We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and affordable small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Ranked #414 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, NC
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Comfortable and affordable small hotel”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We ended up at the Emona Aquaeductus from an affordable Hotwire offer, and Hotwire placed the hotel in the Termini Station zone. While it is within walking distance of Termini, it is a long walk and would be difficult with lots of luggage. The hotel also is located in the direction from Termini away from many of the main tourist sites. However, if you don't mind walking a bit, the location is okay, and it definitely worked for us.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were impressed with the lovely courtyard. Also, the lobby was bright and decorated with interesting, eclectic artwork and furnishings. The host provided us with a good city map and a suggested route for visiting the main tourist sites efficiently. We utilized her itinerary, which was excellent.

We had requested a quiet room, and we ended up facing the courtyard on one of the upper floors. It was quiet indeed and also comfortable. The room had beautiful tile floors, a couch, two single beds pushed together in the typical European fashion with soft sheets, and a clean and functional bathroom. The artwork in the room was imaginative. The air conditioning worked well. We definitely found the room to be restful, comfortable, and bright.

Breakfast was included, and it included a good and varied selection. There were meats, cheeses, eggs, melons, tomatoes, and desserts. All the food was fresh and tasty, and the staff continually refilled the platters and coffee urns.

Given the price we paid, I would definitely return to the Emona Aquaeductus. My only desire would be to have a hotel a bit closer either to Termini or to the main tourist sites; however, the quality of the hotel more than made up for the extra walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NC_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    172
    68
    43
    13
See reviews for
56
184
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I got this from an Expedia secret hotel deal bid for 77 Euro/night in June which I think is a pretty good deal. We also stayed at Hotel Diocleziano for 182 Euro/night and Hotel Mecenate Palace for 110 Euro/night. Again, I am not going too deep to debate about the Italian hotel star systems as all 3 of these hotels call themselves 4 stars.

I think this is more like an inn than a hotel (in North American standard). Location is a bit far from Manzoni metro station (600 meters / 10 minutes from metro according to google map) especially if you have to drag your luggages across. With the money saved from hotel cost though, you could probably call a cab to and back from places.

My room is pretty big with high ceilings (bigger than the other 2 hotels) and it is pretty quiet without any noise from traffics (courtyard facing). Temperature control from the shower sometimes don't function too well (sudden drop of water temperatures) but no big deal as the temperature outside is pretty hot (30+ degrees). Air conditioning is alright. Breakfast is alright (coffee is pretty good). Elevator is a pretty weird shape though (triangular) and doesn't fit much in one (max one person with two large size luggages). Wi-fi works well. Service is pretty good if you didn't get the owner serving you (he seems grumpy). We stayed 3 nights and would even rank this higher than Mercenate Palace.

But I do think this hotel needs some bathroom renovation and probably should change the style of the bed covers and furnitures.

Room Tip: Always ask for an inside facing room higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rcli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

1. This hotel is not in the center of Rome, but it is on the tourist map and it is only a 5 minute walk to the metro line, trams are even closer if you are brave enough to catch one. It is also within walking distance of the Colosseum and S.Giovanni.

2. It is affordable, cheap even compared to many hotels in Rome.

3. Breakfast is included, and is very good. Big selection of fruits, bread, yoghurt, they have bacon and eggs, a coffee machine and tea selection, and also cold cuts of meat and cheese. Plenty of food and they do replenish throughout the morning.

4. There is a cute courtyard with a live in cat, where you can eat breakfast or even just sit with a bottle of wine.

5. The rooms are big enough, the beds comfortable. High ceilings and great sleep quality in the rooms overlooking the courtyard. There are wooden shutters and also an electric blind. We slept so well.

6. One downside was that despite the 'do not disturb' sign being placed on the door one day, the staff came in anyway. Big negative for me, as I expect my privacy to be respected. After raising it with reception however, it didn't happen again.

7. WiFi is free, it worked well for 2 out of our 3 days, the other it just wasn't working. I think that is just European temperamental WiFi though.

8. Air con in the rooms works fine, and you need it in summer in Rome!

9. Staff are friendly enough, but it depends who you get as some English is limited.

We'd stay here again if we returned to Roma.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed there for about five days and have nothing to complain about.Its nicely located with a metro stop in less than 10min walking distance and the bus/tram stop is is about 2min waking from the hotel.Yet its very ul and not noisy at all. No 5 and 14 directly goes to Termini train station which is also quite near. The rooms are clean and the breakfast was also decent.free wifi available in the room. the best thing about the hotel that I liked is that they are very friendly and helpful. There will always be someone available at reception to help you to plan a day tour or suggest some nice cheap restaurant.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Suryachess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Let's start by saying that our stay at the hotel was at the end of a 2.5 week trip with many fantastic hotels and little gems along the way. This wasnt really one of them. The price was decent though I still think bit over priced. The highlights of this hotel are: clean sheets and bathroom which I really enjoyed. The breakfast is decent, and it was included so thumbs up there. It is not as some reviewers said, the best food in Italy. It's decent. The wireless sometimes worked, but not very often in the room. They have a computer in the lobby you can use. The staff are not very friendly and got mad because we took the key out of the room, though no one told us we had to leave it behind at the front desk. The location is fairly good as well since its close to Termini (15 minutes walking), metros and some good sights. Otherwise, the hotel looks like a hoarders place. There are trinkets and odds and ends everywhere. Very eclectic style. I give it 3 stars as the breakfast, wireless and close proximity to Termini were great, plus the clean sheets. This is not a modern hotel. It was good for 2 nights but I wouldnt return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dane417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during Christmas and had a pleasant stay. The entrance of the Hotel and the lobby is very beautiful and artistic, but the room itself is average. Very helpful front desk staff, they give you all the maps you may need and also provide very good advice on the places of interest in Rome. The wifi signal was bad in our room and they got it fixed immediately. The breakfast is great!! Hotel is a short walk from Manzoni metro line, convenient and good place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meerams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We got this hotel via Expedia unpublished hotel deal. We stayed here 3 nights and had 2 rooms booked.

From the many negative review on TripAdvisor, we expected much worse. In reality this is a nice little hotel within walking distance to the metro and close to all of Rome's important attractions. I think the benefits of staying at this hotel more than outweigh the drawbacks. I do feel that a renovation, especially to the furnishings, would go a long way. The hotel is not quite on par with North American standards but no major complaints really.

+ Amazing buffet breakfast. Best we had in a European hotel. Eggs, toast, bacon, selection of salami, yogurts, freshly squeezed juices, and even bocconcini salad! This definitely made our stay!
+ The courtyard is just beautiful with the fountain and all the flowers. Makes for a very pleasant evening just sitting around with a bottle of red.
+ Useful and attentive staff.
+ Free for use computer downstairs with fast internet.
+ 5-10 minute walk to metro station.
+ Low price relative to many other hotels in the area.
+ Clean
+ Nice lobby and overall atmosphere

- Small rooms
- Old squeaky furniture, although the bed was still pretty comfy
- A/C in one of the rooms did not work (trust me you want A/C in the summer)
- Room safe is a joke (it's bolted to a removable shelf)

Room Tip: A room facing the courtyard and/or small street are probably quieter. Make sure the room you get has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vadik_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Latinum
Hotel Latinum
#602 of 1,258 in Rome
222 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#281 of 1,258 in Rome
1,621 reviews
Hotel Turner
#696 of 1,258 in Rome
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#322 of 1,258 in Rome
636 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#271 of 1,258 in Rome
927 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#484 of 1,258 in Rome
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emona Aquaeductus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emona Aquaeductus

Property: Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Address: Via Statilia 23, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#220 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Emona Aquaeductus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Emona Aquaeductus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emona Aquaeductus Hotel
Emona Aquaeductus Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing