We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, very helpful staff, all for a affordable price”
Review of Hotel Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ducale
Ranked #688 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We booked in advance and when we arrived late (1am) our room (hotel was fully booked!) was waiting for us nice and clean. Warm welcome, efficient, we got wifi and outdoor key-code immediately upon arrival without having to ask. We stayed 4 nights in the upper room. Room was clean, all basic needs, and comfortable. Small (empty) minibar was very handy. There was an air-co machine but we did not have to use it (windows were easy to open). Also an electric safe for passports etc. in the room. Bed was fine and bathroom was very clean and practical, with bathtub. Room was cleaned daily, new towels if used, and this was very pleasant after a full day walking trip. Supermarket around the corner. Easy access to Rome tourist sites by walking (c. 20-30 min to Colosseum), bus, metro, tram very near hotel. Hotel not far from termini station either (15 min by foot). Breakfast was good, plenty with several options; 3 types of bread, 2 types of cake, boiled eggs, salami, cheese, yogurt, cornflakes, fruit salad, hot milk, thee, coffee and more. Staff was friendly and very helpful, well-spoken English, and this was true for all 4 staff members we met. Payment with creditcard was helpful and done with a pin-machine. We have had no complaints at all. However, we can't compare this hotel with others in the same price range because we only stayed in Rome once. Nevertheless, we think it was a great deal. We sincerely recommend Hotel Ducale. Dusan & Lorena, April 2013.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dusan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ducale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

I chose Hotel Ducale because I was only staying one night in Rome after spending my time in Tuscany. Hotel Ducale is very clean and convenient to Rome Termini and you can take the train from there to the airport for only 14 euros. It is about a 15 minute walk from Termini but if you have luggage, I suggest a cab. It only cost me 10 euros going and 8 going back to Termini.

The staff is VERY nice and helpful. They assisted me in where to go for dinner and a map of Rome. I was able to walk from the Hotel to the Colosseum, Trevi, Spanish Steps and back (about a 6 mile roundtrip walk but I wanted to do that)

The only bad thing is that there is no elevator which made heavily packed bags hard to get to the room (up on the 3rd floor.) It was also a bit noisy but that is nothing that the Hotel can do, it was more outside traffic and guests who had no consideration of their thumping up and down the stairs.

I would stay at Hotel Ducale again if I was on a quick trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Great and friendly services, awesome communication with client, good localization (near to Termini Station, two metro stations nearby, direct tram to Coloseum), clean rooms and nice breakfast. Best choice for this price. Highly recomanded!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Room Tip: "Rooms are small so it's better to take aditional bed for a child.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turystka543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I was in this hotel and is very nice , clean,in center of Rome , near the metro ,and more restaurant in this area but "il tempio di minerva " very very good
Willy is the number one !!!!!!!
Super hotel highly raccomanded!!!!-))))))))))))))))))))))))))

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Дарья М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

A really lovely hotel within walking distance of Termini station, the rooms were spotless and the breakfast very nice, the staff were fantastic so friendly and helpful would definitly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 705lilbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

A perfect city hotel only a 5 minute walk to Termini central station.
The room was clean with flatscreen TV and small fridge, and the staff was very friendly, also breakfast was good.

Would definitely come again a next time in Rome.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartWessels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

A friend booked the hotel so I didn't know much about it until I arrived. I was pleased to find a comfortable hotel with a really great staff. They do their best to accommodate your needs. In fact I arrived hours before check in, and even a half hour before their breakfast officially started and they made sure it was all set up and I could take part. The breakfast is nice. It's more than I am used to in southern Italy when I've found mostly toast and coffee. But Ducale has a nice croissant, breads, cheese, some meet, coffee, cereal, fruit. A nice set up.

The hotel rooms vary from room to room and this is what we would call a walk up. Meaning there is no elevator. The rooms range from spacious to very small. My first stay was for three nights and the first room was nice sized with the bathroom attached. That room was on the third floor (actually the second floor as the front door is between floors. So you walk downstairs to register and upstairs to your rooms) anyhow, the first room was two flights up and with my luggage it was a little much. I asked for a lower floor on my return and they were able to accommodate.

There is some kind of a club or something that lets out at about 3am for those who have a room at facing the street. But the windows are pretty soundproof so it shouldn't be a problem.

The showers are pretty small, but the shower in the second room was so small I literally couldn't fit in it. I'm a bigger guy so this may be specific to me, but just a heads up.

All in all I would stay here again. It is near the train station but it's kind of a hike. There are some great restaurants in the neighborhood and while there is graffiti on some of the walls, it doesn't seem to be too terribly bad.

Again, the staff is wonderful and reason enough to stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cwbydav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#303 of 1,267 in Rome
660 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lussemburgo
Hotel Lussemburgo
#641 of 1,267 in Rome
172 reviews
Esquilino
Moscatello
Moscatello
#626 of 1,267 in Rome
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Conte House I
Conte House I
#728 of 1,267 in Rome
176 reviews
Hotel Versailles
#655 of 1,267 in Rome
179 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#586 of 1,267 in Rome
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ducale

Address: Via Achille Grandi 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#94 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £44 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ducale 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing