We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, Excellent service!”
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #236 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location, Excellent service!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel Sonya is just at the right loction. 2 blocks from the train station and metro. Close to main attractions. Very friendly staff. Wonderfull sleeping experience, considering it was the Soccer World cup and many celebrations. Wonderfull breakfast -great selection. When enquiring about a good Restaurant, we were referred to Strega! Excellent menu, excellent price, excellent service. We would most definately recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLduP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSonya, Proprietario at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear visitor WLduP,

we would like to thank you for all your wonderful comments regarding the hotel, the level of service and location.

Your wonderful words are the best compliments for us and I am really proud of them. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed both rooms and breakfast. Thank you for your mention about the hotel staff.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Warmest regards,
Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    596
    193
    55
    39
See reviews for
365
660
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The location made it easy to get to the hotel from the airport and the metro. We were able to walk to most of the attractions. The rooms were a good size and clean. The staff was very helpful in finding us everything we wanted to see in Rome. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Excitingforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSonya, Proprietario at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Good morning Excitingforus.

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are very pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel included the central location which we know how important is to make easier visiting the city.

We really hope there'll be another chance to have you all here soon.

Kind regards,
Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I would love to legitimately review this hotel, but they lost our reservation. We showed them our confirmation email. Instead of admitting their mistake, they shuffled us to a nearby hotel. It had crummy AC and the WIFI never worked. Super disappointed. Customer service was lousy! Luckily, this was the last leg of our trip and we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raybola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSonya, Proprietario at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Ddear raybola

I'm so sorry for this matter, but due to a guest health problems, our hotel 'overbooked, thus upsetting the normal go of all our work.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Best Regards

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

About 10 mins walk from main station. Efficient and helpful staff. Rooms are modern and good size for Rome. Good bathroom. Within walking distance of Trevi Fountain and Spanish steps. Restaurants and shops (supermarket, chemist) nearby. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSonya, Proprietario at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Anne A.

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are very pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel included the central location which we know how important is to make easier visiting the city.

We really hope there'll be another chance to have you all here soon.

Warmest regards,

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel in the center of Rome is less than 10 min walk from central train station Roma Termini. Thus it is certainly a good choice when you arrive from one of Rome's airport and take the airport bus shuttle (or train) to Rome, since these lines end at Roma Termini. Most points of interest are within walking distance (Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, etc). If you do'n't like or cannot take the long walk to the Vatican a good alternative is to take the metro from Roma Termini or Opera metro station. Opposite the hotel there is a bar with terrace where you can drink a good beer for a relatively (!) cheap price. There are many good restaurants and pizzerias in the neighborhood. Via Nazionale is a shopping street that is only a few hundred meters from the hotel. The hotel itself has clean rooms and are quite appropriate considering that you are not visiting Rome to spend a great deal of your time in your hotel room. What was special appealing for us was that the hotel serves a good buffet breakfast with bread, cheeese, ham, (boiled) eggs, cerials, yoghurt, fruit, etc. This in contrast to many hotels in Italy that serve only a light brreakfast with some sweet cakes etc. Thus your day exploring Rome can start with a filled stomach. Furthermore, the service in the hotel is excellent. The personnel is very attent to help you with every request.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dutchtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSonya, Proprietario at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Dutchtraveler2.

Thank you for your in-depth review of The Hotel Sonya and for your recommendations.

Reading such a wonderful report of our service and facilities is a real pleasure. We are delighted to read that we met all expectations.

Thank you again and hopefully we shall be able to welcome your return.

Yours sincerely,
Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel with my best friend in standard room. The room itself was suitable and clean what is really important at least for us.However there were a few drawbacks. Firstly the walls of the room were so thin that you can hear your neighbors sneezing or chating. Secondly, the pillows were so firm that we couldn't fall asleep at least for the first night. Then talking about the hotel, we found breakfast was not for our taste and we were disappointed that they didn't have normal orange juice. Staff was quite ok. Location is really perfect. You just need my 10 minutes to reach Coliseum and metro is really close. Overall, if you don't need luxury, amazing few from the windows or very delicious and various food this hotel is just for you.

Room Tip: I think pretty much all the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSonya, Proprietario at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Gabrre

We regret that the Hotel Atlantico did not correspond to your expectations and I am very sorry about our pillows, and the breakfast.On the other hand, we are very happy to hear our location was convenient for your stay.

Your Feedback is very much appreciated and i can assure you that my staff and i use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guest.

Thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel has a good location ( an easy walk from the train station), and it was clean and comfortable with a nice modern bathroom. It is close to a Metro Station with lots of restaurants close by. The included breakfast was a very nice buffet with a good selection. The hotel had a good sized lift and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only negative was the internet service which was very intermittent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indianajilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSonya, Direttore at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Indianajilly.

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review, it is appreciated.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had a comfortable stay. Im so sorry about the Wi.Fi intermittence.
Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in our hotel.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return.

Warmest regards,
Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#218 of 1,258 in Rome
1,208 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,258 in Rome
1,285 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#97 of 1,258 in Rome
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#419 of 1,258 in Rome
616 reviews
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#292 of 1,258 in Rome
963 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing