We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really enthusiastic about the De Russie”
Review of Hotel De Russie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel De Russie
Ranked #52 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Montigny-le-Bretonneux, France
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Not really enthusiastic about the De Russie”
Reviewed 14 December 2007

I was hesitating between the Hassler and the De Russie to come to Rome with my friend to celebrate his 36 birthday. I am happy with my choice but things could have been better.

We stayed in room 214 which is a studio room facing Via del Babuino. We had made our reservation through Amex FHR Program but we were not lucky enough to be upgraded.

1) Location
The Hotel de Russie is perfectly located near Plaza del Popolo. High end fashion stores are 200m away. In fact Rome is much smaller than I expected, and everything is easily accessible by walking.

2) Room & amenities
The hotel is nice, but there is really nothing special. Hotels in Paris are on a totally different scale. I thought that may be the atmosphere of the De Russie would be close to the Park Hyatt Vendôme or the new Fouquet's Hotel on avenue George V, but you do not have the same "luxury" feeling. This is only a detail, but Christmas decorations for example are reduced to the minimum. I was expecting more.

3) Cleanliness
The hotel is still in shape, but not in mint condition. And we found a toe nail on the floor.

4) Service
This is the good point. Service is very good, from efficient and quick luggage delivery at check-in to perfect and complete turndown service.

  • Liked — Location, service
  • Disliked — Toe nail on the floor, poor value
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Cedric&Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    224
    92
    52
    33
See reviews for
280
576
50
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2007

We just got back from the hotel and our 3 night stay. Rocco de Forte hotels are favorites of mine. I have stayed at others which were much better. The hotel frankly is starting to look tired. The carpets are stained and in our room, Suite 301, the carpet had pulled away entirely from the wall. Generally, I agree with a previous post that says the walls are bashed here and there and the furniture is looking drab and faded. Additionally, the mosaic tile in our bath was disintegrating and pieces were in the shower each morning. I think an overall redo is in order!

One concierge, a tall man (older than the others), was particularly rude. When we asked him about getting ice for our bottle of Proseco, he gave us directions to get it outside the hotel. He must have thought we were outsiders which is strange because we had asked him for directions to different things a number of times. After we identified that we were from the hotel, he said "From the bar.". The appropriate thing would have been to send it to us via Room Service.

On a plus note, they did upgrade our room to a suite at no additional cost. One other concierge, a very nice woman, gave us great little places to try and she proved to be knowledgeable and eager to please by understanding our interests in food, etc.
The hoteld did send us a bottle of Proseco because it was our wedding anniversary. That was a nice touch also but could have come as the result of my complaints in trying to reach them via email numerous times with no replies. The location of the hotel is great for shopping. The transfer to the airport was reasonably priced.

But frankly for 621Euros, there are other places I could have gone. A disappointment for me. I love their hotels but it's time for a makeover.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — entire is tired looking
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisdiannefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

This hotel was such a disappointment to us. We had booked it as this was our first trip to Rome and we wanted to to have a really luxurious hotel from which to explore the City. We enjoyed Rome despite, not because of, the hotel. I am sure that the celebrities staying at the hotel for the Film Festival the same weekend had a wonderful experience. However, the entire hotel is billed as (and charged as) 5 star and every room should live up to that standard as should the attitude of the concierge staff.

We had emailed the concierge about 2 weeks prior to our arrival with a request for a dinner reservation at Dal Bolognese on the night we arrived. We only heard from them that this was not available on the late afternoon of our arrival and when we went downstairs to try to get another reservation we were scolded for our lack of preparation by the concierge on duty!! After that we tried to show them some suggestions that we had brought along from friends etc and these were sneered at. Grudgingly they agreed to make reservations at some of these (which were actually great)

The small dark room that we were given in no way felt like a 5 star experience. We had not booked the cheapest room and in fact were told we had been upgraded (hard to believe). When we called to express our disappointment and explained that we had been expecting a "Garden or City view" we were told that travel agents often misrepresent the rooms to their clients..hmm but we booked it on your website!! One window looked directly across to the windows of an office building and the other, which was in a little annexe, looked onto an airshaft. We had to keep the lights on at all times. The carpet was stained and the furniture was chipped-not in an antique type of way but in a "need to replace this" type of way.

In the last year we stayed at the Merrion in Dublin which I would imagine has similar contraints in terms of being an old building right in the center of town, it is extremely plush and luxurious. The Peninsula in Bangkok is the epitome of modern 5 star elegance and service. Hotel de Russie in no way measured up to either of these.

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — its pretensions to 5 star service which were in no way matched by the reality of staying there!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank LEStraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2007

Hotel De Russie offers upscale amenities, in room internet, fine dining, superior service and everything you'd expect from a five star hotel.

The hotel is modern in decor, which was not particularly my style, however, it was in fact lovely. Le Jardin de Russie, the restaurant, was spectacular and Le Jardin (the garden) was magnificent. The location, just north of the Spanish Steps is ideal surrounded by the best shopping in Rome. Most sites are walking distance or a very short cab ride away. It was hot in August as we expected although we were quite comfortable most of our days.

We booked a late August stay including breakfast, which was very convenient, since the American breakfast would exceed e100 per couple had it not been included. Our classic room was a bit small; however our rate was quite affordable (all things considered). The bathroom was lovely and spacious; however, I found the actual bathtub to be narrow. Room service would arrive within twenty minutes. Concierge was helpful and all the staff was wonderful. Upon arriving at De Russie we received a delicious chocolate mousse birthday cake in our room. It was delicious and extremely thoughtful! Nothing goes unnoticed in this fine hotel.

I’ve stayed in numerous fine hotels in Italy and in the U.S. this was very good in comparison. Hotel Hassler was just lovely and I’ve heard both the St. Regis and Hilton are the top TWO HOTELS in Rome. Hilton is a bit further away though. I would definitely consider returning to Hotel De Russie in the future.

  • Liked — Location and 5 star quality
  • Disliked — Smaller rooms...
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank natc143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2007

Stayed at the De Russie in June with a Friend and had a great time. The Hotel is gorgeous, the room was spotlessly clean, very spacious and confortable. Best part of all, the aperitf in the incredible private garden of the hotel. We spent a lot of time shopping and browsing around for nice restaurants, trattorias, bars and clubs. The Hotel is in the middle of everything and if you intend to spend some money for cloths and shoes you are in the right place. Best food we tried is served at Ziro Restaurant that is within walking distance from the Hotel. We had the fish tasting menu. An 8 courses meal that must have been prepared by an artist. Fantastic tastes, great presentation of the dishes and superb wine. Best trattoria is Santo Padre. A 10 minutes cab ride is necessary to reach it. Typical, noisy, very cheap good food and informal ambiance. Best bar is co2 close to piazza navona. Marco the barman prepares cocktails that are comparable to the drinks served at the Stravinsky Bar of the De Russie. Best club we visited is Joya in the Testaccio area. Incredible place were people really knows how to have fun. (not like in Paris!) We are looking forward to go back in October and we definetly recommend the Hotel De Russie to our friend.

  • Liked — Garden
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lukette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

Strange place this. Very stark - yes it is supposed to be 'minimal' but just doesn’t work particularly well, frankly its boring. Biggest problem however is that it is worn out, pretty bashed up around the edges. Tables, chairs, sofas shabby. Stained carpets throughout.

Another feature is the spa, however Turkish bath out of order when we arrived.

Hotel makes a big play on its garden, which in theory is very nice, but when we visited was generally scruffy and unkempt. At breakfast there were gardeners weaving through the tables carrying a variety of garden implements. Paid 28 euros for two tiny glasses of orange juice and two coffees, thought that this was far too much. Fine in the George V as that is an outstanding hotel, the de Russie is far from this, even though it likes to think it is great.

In saying all this at least service was generally good from the waiting staff/bar/front desk etc. Have been to other Rocco Forte establishments and they are much better. The de Russie are trying to trade on something which they just do not really have, so are going to find that hard to deliver.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpaceHopperSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
533 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2007

Certainly one of Italy's top hotels and a perfect location from which to shop and tour Rome. The room was very cheerful and elegant with a huge walk-in type double sided closet, large bathroom with separate tub and shower, a small living room with sofa, tele, writing desk, chairs etc. and a spacious bedroom with a second desk, comfortable chair and additional tele. The living and bedrooms had large french doors overlooking the city and ajoining terrace with table and chairs. A lovely bottle of prosecco and perfect plums greeted our arrival. The concierge staff was truly outstanding and managed to secure dinner reservations at some of the finest restaurants in the world! Another find was a small family restaurant about a two minute walk from the hotel (Hostaria da Pietro). We enjoyed spag and clams, some amazing wine and not a tourist in site. The Hotel wanted us to stay nearby on this particular evening because it was White Night and impossible to get around the city. The food at the Hotel is quite good and the service impeccable. It was nice being acknowledged and welcomed by the doormen and staff in such a sincere manner. Back to the amazing Concierge('s) who located a helicopter on extremely short notice because our pre-arranged flight had been cancelled at the last minute. The laundry services and any special request was handled beautifully. Wonderful staff! Wonderful Hotel!!

  • Liked — Location and impeccable service
  • Disliked — nothing not to like here!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Challenger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,258 in Rome
408 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#84 of 1,258 in Rome
1,963 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#40 of 1,258 in Rome
1,038 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#111 of 1,258 in Rome
1,095 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#116 of 1,258 in Rome
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Russie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Russie

Property: Hotel De Russie
Address: Via Del Babuino 9, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Rome
#13 Business Hotel in Rome
#16 Family Hotel in Rome
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel De Russie 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Russie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Russie Hotel
De Russie Rome
Russie Rome
Russie Hotel Rome
Hotel De Russie Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing