We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love the staff and owner of this place. Awesome”
Review of Hotel Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ducale
Ranked #638 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love the staff and owner of this place. Awesome”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I was having a hard time finding my hotel (hotel 1-2-3) and the receptionist there was really rude and wasn't helpful when I told him multiple times after looking I couldn't find "hotel 2". After about 10 minutes of walking in circles the owner of ducal seen me and tried to help me find my hotel too. He even brought me down and asked his receptionist. Unfortunately they didn't know where it was at either. However they were so friendly and nice I asked for a room there instead. I lost money on the other hotel but it was worth it because the staff and owner are so lovely. Place is clean. 24/7 entry. Free wifi and breakfast. Only downside is that it is a bit of a walk from the termini- further than I expected and with luggage it really sucks. I was too intimidated to take the bus on my first day but I hear the bus is just down the street and leaves you right there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    56
    38
    13
    7
See reviews for
16
78
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Fungus in the bath! I don't like it at all. Strange damp patches on the ceiling. Are they blind?
The hotel is not good for that money because of this dirty bath and so on. It is not so close to Termini, so it's uncomfortable to go there with your luggage. It's about 15 minutes walk to the nearest metro station. Actually the only good opinion is about that girl in the reception. She was very polite, told us many useful things about public transport in Rome and places of interest.
Please, make this room clean and I'll come back, otherwise...

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pashaslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We booked in advance and when we arrived late (1am) our room (hotel was fully booked!) was waiting for us nice and clean. Warm welcome, efficient, we got wifi and outdoor key-code immediately upon arrival without having to ask. We stayed 4 nights in the upper room. Room was clean, all basic needs, and comfortable. Small (empty) minibar was very handy. There was an air-co machine but we did not have to use it (windows were easy to open). Also an electric safe for passports etc. in the room. Bed was fine and bathroom was very clean and practical, with bathtub. Room was cleaned daily, new towels if used, and this was very pleasant after a full day walking trip. Supermarket around the corner. Easy access to Rome tourist sites by walking (c. 20-30 min to Colosseum), bus, metro, tram very near hotel. Hotel not far from termini station either (15 min by foot). Breakfast was good, plenty with several options; 3 types of bread, 2 types of cake, boiled eggs, salami, cheese, yogurt, cornflakes, fruit salad, hot milk, thee, coffee and more. Staff was friendly and very helpful, well-spoken English, and this was true for all 4 staff members we met. Payment with creditcard was helpful and done with a pin-machine. We have had no complaints at all. However, we can't compare this hotel with others in the same price range because we only stayed in Rome once. Nevertheless, we think it was a great deal. We sincerely recommend Hotel Ducale. Dusan & Lorena, April 2013.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I chose Hotel Ducale because I was only staying one night in Rome after spending my time in Tuscany. Hotel Ducale is very clean and convenient to Rome Termini and you can take the train from there to the airport for only 14 euros. It is about a 15 minute walk from Termini but if you have luggage, I suggest a cab. It only cost me 10 euros going and 8 going back to Termini.

The staff is VERY nice and helpful. They assisted me in where to go for dinner and a map of Rome. I was able to walk from the Hotel to the Colosseum, Trevi, Spanish Steps and back (about a 6 mile roundtrip walk but I wanted to do that)

The only bad thing is that there is no elevator which made heavily packed bags hard to get to the room (up on the 3rd floor.) It was also a bit noisy but that is nothing that the Hotel can do, it was more outside traffic and guests who had no consideration of their thumping up and down the stairs.

I would stay at Hotel Ducale again if I was on a quick trip to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Great and friendly services, awesome communication with client, good localization (near to Termini Station, two metro stations nearby, direct tram to Coloseum), clean rooms and nice breakfast. Best choice for this price. Highly recomanded!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Room Tip: "Rooms are small so it's better to take aditional bed for a child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turystka543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rostov-on-Don, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I was in this hotel and is very nice , clean,in center of Rome , near the metro ,and more restaurant in this area but "il tempio di minerva " very very good
Willy is the number one !!!!!!!
Super hotel highly raccomanded!!!!-))))))))))))))))))))))))))

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Дарья М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

A really lovely hotel within walking distance of Termini station, the rooms were spotless and the breakfast very nice, the staff were fantastic so friendly and helpful would definitly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 705lilbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#236 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#440 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Esquilino
Locanda Otello
Locanda Otello
#1,059 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#718 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Ferrarese
Hotel Ferrarese
#1,030 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Everest Roma
Hotel Everest Roma
#391 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ducale

Property: Hotel Ducale
Address: Via Achille Grandi 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #638 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ducale 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing