We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #243 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Huizen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Feel at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Three days in Rome en and have been in Hotel Sonya. Such a warm welcome, friendly,helpfull and make you feel home. Rooms are not that big, but very clean and 10 minutes walk from several highlights. Breakfast is excellent! Capuchino and homade cakes, fabulous!! All this for a very good price.
We will be back!!!
Thanks for the wonderful stay at Sonya!
Dutch Diva's Bossina

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchDiva035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    568
    182
    50
    37
See reviews for
338
625
63
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

We picked Hotel Sonya after reading reviews on this site and it delivered - we preferred a hotel close to Termini as we knew after our long flight that we would want to walk there quick and start to explore the city. From check-in to check-out the experience was as good as it gets. The entire staff treated us and every other guest like family, we loved the breakfasts, the room was clean and the comfortable bed and pillows we miss. Having visited Rome before-we knew the location and its convenience to the Metro, buses, and within walking distance to so many sites on our must see list. The staff also recommended a local restaurant that we frequented a number of times - just around the corner. It doesn't get much better than Hotel Sonya for price/value.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Great hotel. Nice sized rooms, clean. Good prices (reduced if you pay in cash), free tasty breakfast every morning, free WIFI, very friendly staff. Great all around, would stay again on our next trip. Thanks Babul!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagojim312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Nice and clean room, very good breakfast, very good service and everybody was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolas086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

My wife and I spent 4 nights in the Hotel Sonya and were thoroughly pleased with our stay there. The location was perfect for us, since it is very close to the Roma Termini station (easy walk) and in a safe neighborhood. The room was clean and comfortable and the service was great - they had even arranged an advance reservation for us at the Galleria Borghese (a MUST-SEE in Rome!). The breakfast buffet was excellent. If we return to Rome in the future, as I hope we will, we would not hesitate to stay again at the Hotel Sonya.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimandjo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Already said..no objections,just perfect,for every kind of visit!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

We arrived too early so we had to store our luggage and come back at 2pm. Not a big deal. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Our room was much bigger than we expected, which makes it nice to stay 4 days and be able to move around. Had spacious closet, and clothes storage. Big king size memory foam bed with extra pillows. there was a hidden sink and stove behind the extra bed, that we never used. Mini fridge with non expensive contents. Room 444 looked modern. Bathroom nice size with shower. Flat screen tv with many satellite music channels to drink wine to. Big breakfast buffet with many options for different tastes. They make their own homemade baked goods. My only complaint is that our room when we would walk in smelled like bathroom disinfectant after someone had used it. Yes, a slight sewer smell being covered up by cleaner. Maybe happened 2 of our 4 nights. Not enough for me to voice a complaint but enough to notice it and open our windows to lessen the smell. Overall, a great hotel for the value. If I had to be in Rome again (not a Rome lover, so not sure if I will return to Rome), I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyCanada75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#201 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#127 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#423 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#124 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#185 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 2-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing