We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #238 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We had a good stay at Hotel Sonya. It is close to metro and Via Nazionale. Spacious rooms by European standards. Great shower albeit small.
Comfortable bed. Plenty of storage. WI fi worked well in our room. Did not eat breakfast there. Safe area. Walked everywhere except Vatican City. A little loud at night.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drmrsmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    594
    191
    53
    38
See reviews for
357
655
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

This way my first trip to Rome, the hotel Sonya and it's sister Hotel Opera was great.
I live in Las Vegas and know good hotels. The staff were very helpful, I felt safe, rooms very clean, and centrally located, we walked every where.
I will make the Hotel Opera my home away from home on my next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: All you have to do is contact the Hotel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paaquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Two friends and I stayed four nights at the Hotel Sonya in Rome. It is located within walking distance to Termini Train Station. Our room was small, but most hotel rooms in Italy are. It was extremely clean and came with satelite tv. We are able to keep up with news back home in the states. We were also able to walk to all the sites in central Rome without a problem. The employees were very friendly and helpful. I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishTexasAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
Dear IrishTexasAggie

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sonya and for taking a moment to share your review.
I will gladly share your comments with my team and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Sonya in the very near future.
Best Regards

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cergy-Pontoise, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Very cold and noisy room (noise coming from the high traffic in the street)
Small and unpersonal restaurant only available for breakfasts
Not far from Termini which is practical for travelers
Kind people working there.
Free access to Internet
Coffee and teabags in the room (one of each per person)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZebWin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

the worst hotel ever, terrible!!
our room didnt even had a WINDOW!! the bed was terrible, the room was really small, in general, very very bad!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shrilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
Dear Shrilka
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us; We understand that your experience was less than perfect.
I look forward to speaking with you directly concerning your recent stay. I may be contacted at 0039 064819911, or info@hotelsonya.it.
Because unlike the detailed comments of other guests, your comment is not very clear and does not help to improve our work. Or help other prospective users to understand our strengths and weaknesses
For example, do not understand why you say that your room has no window
when it was enough to open the curtains you see in the second picture you took
I do not understand either a reviewer ranking so low on the position and cleanliness
I imagine A ranking of 1 to a hotel that is 4 km from the center of the city, not to us that we are 20 minutes walk to the Coliseum and Spanish Steps.
Is also unclear the complaint about the bed, i can not understand if you dont like the bed or our natural latex mattresses
I agree rather with the size of the room, which is not one of our bigger room
The only conclusions that I can draw is that following your booking see that you were only one night here with us arriving here at 9.00 pm with departure at 11.00 am the next day.
Perhaps in that short period of time could not appreciate the personalized service that we offer our customers.
I also read the other comments you wrote to other places you have visited and I see that from a total of 5 reviews you found 3 terrible places
I would understand if the word "Terrible" is just a way to say or if we have to change all our policy work
Im sure that you can help us to improve our work, and In the meantime, we remain fully at your service and look forward to the chance of welcoming you back at the

Sincerely

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Booked the hotel Sonya about two months before our stay. Arrived about 21.30, tired and were disappointed to be told we were staying in their other hotel down the street , the Hotel Opera. Have written a review on this hotel and overall we were disappointed and we were told that this is their 'new more modern better hotel', as quoted by the receptionist.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cath32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Front desk was friendly enough. The breakfast server was excellant. He was very friendly and quick to serve us.

I must say I was disappointed based on the Tripadvisor reviews I had read. I wasn't expecting a luxury 5 star hotel but more than what we got. for our money Room was very outdated. We had water up to our ankles everytime we showered. It was a little bit better after maintainence came but still backed up. There was a horrible smell coming from the bidet so we had to keep the bathroom door closed when we were in the room. Outside noice was pretty bad that I kept thinking the window was open.

We thought staying near the train station would be convienent but this area didn't have the character that other parts of Rome have. We paid the most per night for this hotel as opposed to the other 4 hotels we stayed in during our trip to Spain/Italy. Those other hotels far surpassed this hotel in accommodations and value. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenndoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#214 of 1,256 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#119 of 1,256 in Rome
1,280 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#97 of 1,256 in Rome
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#427 of 1,256 in Rome
615 reviews
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#249 of 1,256 in Rome
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing