We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good value”
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #238 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Solihull, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I spent along time trying to find a hotel in Rome that had a central location and received good reviews on Trip Advisor and this was one of the few that came back with good reviews. It was a great choice. Central location for site seeing, close to station for trains and metro. The old fashioned lift made it vey quaint. We weren't expecting much for breakfast but we were pleasantly surprised by the choice and the staff were very accommodating if you wanted anything else. Free computers in reception, free wifi in the room. Only one thing that I would be negative about was the bathroom was quite small but apart from that a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    584
    188
    53
    38
See reviews for
354
646
63
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My friends and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was a short walk from the train station, which was great since we came in by train from Venice. The Metro was also close by for travel around the city. The room was spacious and had a view of the Opera House across the street. I will say the shower is very small, similar to an old school phone booth. Breakfast each morning was better than I expected and included pastries, fruit, quiche, juices, and coffee. I appreciated the use of their laptop during my stay as it helped me stay in touch with family.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dstorm6196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The Hotel Sonya is located within reasonable walking distance from Termini, so that was a plus for us as we were traveling to the Amalfi Coast by train after seeing Rome. The rooms were not large but they were comfortable with telephone, TV and free Wi-fi access. The breakfast buffet offered a variety of pastries, cheese, coffee and juice plus fresh fruit. They would also make fresh espresso, lattes, cappuccinos. Extra points to the staff in the new section, who were all wonderful and did everything possible to make my stay a great experience. I would definitely stay there again. If you stay there, eat at caffetteria ristorante Il Palchetto, which is practically right next door at Via del Viminale, 48. Don't eat at LaMatriciana, #44.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the new section, if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigOnBooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Silvia who was at the front desk was so very helpful with suggestions for meals, on/off bus tours, and help with little questions that came up. She made sure the room reservations were done correctly.
The hotel is conveniently located. Our room was small and lovely. Breakfasts are delicious - I miss their caffe latte already! Everything we could have hoped for.

Room Tip: Rick Steve's recommended hotel - he was right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryrick82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We only stayed one night at this hotel and found it ok but not that special. The rooms are small and functional which is fairly normal for Rome. The hotel is clean and neat and our room faced away from the street so it was quiet. The breakfast is a rather small but pretty good buffet in a small windowless, but light room. The staff spoke English and were helpful enough.
Don't take a taxi from the train station, it is only a few blocks to walk. The street is not very nice in itself but it is walking distance to a lot of sights.

Room Tip: There are no rooms with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoya91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

The hotel has new rooms (Sonya Suites) though they are only rooms, and this is on Via Firenze, just down the road. I asked for a nice room as wedding anniversary and they put is in here. Very nice, newly refurbished. Service excellent. Good englsh and helpful. Don' be fooled into a taxi ride from the train station, we got ripped off 20 euro and it is no more than about ten mins walk. Got the train from the airport, 14 euro each, easy to find and use. If your first time in Rome be mindful that train tickets have to be validated in yellow machines, it carries a 100 euro fine if you are found out. hotel is a Good location only 15 mins walk to colleseum with metro around the corner,which is easy to use. Found central "snack bars" very expensive and not good quality. Look for good sandwich shops for pastries on the move! We went at Easter which was very busy, but managed to see most sights if you hit the trail early enough. Read up on sites first though, we did not realise that the Cistine chapel was in another entrance to the Vatican and missed it first time!!! All in all good hotel for the price

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilikavalue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AU
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in April 2011. Given that it is a 3 stay hotel one can obviously not except too much. Pros:
- Clean rooms
- Very friendly staff
- Location - close to Termini station and restaurants

Cons:
-Very small rooms, but this is expected. The shower however was very tiny.
- Room could do with a bit more light.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ss_1234q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#213 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#120 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#418 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#128 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#184 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing