We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing boutique hotel in the Historic area near Trevi, etc.”
Review of Hotel Julia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julia
Ranked #324 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing boutique hotel in the Historic area near Trevi, etc.”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This trip was a gift to my Mother--her first trip to Italy! We arrived mid-afternoon to find no room booked. (I had booked the hotel via the internet the day before, however, the charge did not go through (overly-cautious credit card company!). The owner came out, checked on-line and then CALLED Booking.com to make certain that there was no other hotel booked, saying "you don't want to have to pay for 2 rooms"!!! AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!! It was late and the hotel was booked; however, they managed to find a sweet little double room for us!! Then, may I see your passports? OMG!!! We had left them in the apartment in Florence that we were renting! Long story short--she accepted our USA drivers licenses and we were 'back in business'!!! We had a WONDERFUL visit in Rome and Vatican City . The breakfast was not only fabulous, but included!! Then time to check-out and head back to Florence. She only charged us 78EU for the room!!! We were sooo shocked... and grateful!! What started out to be a disaster, turned into one of our most memorable days in Italy!!! THANK YOU HOTEL JULIA!!!! We will be in touch in May 2014--our next trip to Italy!!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a 'bad' room there. It is exceptionally clean, well maintained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RVTedesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    292
    122
    37
    26
See reviews for
75
227
131
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed at Julia hotel for 4 nights mid November. We arrived in the morning and they offered us a cup of coffee for free. We had a very small room (but the bathroom was very big). As promised in the hotel website, the next night they offered us a bigger room (upgrade) for free (the first night the hotel was fully booked). Location is really fantastic as it is close to almost all famous attractions (by foot), to Fontana di Trevi and the Spanish steps and other famous attractions in Rome. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We shall recommend this hotel to friend travelling to Rome.

Room Tip: The standard double rooms are very small, better booking a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elic41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband, 11 year old and 14 year old spent two nights at the Hotel Julia when we first arrived in Rome. We stayed in a family room. The room consisted of two singles beds in the first room (with a wash basin and towels hidden in a cupboard) - this room also has a tv. The next room has a double bed (may be a queen) and it has the bathroom. It is all rather compact but clean and has everything you may need. Its quiet and I loved the fact it has opening windows as you could look at the street below. Breakfast was everything you could want for a continental breakfast and all the reception staff were very helpful and welcoming. It is in a great location. We ate dinner one night in a restautant offering a very reasonable 3 course meal deal that was only about 150 metres from the hotel (on the way to the Trevi). It was really great rustic Italian food and had a great waiter. I wish I could remember the name! The Trevi Fountain is a 5 - 10 minute walk away. When we left the hotel to catch the train to Venice (before returning to Rome a week later) we managed to walk to the Termini, even with heavy bags. Its a walk but its possible. Without bags it would be really easy. If you are looking for a safe, no fuss, central, well priced hotel with helpful staff then Hotel Julia is a find. Family rooms are always hard to find in Europe and this one is recommended if you arent expecting 5 stay luxury. It has everything a busy family requires!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucindaarmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed at Julia hotel for 4 nights this week. We were two couples and booked the small double rooms.
Location is really terrific, close to Fontana di Trevi and the Spanish steps. We actually toured all central Rome by foot (we were lucky to have the sun shining most of the time- November !!).
Staff was very attentive and helpful with all our requests.
Rooms turned out really small, and our friends asked for a little bigger room. The hotel was fully booked that day, but the day after they got a much bigger room, with no extra charge.
Buffet breakfast was included and was good (no vegetables, though) and we enjoyed a good cappuccino cup every morning (on arrival they offered a cappuccino cup and refused being paid for that).
Will recommend this place for all our friends travelling to Rome.

Room Tip: Small double is really really small, though bathroom was surprisingly spacious. For us the standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Each time I visit beautiful Rome, I stay at the Hotel Julia. It is in such a great location! You can walk all over the city...see all of the sights and enjoy all of the wonderful restaurants in the area. The staff is warm, friendly and helpful....the rooms clean (although some are small) ....the breakfast offers many choices. Overall, a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Verify room size and availability of a shower in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvs2travl139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Me and my husband went a few days to Rome for a short honeymoon end of October 2013. We didn't choose the most luxury hotel because we were planning to explore the city from early morning until the evening. Our double standard room was quite small, but okay. I would recommend the hotel because of the friendly staff and the great central location. It's really close to the trevi fountain. The breakfast buffet was rather basic, but okay and the breakfast room a bit too small (we saw on one morning that some people had to wait for a spot). On the website, the hotel says that for honeymoons, they offer guests on arrival a small bottle of champagne or wine accompanied by snacks. Although we mentioned that it was our honeymoon on our booking form, we didn't receive anything upon arrival. We are not the kind of people to ask for it, but it would have been nice to see they keep their promises, that was a little disappointment... On our last day, we found out there is a free computer and printer to use, ask for it at the lobby. Wifi is also free.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milkie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great location, good service and staff. The rooms are basic but comfortable.
Stayed with my wife in the small double room, the wifi didn't work so well in the room but was fine in the lobby. Overall we was happy from the location and the staff, breakfast was good, the room was very basic but good for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Barak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#169 of 1,257 in Rome
762 reviews
Trevi
Domus Julia
Domus Julia
#672 of 1,257 in Rome
71 reviews
Trevi
Residenza Ki Rome
Residenza Ki Rome
#343 of 1,257 in Rome
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel De Petris
Hotel De Petris
#489 of 1,257 in Rome
1,370 reviews
Trevi
Hiberia Hotel
Hiberia Hotel
#210 of 1,257 in Rome
1,030 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#221 of 1,257 in Rome
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julia

Property: Hotel Julia
Address: Via Rasella 29, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#259 Family Hotel in Rome
#337 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Julia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Julia - Rome Centre Located in the historic center of Rome between Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Barberini and the famous Via Veneto the three star Hotel Julia offers its guests a pleasant and peaceful stay. Since 1949 Rome Hotel Julia 3 stars offers nice accommodations to its guests for a quiet and pleasant stay. The Rome Hotel Julia occupies an entire small palace of 1800's century completely restructured located in the historic Via Rasella with a facade to a quiet small street adjoining the presidential palace of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing