We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't get to stay and not happy with alternative”
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #244 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Booked the hotel Sonya about two months before our stay. Arrived about 21.30, tired and were disappointed to be told we were staying in their other hotel down the street , the Hotel Opera. Have written a review on this hotel and overall we were disappointed and we were told that this is their 'new more modern better hotel', as quoted by the receptionist.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cath32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

Front desk was friendly enough. The breakfast server was excellant. He was very friendly and quick to serve us.

I must say I was disappointed based on the Tripadvisor reviews I had read. I wasn't expecting a luxury 5 star hotel but more than what we got. for our money Room was very outdated. We had water up to our ankles everytime we showered. It was a little bit better after maintainence came but still backed up. There was a horrible smell coming from the bidet so we had to keep the bathroom door closed when we were in the room. Outside noice was pretty bad that I kept thinking the window was open.

We thought staying near the train station would be convienent but this area didn't have the character that other parts of Rome have. We paid the most per night for this hotel as opposed to the other 4 hotels we stayed in during our trip to Spain/Italy. Those other hotels far surpassed this hotel in accommodations and value. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenndoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We arrived in rome and came out the wrong exit from the station but with our little pocket map, we found the hotel and realised if we had come out the main exit we would have got to the hotel by following just a simple road.

It had the most amazing old fashion lift, beyond which was the reception, we checked our luggage in as we were too early to check in, so we went to get some food. There are sooo many lovely places to eat around there! The are is so lovely to just sit near a fountain and eat gelato all day long!

We entered our room, which for the two of us was great. The bed was confortable - but watch out for the gap in the middle of the bed. The decor was great and cosy. The TV placed in a nice place (only 2/3 english channels) and most of all the Bathroom was nice too. I think we had found ourselves a lovely romantic hotel.

Our 5 days went very quickly, everything is in wlking distance of the hotel. Rome can be very expensive for alcohol however if you smoke they are much cheaper than Britain. The hotel staff were very welcoming, everynight we returned late the hotel door would open automatically and the reception person would always give us a little wave. Its thhose little touches that make the difference.

I love every moment in rome, it is the most beautiful city i have visited and me and my partner have decided we will come again very soon.

Thanks you

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BonExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Just returned from a three night stay.the hotel was in a great location between the termini and republica metro stations.I found the area very safe despite what I had read.we walked everywhere from the hotel,except to the vatican.we bought €1 one way metro tickets for this journey.our room was clean,with a large king bed and everything you need.the breakfast was basic but adequate and the breakfast staff were very friendly.

Overall I'd recommend the hotel for anyone on a budget who wants somewhere clean,secure and within walking distance of the sights.

Tips: go to the trevi fountain at midnight... Very romantic&mufh quieter than during th day.

Buy Ur ticket for the colosseum/roman forum/palantine hill at the forum entrance as the queues are much smaller

Precook your Vatican tickets,so glad we did when I spotted the huge line.we were able to go straight to security.

Watch out for hidden service charges in restaurants... In one we were given a basket of stale bread at €3 per person.I asked them to take it away but was charged for it as they said the €3 included a service charge.this was not stated on the menu.

Walk everywhere,its the best way to stumble upon hidden gems.we loved Rome and will definitely return to hotel sonya

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellyaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Small,but great Hotel to stay in. Great location. Newly decorated rooms and window opens up to welcome the fresh air in.
Carrefour supermarket just diagonally opposite and great to get water and necessities.
Everything inside our hotel room was relatively new. A comfortable stay.
Free internet. Breakfast, though not continental, has a special feel to it.
Loved the potato pie and others. Definitely filling and a great way to start a day in rome exploring the great city.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We did a post and pre hotel stay at Hotel Sonya. We loved this little "botique" hotel. The location was great, right across from the Opera House. It was within walking distance of Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, close to the underground. We had a nice choice of places to eat within walking distance.
We arrived early in the day (8:00a.m.), the hotel staff was very accommadateing and placed our bags in a holding area and notified us that they would try and get our room ready a.s.a.p. We did a walk about, had a great coffee and snack and upon return to hotel about 2 hrs. later we were escorted to our room.
The room was updated and very modern. The air worked great although we opened the window for fresh air and the sounds of Italy.
In the morning the staff provides a great breakfast. Although it is described as continental it was sufficient to fill us up. They have a little kitchen right off one of the dining rooms, besides baked goods, they have yogurt, fruit, meats (pkg.ed), cereal, hard boiled eggs, and best of all for me fresh expresso. I'm sure I'm missing a few things but you get the point.
Another bonus is the free internet in the lobby. They have 3 stations set up and because of the size of the hotel I never had a problem. The staff also printed off all travelling docs. that we needed. They were very helpful in setting up a tour for us and arranging travel to our cruise. I would stay here again...

Sandy

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy29917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Very Nice hotel, with good service.
Tip, rent à scooter for à day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rens72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#215 of 1,272 in Rome
1,280 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#473 of 1,272 in Rome
626 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#88 of 1,272 in Rome
973 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#158 of 1,272 in Rome
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £42 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing