We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Non Tour Bus Traveler”
Review of Hotel Cilicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cilicia
Ranked #476 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 25 October 2009

There is no restaurant, no information from front desk staff on nearby restaurants, and few of the staff speak english.

They have no bus route, metro station, or airport shuttle information. It is so far from everything that you have to take a taxi...a minimum 25 Euro round trip. It is not on the bus line, 2km from a metro station, and they call the taxi it arrives with at least 6 Euros on the meter.
If you are part of a tour group it's perfect, you have an ok room for the night. Breakfast is basic..

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amazonlauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2008

This hotel is great...it's more like a 4 star than a 3. The decor is tasteful and the rooms are exceptionally clean. The service was great too. I really looked forward to the breakfast each morning, the food selection was great and also very fresh. The only complaint I would have is that it's a bit far from the city centre. Definitely not walking distance although there is a metro station close by. I would suggest studying the metro system in advance if you are staying here, it will save you a lot of time and money.
Oh and although most rooms have balconies, there is one room in the hotel on the corner that has a huge rooftop terrace that is only accessible to those people staying in that room...The view is amazing!!!!! It has two double beds and one is in a closed off room...Our group was upgraded to this room at no charge (I think because they were at capacity) and it was a great perk to the stay...
Enjoy

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curlytopt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

there are actually no complaints about the hotel itself- it is nice, clean, the rooms are in excellent condition, the bathrooms are good also and the staff is nice. but location is a major problem- especially for those who like to be out all night - becuse you will totaly depend on transport. if you go to rome in order to have fun in the center- froget about this place. if you go with your car, or hire a car there and want only sightseeing- so the hotel is a good option for you.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sound_fury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2007

i loved everything and everybody. i cant say enought to compare to the service they gave me. there is a sign outsde that has there stars. but let me tell you from bangkok to hanoi to new york there is no better, most of which is because of patrizio and sandro If you go there ask to meet them, you'll be pleasantly surpprised.
Kathy J Zurzolo-myers

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JPMAkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2007

We stayed in Cilicia Hotel, for 5 days. Even though the room was on the first floor, facing the road, we had no noise. The room was renovated and very very good. We were surprised because we had selected the hotel for the low rate. Enough space for 2 people, very warm colours, large desk, very good mini bar (sensible prices) and a very big bathroom. We loved it.
I agree that transportation can be a small problem on the first day. The metro station is 20 minutes walking, but it is a pleasant walk, we didn't mind. The only thing was that the line closed early due to constuctions in the station, so coming back was a bid of a problem. There is at least one bus that leaves from Termini station (last one at 00.30) and stops almost in front of the hotel. Taxis on Saturday night is a problem... and due to the traffic it can cost a lot.
The only thing we didn't like much were the receptionists attitude. Not very polite nor helpful. They made us feel as we were bothering them with our questions, and their english, well some of them could use some extra lessons. Anyway we left with the best impressions

Stayed: November 2006
3  Thank anatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2006

Stayed in the Hotel Cilicia, Rome for the second time. The Hotel is located about half a kilometer from San Giovanni in Laterano and is walking distance to the Metro. Location is off a very busy road but set in a garden area. Reception was warm and staff helpful. Got an upstairs room this time (by request). The room was a non smoking room and was large originally well furnished and decorated but needed many small repairs and maintenance. Bed was comfey & the room quiet (courtyard facing) and the bathroom very nicely done in marble. Continental breakfast was average and the food and juice selection was limited. The dining room itself was nice though. Reasonable rate for a three star hotel in Rome. Good value for money but a little out of the way unless you need to be in this part of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Daddymeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2006

Hotel was light and airy and kept very clean was lovely to come back to air con and shower after hot day walking round sights. Staff friendly and helpful no problems. Brekkie fine We took on board prev comments re long walk to metro station Bus is deffo best bet 360 or 228 from via Satrico takes you to San Giovanni metro We also got buses back to the hotel from all areas and attractions in the city no problems either to piazza Zama or via Latina which is just a short walk from hotel There also a lovely walk to San Sebastian Catacoms from hotel passing Quo Vadis a welcome break from the bustle of the city.
Family from Scotland 2 adults 2 teenage kids

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BonnyScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
#683 of 1,272 in Rome
144 reviews
Meeting Hotel
#585 of 1,272 in Rome
88 reviews
Marini Park Hotel
#400 of 1,272 in Rome
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Jonico
#766 of 1,272 in Rome
356 reviews
Park Hotel Ginevra
#657 of 1,272 in Rome
524 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#959 of 1,272 in Rome
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cilicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cilicia

Address: Via Cilicia 7, 00179 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £28 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cilicia 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cilicia Hotel is a three-star hotel located along "Via Appia Antica", in the heart of Rome, about 800 m from the St. John Lateran Basilica. Thanks to its central location and its proximity to urban public transport, the Cilicia Hotel is well connected to the endless sites of historical and artistic interest of the Eternal City. Its location, its parking lot, and its large garden certainly enhance the value of our hotel. Our staff is skilled in hospitality and management, 24 hours 24, and can easily deal with all national and international clients, travelling for tourism or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cilicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cilicia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing