We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff and breakfast!”
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #247 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester
1 review
“Great location, staff and breakfast!”
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We searched for a moderately priced hotel close to transportation. We found a great spot at Hotel Sonya. It was a quick walk from both Termini Station (trains) and Cinquecento (buses). The staff were very accommodating and helpful and the breakfast was the nicest we got at any hotel during our 2 week vacation to Italy.

The rooms are smaller than US residents may be used to but certainly adequate. Free internet access was readily available. There is an elevator which is not always available in many other hotels!

The shower stall was small but had GREAT water pressure so you got a really good shower!

We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and we will visit again when we can.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    601
    195
    55
    40
See reviews for
371
664
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Stayed here for one night in Rome on the way elsewhere. I was pleasantly surprised by everything about it. All I needed was a clean, safe, and reasonably-priced place not too far from the train station, but this is a place I would even stay for longer than that. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and the free internet and printing facilities in the lobby made it even more convenient. The rooms were basic, but nicer than they had to be and seemed to have been recently renovated. good pressure in the shower too. This is not a fabulous honeymoon place or anything like that, but being in Rome isn't about your room anyway, and this was a clean, comfortable, convenient, and safe place to sleep in a city that is full of more expensive places that offer none of that.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smiling_everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed in a Quad room on the 4th floor for 3 nights in late July. Whilst it was a little squeezy we didn't spend a great deal of time in our rooms anyway (why would you when there is so much to see in Rome). The bathroom was modern, clean and did it's job and the beds we found comfortable. The reception is on the ground floor and the rooms are accessed via a really quaint, old fashioned lift (or you can take the stairs of course).
Breakfast was plentiful with the usual continental items and they will make your coffee according to your taste. Very convenient to all the sights, the Termini train station and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeyahale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Stayed 3 nights in the Quad room. Clean room with a nice bathroom. Location very convenient to get to sightseeing areas. Helpful English speaking staff. Breakfast was really nice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venus70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

A basic hotel which serves its purpose well!!! Hotel Sonya is a short walk from Termini station, about 5 - 10 minutes. Easy to reach all the sights. Free internet access was good! Staff were very helpful and friendly! Good security too. Photo on website is misleading, as it is the opera house not the hotel, so it caused us some confusion! Overall, happy with the hotel and it's reasonable price!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WantMoreHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Our family of four, including two boys ages 12 and 15, stayed two nights at the Hotel Sonya in late June. The staff were friendly and accommodating - our mini fridge did not seem to work properly and we needed it to keep some medication cool - they promptly had someone come and deal with the problem. The breakfast they provided was hearty and kept our two sons satisfied and we foudn the overall location an excellent place to be based from. In fact, we walked everywhere from the hotel...St Peters, the Colosseum, Spanish steps and the Trevi fountain. Beds were a bit hard but that seems to be par for the course in any European hotel. overall we were happy with the Hotel Sonya and our sons were happy that they did not have to share a bed in the Quad room!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubamom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We booked this hotel based on others recommendations. The location close to the Termini and walking distance of attractions is excellent as is the breakfast (continental). Yes the rooms are small but they have comfortable beds, great bathroom and are spotlessly clean. The price is also good value for Rome. The free internet connection was also great. The best thing however is the staff who speak excellent English and are amazingly helpful (especially Babul). We stayed twice and would not consider staying anywhere else even if our budget was larger.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#214 of 1,261 in Rome
1,214 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,261 in Rome
1,291 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#414 of 1,261 in Rome
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#106 of 1,261 in Rome
816 reviews
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#294 of 1,261 in Rome
966 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing