything. The rooms are clean and comfortable and housekeeping discreet and friendly. Breakfast is typical basic continental but fresh and tasty. Coffee is made fresh for you and espresso lovely. You can't beat the location! 5 mins to Termini station with mainline direct trains to airport, metro, buses, taxis. Great range of shops and cafes all close by and reasonably priced as non tourist area. Great restaurants Da Guiseppe and Trudini on Giovanni Giolitti road are 2 mins walk so never short of places and street vendors sell fresh fruit, drinks and snacks. I stayed a couple of times at New Year and they left me a gift of panettone which was so sweet. Lovely people, can't recommend highly enough. Been there with various friends, family and even took my staff there! Everyone has praised it massively.

Room Tip: All good but some of the double rooms are massive! Corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelAwad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I just came back from a holiday a couple days ago and stayed In this hotel, on arrival I got a warm welcome from the staff and shown to my room which was lovely, throughout the time I stayed there the staff were just amazing booking tours for me nearly every day no matter what time I asked, the staff also recommend places to eat in the area, in conclusion I would go there again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daz53241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here with college students when doing a study abroad. Nice place with a great location. Average rooms with an pretty nice bath. Be aware of the breakfast authorities! Don't even think of snagging an apple of muffin to go! Plus breakfasts fairly tasteless with very warm milk for your cereal. Great folks at front desk though.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry-Appleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Hallo, I'm 27 years old and We've been in April 2013 in this hotel. Very good location, close to train, to underground. Staff very nice and helpfull. It is good price hotel, comfortable bed and good size room. Just boring breakfast, everythings was sweet.
We are happy:) thx, i can recommend in 100 % :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojtajolunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Well where do I begin. Just got back from a 5day stay in lovely Rome, but so wish we hadn't picked this hotel.
Ok, it looks a nice astablishment from the front and even the entrance lobby is all neat and tidy, (Not a prelude on what's to come) The location is its best feature, great location being near the Termini and Metro.
BUT IF YOU GET GIVEN ROOM 106 (and I'm guessing 206 also) , demand a room change! This has to have been the smallest, dirtiest room I have ever had the misfortune to have stayed in! When you open the door to a room, you hope to see a lovely clean room, with maybe a characteristic feature or theme! But no. We opened the door to about 1 3rd before it hit the bed!! Yes, the room was basically a corridor with a double bed squeezed right it! It was awful, and the wardrobe and tv unit was was dumbed at the end of the room, no thought had gone into the layout!
Also, breakfast was very basic with no cooked food, just cereals and bread! Don't bother including breakfast, very easy to grab abit near local restaurants or mcdonalds!

Didn't allow this disappointment to ruin what was a lovely trip to one of Italys finest !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djclark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We went to Rome for city break and stayed in Mariano hotel 2 nights.Location is very good 2 min away from termini station ,from there u can get everywhere.Rooms old and terrible view from window but very very clean and thats big plus really as well as free wi fi on ground floor.Do not count on breakfast ,old croissants and watery juice better of buy sandwiches in the shops.For short stay is ok not for long 1 .

Room Tip: ask for room with street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reda-adriana br... b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#950 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#607 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Parker
Hotel Parker
#601 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Scott House
Hotel Scott House
#592 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Esquilino
Igea Hotel
Igea Hotel
#773 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel RomAntica
Hotel RomAntica
#523 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariano Hotel

Property: Mariano Hotel
Address: Piazza Manfredo Fanti 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #553 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in former Italian Officers Quarters dating from 1880 offers modern comfort; located near Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mariano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariano Hotel Rome
Hotel Mariano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing