We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Rome hotel for the last 10 years”
Review of Hotel De Russie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De Russie
Ranked #52 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I never get tired of this hotel
I stay here every trip to Rome
Rooms are beautiful . It. Has great dining in a lovely courtyard good spa .
Convenient to shipping near the Spanish steps
Very nice staff
Hooked me up with a nice tour of the Vatican and some great
Outdoor markets

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pacmandoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Russie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Rome has a fixed centre,and this hotel's location places you between Piazza del Popolo and the Spanish Steps,with a phenomenal terraced gardens,set in a superb updated 19th century with only 22 rooms. While it used to attract Hollywood's elite,its easy to see why the gravity inherent in its attractions: great location,some of the best shopping in the city on Via Condotti.

We loved this urban oasis of green with concierges that know the in & outs of every 'hood in Roma. The interiors are modern,slick,rather eclectic mix of pastels,handsome dark woods and walls accented by photographs. There is a fab,on site Turkish Baths with a stunning restaurant serving classical Italian dishes and while we are at it,why would you expect anything else when you are in the most independent cuisine in the world.

But for us, its the hotel's tiered hillside- garden studded with statuesad us waxing romantically aided by the lively Stravinsky bar offering alfresco martinis to be sipped under the palms.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I had a short 4 day business trip and stayed at the de Russie. A lovely, charming, quiet hotel. Well situated in the heart of Rome. Very classy rooms and hotel. Nice service. Good meals and breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Great courtyard, perfect for an early evening drink before heading out. Also a nice bar inside the hotel as well. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FastEddddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the De Russie for 3 nights last month in a classic room.The hotel is in the heart of Rome with an excellent garden .The room was average size with a small flat TV with all the aminities but our window faced another window in the next door building.The staff was great,polite and ready to help.The flowery decoration in the main lobby and the garden were suberb.The breakfast was quite good,with fresh and of best quality products.We also had an excellent( but a little pricey) dinner in the garden restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just returned from a magical stay at this quietly grand hotel. The location and architecture are wonderful, but it is the level of service that is outstanding. Mario greeted us as returning friends, even though it was our first stay there. It was a delight to eat in the stunning terraced gardens and enjoy the wonderful cuisine.
Our room was lovely, quiet and with many thoughtful touches. We ate in the hotel restaurant on two out of our three nights as it was so good. I can't think there could be anywhere better to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chinthurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here on a rugby weekend.
Great rooms, good service, good location.
Have stayed in other Roman hotels, but thus far, this is the best in Rome for me.
The front desk were very helpful in arranging transport to the rugby stadium and The Vatican, etc.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0rldTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I am a 2nd generation Roman, so going to Roma is like going home. We travel once a year to this beautiful city. Our wedding brunch took place in the hotel courtyard. It was flawless. The attention to detail was amazing. The food was excellent. Everyone speaks English, but I choose to practice my Italian. The hotel is central to everything. We always splurge and get a suite. The taxi's are called right outside and the maximum wait is 3 minutes. The doormen tell the cab drivers in Italian where you are going. If you want you can walk 50 yards to Piazza di Poppolo and grab a cab there. The bath and shower have plenty of water pressure. The beds are very comfortable, and the couch for my 9 year old daughter came with beautiful sheets and it is a full size twin. Very comfortable. The staff is wonderful. A great location to walk around, shopping on the same street as the hotel. By Rome standards this is a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites are roomy , sunny, and overlook the nearby piazza.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachBaby187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
435 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#89 of 1,267 in Rome
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#37 of 1,267 in Rome
1,067 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#110 of 1,267 in Rome
868 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#106 of 1,267 in Rome
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Russie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Russie

Address: Via Del Babuino 9, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Rome
#13 Business Hotel in Rome
#16 Family Hotel in Rome
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £431 - £2,541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel De Russie 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel De Russie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Russie Hotel
De Russie Rome
Russie Rome
Russie Hotel Rome
Hotel De Russie Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing