We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, unhelpful desk staff.”
Review of Hotel Cilicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cilicia
Ranked #484 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Eating nearby Carpe Diem fresh made pizza.metro 15 min walk .Guided tour Vatican. if queues long.guys along the queue,worth extra cost. Colosseum tickets online collect reservation office Roman Forum.

Room Tip: Ask for twin beds if you do not want a double. If you want quietness ask for room at back although n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here as part of a groupon deal on our visit to Rome. For the price we paid, our trip to Rome was amazing value. Hotel Cilicia was clean, friendly and the staff were helpful. About a 30 minute walk to the forum but plenty to see on the way!! Not too far from San giovanni metro stop and within walking distance of some nice restaurants. Wouldn't recommend for anyone unable to walk long distances, but if you just want to see Rome on a budget, its worth staying here. No restaurant in the hotel, but a nice bar area and sufficient breakfast. Staff are helpful with directing you around the area and recommending places for you! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Location 7/10:
The hotels location is good, but not great. It is located just next to a very busy road, so expect a lot of noise especially if you get the road view rooms. Depend on how good you are in walking, it is possible to access places such as colosseum on foot; it's a 30-40 minutes walk. Otherwise, buses available in a short distance and obviously if you prefer taxies they are just one call away!

Food 6/10:
The bar and restaurant seems to be abandoned after breakfast! Normally no one operating the bar in the evening and there is no food available.
Breakfast is sufficient; mostly pastries. But cereals, butter and fruits are also available.

Service 3/10:
Well... not great! The staff are not friendly and if they're away and you use the reception bell, it looks like that they get offended!
However, the room service was very good, we receive rooms service every day for the three days of our stay.

Facilities 8/10:
In room WiFi is available upon request, you have to get a username/password slip which is valid for 12 hours only. You'll need to get a new one after that.
Toilets and shower are adequate and water pressure and heat is okay. Beds are alright, but the mattresses are not the best you would get.

Tips:
- Busses 87/628 will get you to Pantheon and many other places for only €1.50 return. The stops are located in Via Satrico, 5 min walk from the hotel.
- Try to get a room towards the garden as street view room could be very noisy.

Room Tip: - Try to get a room towards the garden as street view room could be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mahmoud-Sobhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here July with my son. The hotel was fine although very quiet and some of the staff seemed a little unfriendly - I didn't feel welcome. The bar was always unmanned. No food in the evening. Breakfast was fine - plenty of pasteries. A little too far from the main attractions. €11 to the colosseum and €25 to the Vatican in taxis.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TinaChadderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cilcia for 3 nights in July, 2014. The hotel is self is nice in a retro, 80's sort of way. It was clean and the breakfast was sufficient.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is quite far out from the main attractions in Rome. Unless you take a taxi or have a car, plan on at least a 15 minute walk to public transport or markets for food, as this hotel does not offer food outside of breakfast.

The owner of the hotel was nice, not friendly, but nice. The night workers was a bit short. Nobody ever said hello or goodbye even though we walk right past the front desk when entering or leaving the hotel.

The internet wasn't very reliable. You have to ask for a new password every 12 hours. One night, we asked for a password and the short guy at the front desk simply said the machine wasn't working to provide a password. No internet that evening.

On a positive note, we arrived at the hotel a few hours before check-in. The owner offered us coffee while we waited for the room to be finished.

To sum it up, this hotel may be ok if you know Rome and where you're going. Don't expect the folks working there to be very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. The cars woke us up each morning as room 110 directly faced the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mmayovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

On arriving at the hotel to early to check in, we were made to feel quite unwelcome by the man on reception which was pretty much how the majority of staff made us feel during our stay. Everything seemed too much trouble and most of the staff could barely raise a smile! The hotel is on a busy road but we were lucky enough to be allocated a room at the back of the building only to be kept awake by the incessant barking of four dogs in a neighbouring property. On our last evening, there was a party in the hotel which finished at a reasonable time butI had to complain at midnight about the staff dragging furniture around above our room, they did stop but only for 30 minutes.
On the plus side the hotel was reasonably priced, was a 20 minute walk away from the nearest Metro, provided a decent breakfast and was clean.
Overall, I would not recommend the hotel due to the unhelpful/unfreindly staff, I think abetter experience could be had elsewhere. The only help we received was when weasked to order a taxi back to the airport - maybe the staff received a commission.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel to avoid trafic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Petra19630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Clean hotel,good security and calm neighborhood. I had some problems with the internet, but it was solved. Rich breakfast and gentle staff.
The location could be better (20 min to nearest subway or 30 min by bus to downtown).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rafapbotelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
#600 of 1,270 in Rome
274 reviews
Park Hotel Ginevra
#628 of 1,270 in Rome
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Black Hotel
#734 of 1,270 in Rome
886 reviews
San Lorenzo
Vibel Hotel
Vibel Hotel
#568 of 1,270 in Rome
20 reviews
Ostiense
Oly Hotel
Oly Hotel
#405 of 1,270 in Rome
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cilicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cilicia

Address: Via Cilicia 7, 00179 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £33 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cilicia 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cilicia Hotel is a three-star hotel located along "Via Appia Antica", in the heart of Rome, about 800 m from the St. John Lateran Basilica. Thanks to its central location and its proximity to urban public transport, the Cilicia Hotel is well connected to the endless sites of historical and artistic interest of the Eternal City. Its location, its parking lot, and its large garden certainly enhance the value of our hotel. Our staff is skilled in hospitality and management, 24 hours 24, and can easily deal with all national and international clients, travelling for tourism or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cilicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cilicia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing