We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Hotel Cilicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cilicia
Ranked #476 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 21 February 2013

An amazing place to spend your Roman holidays! In love with this place! It's like a quite place in this impressive Megapolis! Breakfast was delicious! The room was big, renovated, sophisticated, which is unusual for 3* hotels.

Room Tip: An amazing place to spend your Roman holidays! In love with this place! It's like a quite place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EkaterinaTutova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I came across a groupon deal that included a bottle of wine and breakfast for 3 nights at this hotel. We purchased it and made our reservations within a couple days. This was a really great decision since Rome was pretty quiet in January. The hotel staff was very friendly and helped us find our way to the metro (which is a 20 min walk at a casual pace, if you are in a hurry, it takes about 15 mins (we timed it)) and told us which buses to take into town (the 360 from the train station in the direction of Zama to the hotel, 2nd stop from the end of the line)

The road the hotel is on is a little noisy, but if you are doing as much walking and site seeing as we did, it won't matter because you will be asleep as soon as you climb into bed. The room was really clean and the bathroom was spotless. We found that the shower was a bit small. I'm an average size person and I found it to be a bit tight.

Breakfast was very tasty and there were several options of pastries, toast with many types of jam, ham and cheese, cereal with plain yogurt and a selection of juice and teas. The espresso and cappuccino were delicious.

We would stay here again when we go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tramanda-in-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

We were relocated to hotel Cilicia from another hotel, so we can't really comment in value since we paid for somewhere else. However, our stay here was delightful. All the staff were wonderfully polite and helpful. We loved the location, which, being slightly out of "tourist central", gave us a charming insight into Rome where real people live. That said, it's not too far out: a pleasant 30 minute walk to the Colosseum. All in all, we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My husband and I found a deal on Groupon with this hotel and decided to spend three days in Rome. the hotel has a 3 star rating so we weren't holding our breath, especially after reading reviews that the staff were a bit rude. But when we got there, the staff were very polite and accommodating, the room was quick big, the bathroom was very nice, and the hotel is located in a quiet part of Rome, not too close to the center, just far out enough to be quiet and peaceful but close enough to public transportation and the tourist sites.
the room had a small television with many cable channels, a comfortable bed. my husband and i observe kosher strictly so when we brought our own food for dinner, the staff had no problem heating it up for us. not every place is willing to do this.
if i have to be very spoiled and picky my main problems were as follows (and if this is the worst i found, that makes this a really great hotel):
1. internet: the reception gives you a 12 hr. username and id (or as many as you need for the duration of your stay) but the internet signal in the room is not very strong. not strong enough to download a video online or to video-skype.
2. the shower: it was so small i couldn't close the doors or i wouldn't have had room to move around in it.
3. this last one is really looking for a bad needle in a haystack of really good: the sheets and towels had some holes in the them, and the fitted sheet on the bed wasn't fitted, so it pulled off a bit easily. but everything was clean.
to sum up: i would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a very pleasant stay in rome but not be too close to the busy center!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ayelet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel was real delight, we couldn't believe our luck, first visit to Rome, a journey into the unknown. We chose this hotel 'blind' and boy what a find. First impression was that we had actually checked into the wrong hotel! The parking facilities were great, right in front of the hotel, lovely gardens where you could take breakfast, and what a superb breakfast it was. The bedroom was clean and spacious with a spotlessly clean bathroom. There was a small problem with the wi-fi in the bedroom but there was a guest's computer in the hotel lounge. The staff were extremely friendly. The location was also great, a short walk to the bus stop (10 minutes to the city center) and a slightly longer walk to the underground railway. So all in all this is a great hotel to stay in. I thoroughly recommend it

Room Tip: There is little traffic noise so it's never a problem, but for those who do have trouble sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davidwelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

we returned from a two night break yesterday_cannot fault this hotel_rooms excellent for grade of hotel_staff pleasant,polite and helpful.held luggage whilst we were waiting for transfer homewards_booked taxis etc for us to get around_not a rip off_excellent restaurant 10 min stroll up the road_hopefully will go back_made our birthday treats memorable without upsetting the bank manager............sue and steve

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

we recently visited this hotel during our trip to rome
its an absolute gem
much nicer than we expected
rooms are lovely - only fault lighting not very good in bedroom
its also a fair walk from the tube
but staff will always order a taxi for you
they serve a magnificent breakfast too
also lovely gardens to relax in

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
#683 of 1,272 in Rome
144 reviews
Meeting Hotel
#585 of 1,272 in Rome
88 reviews
Marini Park Hotel
#400 of 1,272 in Rome
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Jonico
#766 of 1,272 in Rome
356 reviews
Park Hotel Ginevra
#657 of 1,272 in Rome
524 reviews
Resort la Rocchetta
#284 of 1,272 in Rome
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cilicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cilicia

Address: Via Cilicia 7, 00179 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £28 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cilicia 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cilicia Hotel is a three-star hotel located along "Via Appia Antica", in the heart of Rome, about 800 m from the St. John Lateran Basilica. Thanks to its central location and its proximity to urban public transport, the Cilicia Hotel is well connected to the endless sites of historical and artistic interest of the Eternal City. Its location, its parking lot, and its large garden certainly enhance the value of our hotel. Our staff is skilled in hospitality and management, 24 hours 24, and can easily deal with all national and international clients, travelling for tourism or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cilicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cilicia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing