We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but SOOOO expensive”
Review of Hotel De Russie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel De Russie
Ranked #52 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The hotel location is spot on, two minutes from Via Condotti, next to Piazza del Popolo (the church on the piazza has two of the most beautiful Caravaggio you will ever see). The common parts are very stylish, modern, beautiful flower arrangements but the best thing about the hotel is the internal courtyard, absolutely divine. having said that the rooms are SO expensive it is a joke (even for Rome!) .Our room was small, the bathroom was very 1980's and the furniture had nothing special. We did not have a room overlooking the courtyard but the bins. service was helpful and we had a good massage, nice spa but I would really advice to find another 5 stars hotel in Rome with more realistic prices!! It is not worth that price in any way (more than 600 euros). My recommendation go and have a drink in the courtyard after a hard day shopping and forget staying there

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margauxhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,370)
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Russie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Terrace of the Hotel de Russie is our favourite place to unwind from the busy shopping spree at Via Condotti. Ideally located just a few minutes away, the nice garden immediately makes you feel relaxed, the service is outstanding and they offer an excellent buffet lunch for € 38 ( €48 on sundays) . It is an ideal place also for relaxed business lunches or to simply unwind at the lower bar level after a busy day ! highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swisscheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The Hotel De Russi has most beautiful gardens and staff that is top notch. The maid service is excellent and unobtrusive. I could "rave" about the dining room staff and the concierge staff as well. We were personally greeted at every breakfast, etc. with big smiles and the food was delicious. The concierges helped us find out of the way, intimate restaurants where we also were treated beautifully and had delicious food. Doormen helped us find our driveer, called taxis for us and were super polite.

The location of the hotel is near the finest shops and near the beautiful & historic Spanish Steps. This is a friend;s favorite hotel in Italy and I thank him for this recommendation and hope to be lucky enough to return to the Hotel de Russie again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The room was good and the staff attentive. We enjoyed the bar patio for drinks before going out to Dinner. The concierge was the best we have encountered yet, making excellent restaurant suggestions as well as helping with tickets, guides etc.
Overall would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Location, service, garden and courtyard are simply the best. The rooms are lovely and the quality of the food is excellent.
The Hotel de Russie has to rate as one of the best hotels. From the moment I passed through the understated entrance into the cool lobby I felt relaxed and calm (not easy given the hordes of tourists in Rome). I had a quiet, deluxe room, which wasn't cheap, but was absolutely delightful. It had an elegant sitting room, bedroom and huge bathroom with separate walk in shower.
Breakfast in the garden a delight and cocktails aperitif in the courtyard of Stravinski Bar is the place to be seen in Rome.

Room Tip: Choose coutyard room if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aexcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The location of the hotel could hardly be overestimated! Right in the center of the internal city - out of the crowds and tourist routs! 10 minutes to any superb restaurants in the downtown so that you can do you heath wayback by foot!
But this is not the only argument to choose the hotel again and again.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable, very milanese in style and decoration. Charming modern classics with the views over the Piazza del Popolo classics!
And the garden!!! Real one!!! Like in Sorrento!!!

Room Tip: The air conditioning system is very "loud" - so if you like voice of the city choose the P...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max120368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Our suite was $2,900 Canadian or $3,000 US per night. This is not an economy hotel.

The person who checked us in was wonderful. She sent us to the lovely garden and gave us coffee/tea and got us to our suite....all good. Suite was an upgrade....1.5 baths and a nice room. Sadly that was the highlight.

The main toilet didn't flush. in our three nights they NEVER fixed it. Can you imagine a bathroom in a $3000 suite that doesn't flush? I went "in person" twice and my wife was embarrassed amd they did NOTHING. They didn't even aplogise. 3 times they came to our suite (really...we need plumbers 3 times?) and they still didn't fix the issue.

The "concierge" sent us to a pub for dinner. We went to Rome to eat and this hotel couldn't find a good restaurant.

Last night...we thought we would try the hotel restaurant. Just terrible in every way.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L S, General Manager at Hotel De Russie, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

From reading your comments I can understand entirely your disappointment with your most recent stay at the Hotel de Russie and I certainly don't want to find excuses for certain areas that should have been operating more smootly.

Our daily inspection process should have signalled your room for immediate attention by the maintenance before you had to experience any inconvenience. Furthermore our maintenance records should have immediately alerted our team once the same proble occured twice. Obviously our procedures failed and I do regret you had to suffer for this.

Your comments about our restaurant were also concerning and I was concerned that you were unimpressed with it. People have commented at some lenght about the genuine warm feeling displayed by everyone in the team, and by the high quality of our food, but obviously this did not happen when you were with us. My apologies for this.

Finally our Concierge restaurants' book indicates that you had a reservation at one of the most famous Taverna of Rome. In this same website it has excellent reviews. I might presume there has been some misunderstanding and the proper destination was not reached.

In closing I want to thank you for your comments and assure you that they help me and my team. I do hope you have the opportunity to return to the Hotel de Russie in the near future and experience a faultless stay. The overwhleming response from our Guests is that we have a product , and the service to accompany, that puts us among the very best hotels in Italy, I am only sorry that you could not leave with that impression.

Best Regards,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
434 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#89 of 1,267 in Rome
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#37 of 1,267 in Rome
1,064 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#111 of 1,267 in Rome
867 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#106 of 1,267 in Rome
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Russie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Russie

Address: Via Del Babuino 9, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Rome
#13 Business Hotel in Rome
#16 Family Hotel in Rome
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £433 - £2,929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel De Russie 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel De Russie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Russie Hotel
De Russie Rome
Russie Rome
Russie Hotel Rome
Hotel De Russie Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing