We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caravel Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$380
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$463
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$365
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$933
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$408
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,027)
Filter reviews
1,027 results
Traveller rating
400
460
125
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
460
125
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarbatella metro stationvery busy main roadcristoforo colombopastriesminute bus ridefree safebuy a tickettea making facilitieshotel is moderncentre of romecontinental breakfastvending machinefresh towelspublic transportspoke good englishhamjust returned from a night stay
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 1,027 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I was brought to this hotel by a taxy driver after i had a bad experience at Beautiful Hotel and i requested him to drive me to Ibis but he suggested and drove me to to Caravel Hotel. It is close to subway station Garbatella. The staff are ok. Cleaning was ok also e breakfast was perfect. I disapprove only the fail on wi fi signal which I had problems to use it from my room which was on 5th floor. I strongly recommend a hotel in this area instead of in Roma Termini area which has a lot of homeless during the night. Close to this hotel you can find restaurants, ice cream store and super market.If you dont want to walk few steps until the subway station Garbatella, you can get the bus in front of hotel and reach most of main attractions in Rome. I recommend this place for everyone and I would return there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Carlos Rodrigo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bucuresti
12
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We liked very much the hotel, the room were very clean. Very good the breakfast. Nice people to the reception. Easy to arrive in the city centre from the hotel, at 3 station by subway and until subway 10 minutes to walk. The bus station is also near the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with fru.pl
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I booked a 4 night stay at this hotel for me and my husband as part of a present for his birthday. I emailed the hotel directly the week before we went to ask if I could book any extras like wine or chocolates for the room as it was for a special occasion, and they replied saying we could have a bottle of wine for free.

On arriving at the hotel, check in was very quick, and the reception staff very helpful and welcoming. Our room on the 4th floor was very clean, spacious and modern, with a white/neutral colour scheme, TV with an 'on demand' music service, and comfortable bed. As the hotel is on a busy main road there was some traffic noise at night but nothing loud enough to bother us or keep us awake.

The breakfast at the hotel was also very nice, and included a choice of pastries, cereal, fruit, yoghurts, bread buns, meat and cheese, with fruit juice, coffees and tea to drink. There did not appear to be any cooked options, but there was still more than enough to choose from.

The only drawback to the hotel for us was the location, which was a bit further out of the centre than we would have liked. We mainly used the metro to get about, and the nearest stop was a 10/15 minute walk from the hotel, so not ideal to come back from a day sightseeing to freshen up before going out for an evening meal, but hardly a huge problem either. The metro station (Garbatella) was only 3 stops from the Colosseum, and 4 from the Termini station, where you can change for the other metro lines and main rail services.

Although we would probably choose a more central hotel if we went back to Rome, I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone, as both the room and the service were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MerryMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Super clean, sleek bedrooms: hardwood floors, all white scheme, divine mattresses and bathrooms with top quality plumbing ...and heated towel racks. Nice and helpful staff. To get to the touristic spots, we mostly took the cab, very cheap. The subway station is a 10 min walk from the hotel. Nearby ( walking distance) there is the new Eatery, a trendy place to eat all kind of delicious italian dishes. We all loved our stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bxltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at the Caravel for 12 nights recently and can highly recommend this hotel. It is only 3 train stations stop from the centre of Rome. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the reception staff could not be more helpful and welcoming. The Resturant is very nice and offers a good selection on the menu and again, the staff could not be more helpful. Breakfast in the morning is a vast array of choices, something for everyone. We can also recommend the cafe next door for coffee and sandwiches.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandi2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews