We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #236 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here last year after reading reviews from Rick Stevens and it was a great idea - the room was on the 4 floor via a very old lift - cute- the room was a good size clean and tidy -the room was on the side of the hotel and you can open the window and we had a view of the roof tops of Rome - it's within walking distance to Trevi Fountain, Spanish steps, Roman ruins, the train station is just around the corner to get to the Vactian also for our train ride to Venice. Breakfast was good with a variety of dishes to choose from staff were very helpful and spoke a small amount of English - if you are looking for a reasonable price Hotel located close to Rome's many attractions I would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kez2394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    596
    193
    55
    39
See reviews for
365
660
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Located just a few minutes from termini train station, the hotel is nice and cosy. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean, warm and very cosy. I found the shower though to be very small, but still big enough to wash ones body ;-) Breakfast was ok, but could get boring after a few days.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolphin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights, it was our first ever visit to Rome and Im glad that I found this hotel. Everything was just perfect. Clean, nice and warm room, good breakfast (even though we were so lazy to wake up early), friendly staff... Maybe just the wifi connection was sometimes slow, but who cares, you are in Rome! Definitely will stay again there If I have the chance :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Velina_Todorova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The location of this hotel cannot be beat. It is within walking distance of Termini station and the Repubblica Station on Rome's Metro line. Additionally, the Hotel is directly across from Rome's Opera House, which came in very handy when consulting maps or giving directions to taxi drivers with our very limited Italian.

Our room was very basic, mostly clean, no frills, with a tiny bathroom. The awkward inclusion of some bulky furniture made it sometimes difficult to navigate the room. I am used to much smaller hotel rooms in Europe than we experience in the US, but this was one tiny even by European standards. The shower was so small I quickly gave up on the idea of shaving ...I am a slender women but not even I had enough space to bend over to reach my legs. Our bed, which was two twins pushed together, could not be evenly pushed together and came up at an angle at the shared edge. So, even if we fell asleep in each others arms, eventually gravity would roll us apart during the night.

The walls are very thin, and for one night we did hear the person in the next room cough through the night. Coupled with some street noise, we were glad we had ear plugs and slept soundly as soon as we put them in.

Breakfast was included, and the buffet had a very good selection which provided us with a solid start for our day. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially in booking a few extra nights for us at the conclusion of our Rick Steves' tour.

One interesting note....at breakfast after our first night at this hotel a couple that we had become friendly with sat down and started raving about how much they liked their room. My husband and I must have looked at them like they were nuts, and after explaining how we felt about our room, all four of us decided that we needed to see the others' room. Well, it seems that our friends were staying in one of the newly renovated rooms, and it was so much nicer than ours! Since we were in the same tour group, and paid the same amount of money, I guess they just got lucky. If I had known, I would have requested a recently renovated room as well.

Overall, this hotel was okay, but when I return to Rome, I would stay elsewhere. I think they might be leaning on their past/current Rick Steves recommended hotel status too much, and need to update all their rooms. A good value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lawgirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The location of this hotel makes it excellent for sightseeing in Rome.
Staff OK, friendly enough.
Hotel is clean.
Rooms are not huge but OK for a short stay, or for people that won't spend a great deal of time in their room.
Price of hotel was excellent considering its location. It was within walking distance of all major attractions and the train station.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank APM05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copley, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

When we had originally booked this hotel we booked 6 rooms, though over the course of time leading up to the trip several people backed out and when it was said and done we were down to two rooms, but the hotel staff was very good at communicating and gladly changed our booking. I can't say enough about the amazing desk staff here, friendly and very helpful. We had left something at home and had to have it sent fedex to the hotel and the desk staff maintained contact with FedEx and helped once the package got there.

As far as location it doesn't get any better, it's right in the heart of things but in a location where it was very quiet. Your only a few blocks from Termini, Santa Maria Maggiore is right around the corner which you can also hang a right down Via Cavour and it will lead you right down to San Pietro in Vincoli and the Colosseum/Palatine Hill area. There is a nearby Metro station at Republicca (turn right out the front door of the hotel and walk a couple of blocks).

If and when I go back to Rome, there will be no hesitation to book this hotel again.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank roachpapa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nine Mile Falls, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I only spent 1 night here before a cruise, and booked based on the low price and recommendations of this site and Rick Steves. It is very close to Termini (do not follow the Hotel's directions - we did and took the long way around in the dark - it is only a few blocks north west of the station) and directly across from the Opera House, so it was easier to find on our map instead of searching building corners for street names. Front Desk was helpful and friendly. There is a small lift if you have luggage, which is not the usual, and a bonus. The breakfast was substantial enough, and the cappuccinos are the best we had in Rome and included with the breakfast. The room was clean and spacious enough for the night, with a great view of the Opera House across the street. Since we visited in November, we didn't need air conditioning. The bed and the linens were clean and comfortable. The Wi-Fi worked in our room without problems. We felt comfortable leaving that evening, and walked to Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, and just explored the city and had a late dinner. We walked to the Forum and Coliseum the next morning before catching a train to the port. There was some renovations going on when we were there, but it did not disturb us. This is a great find, especially by European hotel standards - the bathroom was spacious and recently updated, and the room was larger than most we have stayed in. As a three star hotel it is just what we wanted - clean & quiet, comfortable, friendly, and secure. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lorisuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#218 of 1,258 in Rome
1,208 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,258 in Rome
1,285 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#97 of 1,258 in Rome
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#419 of 1,258 in Rome
617 reviews
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#292 of 1,258 in Rome
963 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing