We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel De Russie
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$939
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$408
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,468)
Filter reviews
1,468 results
Traveller rating
1,038
233
102
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,038
233
102
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocco forteconcierge staffvia del babuinogarden bargarden viewspanish stepsbeautiful hotelfour seasonsroom wasn't readyheart of romeluxury hotelborghese gardenseternal citythe location is perfectjunior suitevisit to rometrevi fountain
Filter
Updating list...
949 - 954 of 1,468 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2007

Stayed at the De Russie in June with a Friend and had a great time. The Hotel is gorgeous, the room was spotlessly clean, very spacious and confortable. Best part of all, the aperitf in the incredible private garden of the hotel. We spent a lot of time shopping and browsing around for nice restaurants, trattorias, bars and clubs. The Hotel is in the middle of everything and if you intend to spend some money for cloths and shoes you are in the right place. Best food we tried is served at Ziro Restaurant that is within walking distance from the Hotel. We had the fish tasting menu. An 8 courses meal that must have been prepared by an artist. Fantastic tastes, great presentation of the dishes and superb wine. Best trattoria is Santo Padre. A 10 minutes cab ride is necessary to reach it. Typical, noisy, very cheap good food and informal ambiance. Best bar is co2 close to piazza navona. Marco the barman prepares cocktails that are comparable to the drinks served at the Stravinsky Bar of the De Russie. Best club we visited is Joya in the Testaccio area. Incredible place were people really knows how to have fun. (not like in Paris!) We are looking forward to go back in October and we definetly recommend the Hotel De Russie to our friend.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lukette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

Strange place this. Very stark - yes it is supposed to be 'minimal' but just doesn’t work particularly well, frankly its boring. Biggest problem however is that it is worn out, pretty bashed up around the edges. Tables, chairs, sofas shabby. Stained carpets throughout.

Another feature is the spa, however Turkish bath out of order when we arrived.

Hotel makes a big play on its garden, which in theory is very nice, but when we visited was generally scruffy and unkempt. At breakfast there were gardeners weaving through the tables carrying a variety of garden implements. Paid 28 euros for two tiny glasses of orange juice and two coffees, thought that this was far too much. Fine in the George V as that is an outstanding hotel, the de Russie is far from this, even though it likes to think it is great.

In saying all this at least service was generally good from the waiting staff/bar/front desk etc. Have been to other Rocco Forte establishments and they are much better. The de Russie are trying to trade on something which they just do not really have, so are going to find that hard to deliver.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpaceHopperSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

Certainly one of Italy's top hotels and a perfect location from which to shop and tour Rome. The room was very cheerful and elegant with a huge walk-in type double sided closet, large bathroom with separate tub and shower, a small living room with sofa, tele, writing desk, chairs etc. and a spacious bedroom with a second desk, comfortable chair and additional tele. The living and bedrooms had large french doors overlooking the city and ajoining terrace with table and chairs. A lovely bottle of prosecco and perfect plums greeted our arrival. The concierge staff was truly outstanding and managed to secure dinner reservations at some of the finest restaurants in the world! Another find was a small family restaurant about a two minute walk from the hotel (Hostaria da Pietro). We enjoyed spag and clams, some amazing wine and not a tourist in site. The Hotel wanted us to stay nearby on this particular evening because it was White Night and impossible to get around the city. The food at the Hotel is quite good and the service impeccable. It was nice being acknowledged and welcomed by the doormen and staff in such a sincere manner. Back to the amazing Concierge('s) who located a helicopter on extremely short notice because our pre-arranged flight had been cancelled at the last minute. The laundry services and any special request was handled beautifully. Wonderful staff! Wonderful Hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Challenger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

Looked at the reviews on this site and it lived up to them all, a 5 start hotel worth its start plus one more.

Had a Classic which had a small problem the next morning got full upgrade to a deluxe with a garden view and breakfast was thrown in. The staff wre helpful all the way to bring me a unbrella when I got stuck in the rain.

I would to Roma just for this Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lozza21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

My boyfriend booked an expensive room in this hotel as a special New Year's Eve treat, looking forward to a glass of prosecco overlooking the city or garden views. The hotel itself is very grand and very beautiful, the gardens are lovely. The room itself was immaculate, clean and spacious. Unfortunately no city or garden view, just a roof. For 800 euros a night we expected something so much grander with at least a view, not of the roof. Also to pay this rate and then have to pay on top 20 euros for internet seemed a bit much. Don't expect too much for 800 euros!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldiemaciver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews