We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but good location for the sights buses easy once you know how”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caravel Hotel
Ranked #125 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic but good location for the sights buses easy once you know how”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed in the hotel caravel in a family room 3 adults 1 teenager we were surprised to find that the room could easily hold a double and 2 single beds wardrobe and fridge with plenty of room to move around. The bath room was also a good size only complaint was the shower was attached to the bath not wall so had to hold it and the place could get very wet.
Breakfast was good cereals, fruit, pastries rolls staff constantly refilling.

The metro is a 10-15 walk at the top of the road turn left out of the hotel then left again then keep walking till you come to the top and turn left links to all sights.
The bus stop is across the road from the hotel 714 to termini station where you can also get the metro to sights the no 30express takes you to the Vatican get off just after you cross the bridge with the statues. The tickets for the bus can only be bought from the tabbacci turn left out of hotel and left at the next street cross the road to the group of shops and take the first street and follow the “big” T signs or at the metro station 1,3 and 7days tickets can be used on metro and bus.

There are 2 restaurants at the hotel we ate in the one to the right of the hotel and also got the best takeaway pizza from them.
We booked our Vatican and Colosseum tours through Dark Rome they made the holiday very informative interactive and above all fun
In all a basic but good hotel in an excellent location

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serenity_valley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    381
    97
    21
    16
See reviews for
153
334
28
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We have just returned from a 7 night stay in Rome at Hotel Caravel in July 2010.

Our stay at this hotel was booked well in advance, thus affording us a reasonable rate for an extended stay in Rome, but I would imagine the hotel's location contributes heavily to this as it is a fair walk from the city centre.

The room we stayed in was small and basic, but clean and reasonably comfortable at the same time. The bathroom could have done with a little redecoration and at first it seemed as though a funny smell was coming from the air conditioner, but we may have been suffering the effects of a long days travelling and after a night’s sleep, we became more accustomed to our room, although it certainly would not have hurt to have at least one extra pillow in the room, but this all depends on personal preference. The walls are a bit thin too....I think the room next to us were jumping on the bed at 3am or something....

A MAJOR plus point for this room was that we were given a complimentary fridge and safe, which, when travelling on a student budget, certainly eases financial pressures. There is a large supermarket behind this hotel, where we were able to purchase fruit, sandwich fillings and other items which helped save on the often over priced food in central Rome.

Our booking included breakfast, which was a cold buffet consisting of breads, cheese, sliced meat, cereals and fruit juices. A little disappointing was the fact that there was no variation in the breakfast menu on different days, but, for the money we paid, this was certainly sufficient.

For a nice meal without the central Rome price tag, try the V. Hugo restaurant just a few doors down from this hotel. Definitely worth a try!

As a side note, the internet in the hotel was extremely slow!

As the title of this review would suggest, be prepared for a bit of a walk to reach anything as the local area leaves much to be desired for tourist attractions. We happen to enjoy walking, and even one day walked from the hotel to central Rome, taking about 45 minutes.

The nearest metro station is "Garbatella", which is at least 10 minutes walk away. You can take a bus to the top of the street but these were not as frequent as I would have liked, so most of the time we walked to the metro station. However, once at Garbatella, you can be in central Rome in less than 5 minutes. Also, be aware that the metro trains do not run as late as in other major cities, so if you are planning to stay out until after 1am, be prepared to either walk (or stumble...depending on your choice of night out) or pay at least 20 Euros for a taxi. If you are less able to walk distances or travelling with someone who is unable to do so, you should perhaps consider a more central hotel.

Some general tips that we think may be helpful to anyone visiting Rome on a budget:

If you are staying for more than 3 days, consider a Week-long metro ticket. This can be used on metro trains and buses, though not the "hop on hop off" tour buses that operate in the city centre, and cost just 8 Euros each.

BE EXTREMELY CAREFUL OF BEGGARS/THIEVES etc etc: I actually caught one woman with her fingers in my pocket in Termini station and consider myself very lucky that she did not manage to steal anything.

Learn some basic Italian. Whilst the hotel staff and some waiters in Rome were good at communicating in English, most other Romans are not as proficient as you may think, so learning some basic phrases or even just words will aid you greatly.

Fountains! Rome is full of fountains, which provided us with relief from the 40 Degree temperatures. We always carried a bottle or two of water and refilled every hour or so. Not only does this stop dehydration in such temperatures, it will also save you a lot of cash as many shops sell a normal bottle of coke for as much as 3.50 Euros!

If you are eating in central Rome on a budget, consider the side streets around many of the main attractions. Prices can be reduced as much as 50% and the quality if often just as good.

Taxis in Rome charge by time spent in the vehicle, so consider public transport if you need to travel during peak times

In all, we would certainly stay here again for an extended stay, but in all honesty, Rome is not a big city and the majority of sites can be seen in 4 days or less, so if you are not constrained by budget, a more central hotel may be better suited to you.

If however, like us, you are trying to be cost effective and don't mind a bit of a walk, then this hotel would be perfect for your needs!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luke1152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

the hotel is very bad located. Far away of everything.....and the bus service in Rome is complicated because of the traffic. So we wasted a lot of time in the buses trying to get to the downtown instead of have fun and actually known the spectacular city of Rome.
Besides the receptionist were not nice...... always mad at everything......
And the hotel is old and the rooms not so clean.....
I would not get back to this hotel......

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Normita92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashkent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

Located in a green area, big rooms, well equipped bathroom, air conditioner, refrigerator. Window’ lovely view. Irritating some rooms are windows facing to highway, hotel situated in business district. I recommend stay there

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent_Old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

I found Hotel Caravel a very nice and convenient hotel. Roos were spacious and clean, although the bathroom was old and not very comfortable. Our room was at the backyard, so there was no noise!! The breakfast was good, although I did not like the coffee (my opinion) and I would like more things in the boufet!! Another, negative was that there was no mini bar at the whole Hotel!!! The staff was very helpfull and very polite. Outside the hotel, about 5 min walk, there was a bus station were you could go to the city centre of Rome in 15-20 minutes. The distance between the airport and the hotel is about 40-50 minutes and it is very easy to find your way and, of course you do not have to take a taxi (taxi at Rome are very expensive). I would definately recommend this hotel even though it is not near centre!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarouGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

Very nice hotel in a very nice area, rooms are very clean and spacious, equiped with a fridge, the staff are very nice and helpful, breakfast is very good, close to bus station and metro.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdelhadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

1). Noisy hotel - The hotel has very thin walls so everything can be heard from outside and from the other rooms. Basically you will have very few hours of silence between maybe 12.00 am and 8.00 am - as of 8.30 am the cleaning starts and they do not care about customers anymore (the move beds, the use the very noisy vacuum clear, etc) - so very, very noisy hotel.
2). Ugly rooms - The rooms are old, old. Old furniture, ugly bathroom.
3). Poor breakfast - same menu everyday - 1 type of cheese, 1 type of salami, 1 type of bacon. Some cereals, and some sweets. That all - for us 1 week the same stuff was too much!
4). Location - 20 min from the city center with bus 160 (that passes very rarely) and buses 30, 130. Metro station was 15 min walk distance. To go to Termini central station you have to take bus 715 - aprox. 20 min.
I would advise not to choose it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreea_P2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#122 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Hotel Poggioverde
#115 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Pirandello
#95 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Monteverde
Le Fate Apartments
Le Fate Apartments
#141 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravel Hotel

Property: Caravel Hotel
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 124/c, 00147 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ostiense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Rome
#56 Family Hotel in Rome
#58 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#71 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#149 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caravel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing