We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Switched from opera to sonya”
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #247 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Switched from opera to sonya”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Originally booked my 1 night stay in Rome at the hotel opera. Upon arriving (short walk from termini) I was informed that we would be staying at the operas sister hotel sonya (just up the street) and that our things would be moved for us and we could find them in the room. This is exactly how things worked out! So I was happy with that. The room was clean, staff were friendly and the location was excellent. The thing that let's the hotel down though is that the shower pressure in our room was weak to be fair and the toilet didn't flush at times. Didn't have breakfast as we checked out early for our flight home. For the price we paid the hotel was exceptional value for a city like Rome, believe me this was my third time in the city.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarajevo-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    601
    195
    55
    40
See reviews for
371
664
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The room was clean, but a bit small. The staff was great. Breakfast was delicious. By the time we left, they knew exactly what we each wanted to drink. We walked everywhere except the Vatican, which we reached by metro. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay cash (from the ATM down the street) for a discount on your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We made the right choice staying at Hotel Sonya. This cozy property blends modern conveniences with charming elements from an era gone by, including a classic cage elevator, period woodwork and prominent wooden doors opening to private corridors of rooms. Our large, front facing room had very comfortable beds and a wonderful view of the Teatro dell'Opera di Roma and other picturesque architecture. Our room also featured free Wi-Fi, an in-room safe and a nice bathroom with a separate tub and shower. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet in their comfortable, private dinning area. The wait staff was very professional, warm and gracious. Hotel Sonya is conveniently located within a block of a small grocery store, bank, several restaurants and is within walking distance of the Roma Termini railway station and many historical sites. The hotel is in a safe neighborhood and we enjoyed wandering down nearby side streets discovering specialty shops featuring gelato, gourmet foods and more great restaurants. Our thanks to everyone at Hotel Sonya for a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great location near the station, walking distance to Trevi, etc. Quiet street, friendly staff, nice rooms, close to bus lines. In this price range you can't do much better than this. Easy to book via thier website/email.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I mistakenly thought I was reserving a stay in Sept, but somehow I put in the wrong month, July. I emailed to ask them to please not charge me that day and that I actually wanted Sept. They never responded by email and after I called, the person on the phone was rude and just said "no, your fault." Yes, it was my fault, but we had three groups of people going in Sept and we were all going to stay at Sonya. Because of their poor customer relations, we all cancelled and are going to a different hotel that treats customers with respect and no just like a cash source.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
7 Thank JoeSueSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My family and I spent three nights (broken 1 and then 2) at the Hotel Sonya. It is in a great location -- just 5-10 minute walk from Roma Termini. The rooms we stayed in were very clean though the first room we had - in the refurbished section -- was definitely better. Beds were very comfortable and the A/C was sufficient even in the 34+ degree weather. Wifi was included as was a very good breakfast. The staff were excellent -- helpful and friendly. Many great restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "new" section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The location of this hotel was perfect!! My daughter and I walked for miles everyday to all the sites, exploring the city was the best way to experience Rome for the first time. Hotel Sonya staff were wonderful, accommodating, friendly and we loved the breakfast!!! I will definitely be back!!! Right down the street is Ristorante Strega, wonderful food!! Matricianas was amazing also!!! There is a little sandwich shop (between hotel and Matricianas) that has amazing sandwiches (cash only). You will not be disappointed, this hotel delivers on all levels!!! Our room was beautiful and quite modern. Thank you Hotel Sonya!!! I hope to be back very soon!!! ❤️

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynnielou38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#214 of 1,261 in Rome
1,214 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,261 in Rome
1,291 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#414 of 1,261 in Rome
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#106 of 1,261 in Rome
816 reviews
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#294 of 1,261 in Rome
966 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing