We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice hotel near to the city center at a reasonable price!”
Review of Caravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caravel Hotel
Ranked #142 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed here on our 3-days trip to Rome, we booked a 3 bed room. Though the hotel is under construction, they are doing refurbishing, making it from old to new, it's not disturbing at all. They are not working, making noise on the weekend and on weekdays they start only at 9 in the morning, so you won't be disturbed when you want to have rest.
The room was beautiful, clean and very new. And surprisingly, perfectly big enough for 3 persons!
The breakfast (which is included in the price) was fairly good. Not a wide choice of food, but I'm pretty sure that you could find what you like. Cold cuts, cheese, cerial, yoghurt, pastries, 3 kinds of juice, milk, coffee, whatever you like. And the place ("restaurant") is amazing. Bright and modern and the enteriour is beautiful.
Most of the staff was friendly and they could answer all of our (not too difficult) questions, though they weren't on the top of recommending restaurants nearby.
The hotel itself is not in the city center but there are plenty buses stop at the hotel (almost in front of it there are even 2 bus stops) and you can get by the Termini Station or by the Circus Maximus in 10-15 minutes, and except Sunday, the buses come relatively often.
There's even a Carrefour store maybe a 5 minutes walk far.
You cannot really find restaurants though near to the hotel. There is a long road near to it where you can find small coffee bars and pizzerias (mostly take away pizzas), but you have to walk all the way down to a big crossroad to find a not too expensive but cosy family restaurant.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone who doesn't want to spend to much time in the hotel, because the transportation is good and the surroundings are quiet what you need after you get back from a long day in the crowded and loud city!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tikky84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
There are newer reviews for Caravel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

C. Colombo street is very noisy.
Traffic is massive. But despite that when windows are closed - there are no noise in room.
air conditioning works really great. Breakfast - good, u can choose from cerial, sandwiches, yougurt, milk, cake, juice, coffe, tea, water etc.

Hotel a bit old fashioned. also only one lift (for 8 floor hotel), ~1.5km to metro.
These are bad points.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My sister an i arrived on Christmas Day, we were a bit early and as always the room would only be ready at 14H00, The receptionist on duty was not very friendly, in fact the only receptionist who was friendly and very helpful was one we woke up at 3AM to open the door for us after we had got horribly lost.
Two of our friends joined a day later - we had booked a triple share room and asked for a 4th bed to be put in our room (the staff were gladly able to assist)
The room itself was very basic; we traveled in winter so the room was very cold (heating only went on after 5.
Another issue i had was the shower, Water was not very warm at all in fact luke warm, when we enquired we were told its as hot as it gets. The walls are paper thin and you can hear the staff as early as 5 starting breakfast or cleaning up.

Breakfast is very basic as well, but sufficient.

The hotel is not very central however there is a bus stop just a few steps away from the door and metro (Garbatella on the blue line) just a little further up the road, so getting to the Historical City centre isnt a hassle. Should you need a cab, it should cost you about 14euro, double for a return journey.

Overall its not too bad but not great either. If yoiu're on a strict budget, stay here.

If you’re planning a trip to Italy and planning on spending a minimal amount of time in the Hotel then stay here. If you want to spoil yourself, don’t bother.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

If you are happy with a basic hotel, then this may suit you. Rooms are adequate but dated - noise from other rooms invades. Minibar empty apart from two small bottles of mineral water. Bathroom supplies minimal. Breakfast is fairly ordinary. Located out of the main tourist area, you have to bus into the city (can be complicated at the Rome end) or walk 10 mins to the Metro (trains are good). Limited restaurants to choose from - one near the hotel is ok but staff less than enthusiastic.
Desk staff at hotel unhelpful, rude and show little interest in assisting your stay. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jools3137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I liked very much that Hotel. It has a very good location, 10 minutes from the metro station Garbatella from where you can go in all the places.
The breakfast was delicious, we also had a mini-fridge with 2 bottles of mineral water wich were exactly what we needed when we used to arrive at 11 pm in the room. There is also a supermarket near this Hotel.
A very nice and polite girl cleaned our room every morning and we were very happy with that. In the room there were very beautiful pictures with views of the city of Rome. I will definitely stay again there and I hope the conditions will remain the same. Thank you for everything ! The Christmas in Rome was a dream and it came true !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex_Vasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

The hotel is basic, clean and the breakfast is good. The location in me opinion is ok, because is in a quiet neighborhood, and not to far from the historical center.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofia_psm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Hotel was clean and meet our needs but off the beaten path. Had to take buses to center every day to sightsee which wasted a lot of time. Most of the buses were easy to figure out except the one to the vatican. We ended up riding around for 2 hours because we got on the wrong bus or needed to get a transfer after the first bus which the hotel neglected to tell us, I'm not sure which one. Would recommend this hotel if you don't mind taking the bus every day to get into the city, otherwise pick one closer to the center of Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrocca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#116 of 1,267 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#223 of 1,267 in Rome
645 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#215 of 1,267 in Rome
266 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#92 of 1,267 in Rome
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravel Hotel

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 124/c, 00147 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ostiense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Rome
#56 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#86 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#149 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £60 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing