We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sonya is one of the best choises of Rome...”
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #238 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
athens
2 reviews
“Sonya is one of the best choises of Rome...”
Reviewed 15 January 2010

it's a very clear hotel with cooperative and friendly staff...the location of the hotel helps a lot if you don't hire a car.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guest_56Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    583
    187
    53
    38
See reviews for
354
644
63
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Probably should be 3 1/2 stars. Like almost all the hotels in Europe the rooms are tiny, so you can pretty much expect that anywhere you go. The staff was definitely 5 star, they were friendly, attentive and spoke english. However, we stayed there a while ago, so this may have changed.

We were surprised to see that the building isn't just a hotel, the rooms on the sides of ours on the 2nd floor had actual residents. Nothing bothersome, just not used to that. The room was clean, bathroom was fine, but no frills for the rooms really. We had 4 people so there was a double bed a single and I was pretty much given a glorified cot. But it wasn't too bad, and I couldn't really complain, had no trouble falling asleep. The room was quiet and even though we were facing the street there was hardly any street noise at all.

The continental breakfasts weren't anything to write home about, but they do still outshine any continental breakfast I've ever had in the US by far. Cappuccino was very good, as were the fresh croissants, deli meats and cheeses. There were other options, rolls, hard boiled eggs etc, and is serve yourself except for the coffee/juice.

Internet access was free, but just one computer by the check in desk.
The elevator is tiny, and I can't emphasize that enough. One or two people and maybe your luggage will fit. But the stairs weren't that bad.

The area is fine, didn't have a worry and felt ok walking around, even at night. It is within 15 minutes walking distance of the Trevi fountain and the Spanish steps. Colosseum was only 20 minutes. It is also right across the street from the Opera house and the train station is only a 10 minute walk.

If I were staying in Termini I wouldn't have a problem staying there again. But if you're looking for a big time hotel experience, with lavish decorations, big rooms and amenities, then you're gonna have to look elsewhere.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2010

we had 5 days in Rome and the whole experience was amazing. This hotel is exellently located, even though we used the metro one day - which was very convenient and cheap, the rest of the time we walked and found this no problem, the hotel is in resonable reach of everywhere. The rooms are warm, comfortable and clean, breakfast is good. ok no english breaky - but you are in rome!!!, the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The lift is an experience in its self - we loved it - it all adds to the feel of italy! Overall an exellent little hotel - i would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshireElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2009

We stayed here for six days at the end of October. We loved the pastry of the day for breakfast. The showers were modern. The room was quiet. The bed was comfortable. Via del Viminale is not extremely busy. There are some good moderately priced restaurants within walking distance--an Irish pub, gelato of course. We walked to San Clemente and the other churches in that district. We even wound up walking to the Colosseum. The metro is about two blocks away. The desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalachiConstant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraser valley, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

We booked this hotel on line direct with the hotel for 6 nights. When we arrived too early they took care of our luggage so we could start exploring around Rome.
Rooms were very clean and roomy and looked like they were renovated not too long ago.
Breakfast was good with very friendly staff, service realy good and the location is close to all the sites.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel. Excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenMar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2009

This hotel is about a 5 minute walk from Termini Train station and is a nice area of Rome. 2-3 minute walk to the metro (subway) at Piazza Republica makes getting to all areas of Rome very easy, or if you are in fair shape you can walk to main sites from hotel. We stayed for 4 nights, went to the Amalfi Coast, and came back for 2 more nights. The staff held our big luggage while we were gone so we didn't have to carry it all on the train / bus ride to Amalfi. Both rooms were very clean, breakfast was good, and the staff was friendly and very helfpul. Excellent hotel for the price!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmill527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2009

This hotel was a great choice for us. We had a comfortable room, in a great location for sightseeing (close to Termini Station (trains) and Cinquecento, the bus station) and a helpful and accommodating staff. In addition to all that, I thought their breakfast (which was included) was better than most other hotels we visited during our Italy trip. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guanabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#215 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#415 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#119 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#186 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing