We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, nothing special”
Review of Hotel Cilicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cilicia
Ranked #434 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average hotel, nothing special”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Pros:
- Clean
- Manual air conditioner
- guarded parking
- 2 elevators
- close to Colosseum about 2km
- good acustic isolation

Cons
-High prices
-very small shower
-small fridge
-the same breakfast everyday
- INTERNET FOR TICKET WITH 12H LIMITATION AND VERY LOW BANDWIDTH!!
Seriously, Internet for ticket with 12h limitation in a modern city ? You need to go for a ticket with id and pass every 12h for every single device. The speed of the Internet? just no comment...
- sometimes problem with understanding the English

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NexusPrime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    141
    89
    27
    15
See reviews for
43
154
17
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel got mixed reviews and I was hesitant to book it. Since I was on a budget I thought I would give it a try. It turned out to be a good deal if you don't mind venturing. The hotel is small and so are the rooms. (no air-conditioning or set high) I was traveling with my daughter and did not plan on spending a lot of time inside the hotel. Getting there was strenuous, we had to walk what seemed to be forever with our luggage over cobble stone, which made it more difficult than it should have been. (pack light). To my surprise when we arrived at check-in,
(we must have looked exhausted) we were offered a cup of coffee and a place to sit and relax before checking in. We found a bus a block from the hotel that took us to a train station and took the train were ever we wanted to go. One night we came back worn from the day and had not yet eaten. They were gracious enough to make us dinner for a reasonable price. Overall the staff were the most pleasant people I came in contact with during my trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard side. The rooms facing the street are quite noisy early in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 928Nancyg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We booked 2 nights at Cilicia on our trip to Rome as it looked nice and seemed good value. We were rather irritated to find it was so far away from the city centre, we had to walk about 2 miles from the train station and this was terrible for getting back for our flight on the final day, we ended up getting a taxi. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly Italian man that enthusiastically complimented us on our tattoos before explaining that we couldn't check in until 3. He let us leave our luggage while we went to explore the local markets. At 3 we came back to find our luggage had already been taken to our room and we were given a key. The room was pretty big and the bathroom was lovely and big, with lots of complimentary toiletries, mini bar etc. TV is naff, but we didn't expect much else. The hotel do provide a three course meal at a rather steep 20 euros each, and when we explained that one of us was vegetarian, it took them a long time and a lot of debating to understand. Instead of the main course of chicken, we received a rather sad cheese board. The food was lovely however, and we didn't get charged as the hotel assumed we were part of a large German company staying there and probably charged them (oops!) However I would not say the food was worth the price. The breakfast buffet in the morning was absolutely fantastic and we took advantage of it!

Room Tip: some of the rooms overlook a more suburban side and some have balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VioletHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My brother and wife arrived early from Paris and Iarrived late from London and the staff put themselves out to accommodate our wishes. Beautiful rooms with views and my balcony onto the sunrise. But the big surprise was for my brother the restaurant which was excellent but only is available when are big groups. Absolutely wonderful food for breakfast .Excellent attention, room very clean and quiet

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My wife and i used a groupon deal which gave us three nights in Rome at the Hotel Cilicia. I read the reviews of the hotel prior to booking. These were generally positive, but we were a little disappointed.
We found that the hotel was away from the main attractions in Rome, and was not close to metro stations (about a 20 to 25 minute walk). We used buses to get into Rome, but this was a bit stressful given that we didn't know the place, and had to keep a careful watch to ensure we didnt miss our stop(s). It would have been better for us to be closer to Rome centre.

While the hotel was adequate, it was a little disappointing. The shower cubicle in our en-suite was very small, and no shampoo provided, Single blankets were used on the double bed so it was difficult to stay covered at night.

Contrary to other reports, we found that some of reception staff did not speak good English, and were not particularly helpful.

We had booked an extra night (at normal non-offer price) and think that our room was not good value at this normal price.

Although the hotel was adequate, I would not stay there again, and would go for a hotel nearer Rome centre.

Room Tip: go to a hotel more central
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TedK0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

An amazing place to spend your Roman holidays! In love with this place! It's like a quite place in this impressive Megapolis! Breakfast was delicious! The room was big, renovated, sophisticated, which is unusual for 3* hotels.

Room Tip: An amazing place to spend your Roman holidays! In love with this place! It's like a quite place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EkaterinaTutova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I came across a groupon deal that included a bottle of wine and breakfast for 3 nights at this hotel. We purchased it and made our reservations within a couple days. This was a really great decision since Rome was pretty quiet in January. The hotel staff was very friendly and helped us find our way to the metro (which is a 20 min walk at a casual pace, if you are in a hurry, it takes about 15 mins (we timed it)) and told us which buses to take into town (the 360 from the train station in the direction of Zama to the hotel, 2nd stop from the end of the line)

The road the hotel is on is a little noisy, but if you are doing as much walking and site seeing as we did, it won't matter because you will be asleep as soon as you climb into bed. The room was really clean and the bathroom was spotless. We found that the shower was a bit small. I'm an average size person and I found it to be a bit tight.

Breakfast was very tasty and there were several options of pastries, toast with many types of jam, ham and cheese, cereal with plain yogurt and a selection of juice and teas. The espresso and cappuccino were delicious.

We would stay here again when we go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tramanda-in-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Romoli Hotel
#373 of 1,256 in Rome
329 reviews
Hotel Artis
#397 of 1,256 in Rome
635 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#982 of 1,256 in Rome
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aurora Garden Hotel
#942 of 1,256 in Rome
195 reviews
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
#535 of 1,256 in Rome
380 reviews
Scheppers Hotel
#1,027 of 1,256 in Rome
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cilicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cilicia

Property: Hotel Cilicia
Address: Via Cilicia 7, 00179 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cilicia 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cilicia Hotel is a three-star hotel located along "Via Appia Antica", in the heart of Rome, about 800 m from the St. John Lateran Basilica. Thanks to its central location and its proximity to urban public transport, the Cilicia Hotel is well connected to the endless sites of historical and artistic interest of the Eternal City. Its location, its parking lot, and its large garden certainly enhance the value of our hotel. Our staff is skilled in hospitality and management, 24 hours 24, and can easily deal with all national and international clients, travelling for tourism or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cilicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cilicia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing