We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in Roma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Ranked #623 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointed in Roma”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

At the end of our 8 day Amalfi Coast Food and Wine Tour we spent the last night at this hotel. While it is centrally located, that was the only good thing. The rooms were "cleaned" but the carpet, drapes and 25 year old bed covers etc. were so laden with cigarette smoke and dust it was gross. The bathroom had been recently renovated and notwithstanding the incredibly tiny shower, it was nice. The elevators were scary, very small and not reliable. I guess taking all those stairs was better for our health in the long run! The breakfast was provided in a very small backroom. The area was very awkward and uncomfortable, and the food offerings were not great. We ended up leaving and grabbing a cappuccino and croissant at a store two doors down. I did not enjoy my stay at this hotel and was very eager to board the bus to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ONTfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    140
    120
    39
    33
See reviews for
141
166
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel is opposite Santa Maria Maggiore church, within easy walking distance of Termini station (5 minutes) and the colosseum (15 minutes). We were greeted by friendly reception staff. The room was an average size for a city hotel with a comfortable bed. The furniture within the room was a little tired as was the en-suite. However, the room and en-suite were both spotlessly clean and thoroughly cleaned each day. Considering it's location, the whole hotel was wonderfully quiet and peaceful, which made it a pleasure to come back to after a day's sightseeing. Air conditioning worked very well and was quiet enough to leave on all night. There are elements of bygone grandeur to this hotel with lots of marble and sweeping staircases. Again these were all kept spotlessly clean and were quiet and peaceful. Unfortunately, the biggest let down of this hotel was the breakfast, which was not what we would expect from a 4 star hotel. There was a distinct lack of variety, with a poor and barely warm cooked breakfast (hot dog sausage, scrambled egg and haricot beans). The pastries were rather soggy and very sweet. Although breakfast was served from 07.00 - 10.30, on the days that we ate at 09.45, the coffee was lukewarm at best, had almost run out and was not replenished. There was no hot water and tea bags. Cereals consisted of three types; cornflakes, something that resembled coco pops and muesli. Yoghurts appeared to be served at room temperature. Cold meats and cheeses were also available.
Overall, in our opinion this is more of a three and a half star hotel. However, despite our reservations, the location is excellent and the hotel is very clean and very quiet so we would be happy to stay there again, particularly if they improved the quality of the breakfast to a true 4 star level.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat-Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were sent over to this hotel from our hotel after they had a complication with our room. We thought with it being a 4 star hotel, it would live up to it's 4 star standards! This hotel was a disappointment. Our room was suppose to have Wifi in it but upon arriving, it did not. We called the front desk and were told they would "reset" the server. On our final call to have the wifi fixed, so we could conduct business in the United States, the staff was rude and told us we could go down to the garden wifi at 10pm at night and conduct our business. Our boarding passes were printed on a printer with no ink so nothing was legible and they felt that was sufficient. The morning of our departure we asked them to call a taxi. We were offered their car service that would take more than 45 mins to get there and cost more than the 48 euro flat rate. We were told finding a Rome taxi would be "difficult" and "near impossible". My family and I took our chances and decided to hail our own taxi. Right outside the hotel's front door was the local taxi hub with over 50 taxi cabs waiting. We felt deceived and mistreated. We stayed at 3 hotels prior to this all over Italy and Hotel Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi's breakfast was by far the worst. My family and I DO NOT recommend this hotel and hope you will not waste your time nor money here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel was booked through British Airways. It supposedly has four stars but appeared sadly lacking in facilities. There was no bar or restaurant although the website suggested that it did (room service was apparently available but only up to 9pm). Our room was small and the shower rather inadequate, although the bed was comfortable. The television wasn't working when we arrived so a member of staff had to come and wiggle some loose wires at the back. We were provided with a biro by the telephone but nothing to write on and there was no loo paper holder in the bathroom - so the loo paper had to be either out of reach or on the floor. No tissues were provided either. Small things maybe, but to be expected of a 4 star hotel. The breakfast was indifferent, the fruit salad had run out on the first morning, tomatoes and cheese (apart from wrapped triangles and slices) the second morning and again on the third morning as well as bread (only white rolls available). There were also not enough spoons for the cereal and glasses for the highly watered down fruit juice. We were given plastic cups to use instead - plastic cups in a 4 star hotel! Overall the breakfast selection was very limited (why no fresh fruit apart from some sad looking figs?) and unappetizing, and as nobody cleared away, we had to try and stack used cereal bowls in the centre of a table that was too small for three people. All that could be said for this hotel is that the reception staff are friendly and try to be helpful, but how anybody could rate it as four star is beyond belief.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRG555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I just came home from fantastic 9 days in Rome. From the moment I entered this hotel I was treated awesome. I loved my room, love the friendly staff and loved the location of this hotel to historic sites. The neighborhood is safe, the restaurants are good, I could not have had a better first experience. I will be glad to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmer900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvalle, Direttore at Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,
La ringraziamo per il Suo commento.
Siamo felici di sapere che ha trascorso dei giorni fantastici a Roma.
Il nostro hotel, situato nel cuore della “Città Eterna”, è sicuramente un’ottima scelta per chi vuole visitare le bellezze di Roma comodamente a piedi.
Siamo molto contenti di sapere che Lei ha apprezzato le nostre camere, la sicurezza della zona e i buoni ristoranti nelle vicinanze dell’hotel.
Speriamo di ospitarLa nuovamente nel nostro hotel per offrirLe i nostri migliori servizi alberghieri.
La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent 2 days in Rome. Hotel was in a Perfect location within walking distance to a lot of sites. Upon arrival we were greeted by Marco at the front desk. Marco made us feel welcome right from the start. He was very accommodating and was very helpful with and questions we had and offered suggestions that made our time in Rome even better. Many thanks to Marco.
Regards,
Joe from New York

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJFazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvalle, Direttore at Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your words about the location of the hotel and the kindness of our Staff.
Our Front Desk Staff’ are all welcoming and helpful to made our clients’ stay even better.
Looking forward to welcome you again to our Hotel next time you will decide to visit the “Eternal City”.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in July 2013 whilst having a sightseeing break of Rome. The hotel was perfectly located in the thick of the action and was only 35 Euros to get there from the airport. The room was small but had all expected amenities and the breakfast was standard but nice enough. Service was excellent, staff were friendly and courteous.

Would recommend highly for anyone just doing a city break who will spend little time at the hotel but want somewhere nice to come back after a long day.

Room Tip: Room 410 is on the top floor and off the road - small room but nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shropshire_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Gallia
Hotel Gallia
#663 of 1,256 in Rome
367 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#121 of 1,256 in Rome
486 reviews
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#111 of 1,256 in Rome
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#292 of 1,256 in Rome
624 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#253 of 1,256 in Rome
814 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#240 of 1,256 in Rome
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi

Property: Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Address: Via Liberiana 21, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#290 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi is a 4 stars hotel located inside an ancient building from Renaissance Time (1600), facing on the beautiful Square of Santa Maria Maggiore, in front of the main Basilica. The hotels is 2 minutes walking from the Central Station of Roma Termini, final destination for all shuttle buses from airports, here there are all bus lines and the 2 metro lines A/B. From the hotel it is easy to reach by walking the Colossuem and Imperial Forum, and a little be far away the Spanish Steps and the main Via del Corso. The hotel has 39 rooms, elegantly furnished an equipped with a/c, television, minibar, safe and free wifi. Room categories available are: classic doubel, deluxe double, multiple rooms and Junior Suite. On request the hotel provides bar service and room service. Inside the building there is a maginificent internal garde with sofa and umbrellas where you can comfortably read a book or drink something; furthermore there is a Church from 1600 and a library room, provided also for meetings and conferences. The hotel serves the breakfast in the breakfast room or in the rooms on request, and our staff is available 24/24 for any information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi Rome
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing